2009 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews

2009 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2700 miles
Most recent distance5700 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Never seen another just like it.. it's hot

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Super fast... loves gas though.

Very comfortable and stable ride.

Goes very well and stable in snow.

Can't leave home without getting comments on how beautiful this truck is!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2011

2009 Dodge Ram Pickup V8 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Underpowered, weak transmission. Reliable

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Reliable, big, significant road noise at cruising speed (tires?). SEVERELY under powered with small V8. Will not pull itself with cruise control and pulling up small grade/incline. Transmission downshift delay causes loss of 3-4 MPH minimum before it downshifts (usually 2 gears) to regain cruising speed.

Frustrating for drivers behind me when I can't maintain speed.

Large side mirrors are a giant pain for parking or garage storage. Won't fit in many modern single stall garage entries. Poor design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2010

18th Nov 2010, 09:49

Dude, that's called a pickup truck. They don't fit in the same parking space a Honda does.

2009 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Sport 4x4 Regular Cab 5.7 Hemi from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.7 Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

The best Dodge Ram yet, and in my opinion, the best truck out there!

Faults:

Several minor interior rattles.

Occasional bug on MyGig hard drive sound system - CDs won't eject. Not really an issue since 99% of my music is downloaded into the hard drive. I've heard there is a software update for this sound system.

Headlights are a little weak when on the low beam setting. There is a sharp cut off.

The ride may be a little stiff for some. It doesn't have that mushy GM truck ride.

General Comments:

This truck has been perfectly reliable from day one. I have not yet had a need to return to the dealer for service.

The transmission is perfect. Super smooth shifts, and it always is in the proper gear.

Fuel economy is pretty good. I've gotten as high as 18.5 mpg. In the winter, I was getting around 14.5, mostly due to the fact that I let it warm up in the driveway for 10 minutes.

This thing on the freeway is silent. There is hardly any wind or road noise. I don't even need to turn the radio up.

Seats and driving position are fantastic. Plenty of room and a great view out the windshield.

Factory dual exhaust, bucket seats with console, and 20 inch chrome wheels make this thing like a modern muscle truck.

With a MSRP of just over 36k, this thing is expensive. I did manage to get quite a bit taken off of that, but that is a lot of money for a regular cab truck.

*Just a side note, I am the original poster of the 2007 Silverado survey with "mistake" in the title, so I am relatively picky about my vehicles.

I'm happy to say that after a nasty Northern Ohio winter, there is zero rust or paint flakes on this vehicle. I did however get a set of steel wheels with all terrain tires in order to get through the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2010

12th Mar 2012, 09:14

Hello all. Here is an update on my 2009 Ram. It is still running well, and feels new every time that I get in it.

The issues that I have had are the tie rods went bad. The problem with this, is that there is a recall on many of the '09 trucks, but some how mine wasn't affected... even though they went bad with 26,000 miles. No big deal, except the dealer made me pay $140 for a front end alignment. They stated that was Chrysler's policy. I feel this is a total fleecing, and I'm not sure if the dealer or Chrysler is to blame.

The driver's side mirror heat stopped working. After the lousy service that I received from that Dodge dealer, I decided to hold off on having this repaired there.

I did have the MyGig radio replaced. The bad thing about that was the Jr Tech that did this didn't save my music and transfer it to the new radio. I went back to the Dodge dealer a day afterwards, and they managed to retrieve some of it, but lost nearly half. This subsequently caused my battery to go dead, since the tech plugged in his laptop into my power source.

The fuel economy is still really good, considering the size and power of this truck. I get around 17-18 pretty steady. I towed a 6700 pound trailer this summer with no issue whatsoever. I kept an eye on the engine and trans temp, and they didn't move from the normal "unloaded temperature"

Overall I am pleased with the truck, and would recommend it to anyone. However, it's the dealers that make it a bad experience. I plan on keeping this one forever, and when the time comes to retire it, I will just buy a cheap used car. The aggravation involved with the dealer and their service departments just is not worth it.

2009 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Crew 5.7 Hemi from North America

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.7 Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired483 miles
Most recent distance1078 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Great truck

Faults:

The temperature sensor does not work. Replacement one is screwy as well.

The vehicle has a shudder at 30 mph and above.

General Comments:

I traded in a 2004 Dodge 1500 Quad Cab, never had a problem with the truck, on or off road.

The 2009 I bought rides great, except when the transmission decides to make the whole vehicle shudder. The dealership said "they" had several other trucks on the lot that did the same thing; but not a word on what is the cause and how do "they"fix it.

Other than the shudder, the truck drives great, gets better gas mileage and more safety features. The crew cab offers a great deal more room for the rear passengers, and with the air ducts vented to the rear, cabin comfort is greatly enhanced. Right now, I think the problem is the dealership, not the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2009

13th Apr 2009, 01:39

Despite the bad dealership, does this meant that you would not buy another one, since that's what it says? You seem to like the truck, but say you would not buy another?? Confused...

31st May 2012, 01:03

It's probably the truck trying to commit suicide, because it's mad that its scrap metal was made into a Dodge, instead of being stamped into 325 bathtubs, where it would have been useful.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 4 reviews