1997 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1997 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Laramie 5.2 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Nice to look at, but rarely will see as it will be at repair shop

Faults:

Engine seized up due to faulty oil pump and had to be rebuilt at 30000 miles.

Transmission had to be rebuilt at 31000 miles.

Catalytic converter had to be replaced at 36000 miles.

Tie rods, draglink, ball joints, pitman arm, power steering seal had to be replaced at 38000 miles.

Wheel bearing/hub assembly had to be replaced at 41000 miles.

Second Catalytic converter had to be replaced at 44000 miles.

Transmission shot again at 60000 miles.

Fuel pump had to be replaced at 62000 miles.

Transmission had to be replaced again at 70000 miles.

General Comments:

Never again will I purchase a Dodge product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2005

1997 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Ext Cab 4x4 5.2L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10123 miles
Most recent distance136543 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

All in all, this is a decent vechicle

Faults:

I purchased this vehicle in December of 2003. The truck had 101K miles on it when I bought it. Lasted till 134K before the transmission decided to go out on me.

Also the paint has begun to peel really bad on the truck's roof, and it's causing the interior of the vehicle's roof to fall down.

I have to say that my Dodge is very bad truck to have in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

1997 Dodge Ram Pickup LS 5.7 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

One tough truck!

Faults:

I recently bought this 4X4 extended cab. I have had no problems with it as of yet.

General Comments:

This truck was bought by me with 158K miles on it and I was blown away. It is like a new truck. It handles like new and seems to be remarkably strong. It has a roomy interior and is very attractive. I understand that some trucks have problems, but in order for this Dodge to have this many miles on it and still be this tight and pretty it says a lot for the company. Most vehicles that are this high of mileage look like it. This truck looks new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2004

1997 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 SLT 5.2L 318 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2L 318 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carDodge Ramcharger

Summary:

My truck is the best

Faults:

There were two instances where it wouldn't start, But a 15 minute repair fixed that.

My upstream O2 sensor went bad a few miles ago.

I can't drive in the rain due to a limited slip differential.

The cup-holders are placed in a bad spot and they don't hold drinks very well.

General Comments:

All I have is simulated dual exhaust, limited slip differential, and an aftermarket air filter, and I blow the doors off imports.

Everything else is great about my truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

1997 Dodge Ram Pickup Club Cab Sport 5.9L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

You pay at the pump for your image

Faults:

I had a fuel pump replaced at 40,000 miles.

My gas mileage has dropped from 17 miles/gallon to 11mpg in last 2 years even with a change of the plugs, wires, and distributor cap/button.

I find it hard to keep the carpet clean. My check engine light comes on when I use cheaper gas.

General Comments:

The truck is intimidating.

The truck is really fast.

The truck has the most comfortable ride I have ever experienced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

1997 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 5.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Not as tough as it looks!

Faults:

Transmission went out twice. Front wheel bearings both replaced. Track bar, right tie rod, left drag link, and front axle u-joints all failed. Intake manifold leaks. Water pump failed. All wheels keep coming loose at different times. I have to check my lug nuts once a week.

General Comments:

This truck is a very roomy and comfortable ride. The body design is the best out of all other trucks made.

However the transmission and front end problems disappointed me because I never tow or go off road with this truck. I continue to keep fixing my Dodge Ram due to the fact that it is a very nice looking truck and it turns heads with it's looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

7th Mar 2004, 18:41

Ever stop to think that you bought the truck with 69,000 miles of somebody elses problems. You don't know what the previous owner did to the truck. I've never heard of the wheels just comming loose on their own like that. Perhaps you should replace all the lug nuts. If that doesn't work, don't know what to tell you other than keep checking.

27th Oct 2004, 09:09

I have a 1996 Dodge Ram and I have the same problems with the lug nuts, especially front wheels. I understand your problem. Any idea why they come loose or how to fix it would be greatly appreciated.

26th Oct 2005, 16:00

My 2001 Dodge Ram Quad Cab has had the same front end problems. It has always been fully and properly maintained. All this front end work is getting expensive, even when I do most of the work myself.

14th Mar 2007, 11:58

Over 1000.00 to replace wheel bearings on a 03' dodge 2500 is outragous... really upsetting when find out everyoneelse is having the same problems. this is second one I owned... but not sure will buy another. suspect dodge knows this and that really angers me.

7th Nov 2007, 17:00

Hello my name is fabian and I have a 1997 dodge ram man it is sweet I have people wanting to buy it every where I stop, but the problem I have with it is that it waste gas like crazy.

6th Dec 2008, 18:33

My 1997 Dodge 1500 was a Florida truck. Never had to use the heater, but now I live in northern Kansas, I discovered that the heater does not produce any heat! Has anyone else had the same trouble, and if so what to do to correct this? Thanks.

Frozen in Kansas.

17th Jan 2009, 11:32

I have a 1997 Dodge Ram and today it was smoking and when we raised the hood there was water all under it on the drivers side. It did not have any antifreeze in it. Does it sound like the water pump, radiator or cracked head? Can anyone let me know? My email address is Babigurl16151234@yahoo.com.

Thanks, Melissa.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 41 reviews