2003 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2003 Dodge Ram Pickup ST 4.7 lt. from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.7 lt. Automatic
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Faults:

Replaced the on board computer system at 47,261 miles.

Replaced the rear pinion seal at 47,261 miles.

Replaced the exhaust system at 30,000 miles.

To me all of these things are pretty serious issues. Luckily everything has been covered under warranty, but still!

We are now taking in to see if the rear differential needs to be replaced!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2006

2003 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 5.9 Cummins H.O. from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.9 Cummins H.O. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired37500 miles
Most recent distance40222 miles

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Auto trans is resistant to up shifting and hangs on gear.

Auto trans down shifts by itself sometimes.

General Comments:

Tough bird, has 3.73 limited slip and gets 17.2 in the city.

Axles, brakes and even fuel tank much larger than next 2 competitors.

Interior fit and finish, noise etc way behind #2 Ford whom is way behind # 1 GM.

Plan to take Cummins, Allison from yard mule and put in 3500 GM Dually. Then I will have truck to beat all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

2003 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Cummins from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Cummins Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Summary:

Great truck, awesome power

Faults:

In over 2 years of ownership I have not had any repairs on this truck. It runs beautifully.

General Comments:

You can't beat the Cummins engine.

This has been a great vehicle. The hydroformed frame is very stiff and we have no shakes or rattles. We live in Denver and routinely tow a boat over the mountains. The Cummins doesn't even know it's back there and I rarely downshift from 6th to 5th gear. While I miss the utility of our Suburban, this is a far better vehicle with tons of power. I also get 18 mpg, 15 when towing. We love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2005

2003 Dodge Ram Pickup 3500 Larime Cummins turbo diesel from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Cummins turbo diesel Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

The only way to tow a 5vr

Faults:

Cab lights after 1 year.

I had no heat form the floor vents.

The drivers seat bottom cushion went flat.

General Comments:

The power the CTD offers is great for pulling my 5vr.

The fuel mileage is good when empty at 18-24mpg on the highway.

The fuel mileage is good when towing @ 11-13mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

2003 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 SLT Quad Cab 4x4 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Still the best truck out there

Faults:

The Goodyear tires on the 20 inch rims are garbage in the rain or snow.

Engine shutters occasionally when first starting on cold or damp days, though it doesn't concern me.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I have ever bought.

Strong, durable, reliable and turns heads while intimidating others on the road.

All my friends want one and my brother is getting one this month.

The 4.7 v8 is plenty of power with decent fuel economy, for a 4x4.

Don't get the 20 inch rims unless you are prepared to pay $300 per tire fore some good Michelin LTX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

2003 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance12152 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

I would not buy another one

Faults:

My front Rotors had to be replaced at 9500 miles.

Front tires also had to be replaced because of defects at 9500 miles.

At 12000 miles a lifter went in the engine.

General Comments:

A very nice looking truck and a comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

2003 Dodge Ram Pickup Sport 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance18324 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Must have been built on a Friday after long lunch..

Faults:

My transmission went out at about 3000 miles, and that's only the beginning, the oxygen sensor went out a few times also.

General Comments:

The Dodge Ram was a great looking truck it just didn't appeal to me, as the owner of a vehicle that was not reliable. The transmission went out at about 3000 miles, and then I just kept having relapses, and it was never the same. at about 13000 miles the whole electrical system had a stroke or heart attack of some sort, it would just cut off in the middle of driving on the freeway, or going up hill. The last repair I fixed was the whole instrument panel went out on a rainy day and the windshield wipers stopped working on my way to work, to say the least I called in sick and went to the dealer to repair my money pit, not to badger Dodge Corp., but a nightmare for me...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th May, 2004

22nd Aug 2008, 01:40

I worked for an independent repair shop and saw lots of Dodge trucks come through with issues. What I can tell you is to check the VIN # on the truck. The ones built in Mexico were trouble and were prone to electrical gremlins and warped heads. If we had a truck that was a money pit, most of the time they came from the Mexico plant. Sorry Dodge, out-sourcing has given you a reputation for suspect reliability since the power wagon days.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews