1986 Dodge Ramcharger Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1986 Dodge Ramcharger Royal SE 150 5.9 liter 360 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.9 liter 360 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance390000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Greatest truck ever

Faults:

Trans has no reverse, minor oil leaks, not much for 390000 miles.

General Comments:

What a great truck. You know you have something good when your reverse goes out at about 160000, and you can still drive it forever. It is just the biggest, meanest, funnest thing I have ever driven. You get a lot of respect in a truck like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2005

12th Jan 2006, 11:07

I just bought my 1986 ram charger at the beginning of this year. It handles better than any other truck based SUV I've ever driven. I have owned a brand new vehicle and never will again. My ram charger is all i need.

19th Jan 2006, 22:27

I bought my '85 back in '96 with 163,000 miles. I figured at those miles it would be junk and the motor would blow at any time, but maybe I'd get one or two years out of it. It's still running as my daily driver and just turned 240,000 miles. 77,000 miles in 10 years, at a total cost of $5,500, so that's awfully respectable service! So respectable, that I couldn't have done any better by buying a brand new car, and it would have cost 5 times as much. I know a lot of people wish Dodge still was making this truck.

16th Sep 2006, 16:51

I purchased my 86 Ramcharger in 2001, I've gone through four rear differentials, entire front end, all of the u-joints, both front seats, two windshields, three sets of tires, two sets of brakes, and a power window motor. There are various other things that I've done to the truck, but the truth is, it's been a tough old truck. Every one of those repairs and so many more were caused from the truck being used in a insane manor. From either pulling trees down or pulling other people out with their buried off road machines. I have found however it's becoming difficult to keep up with the electrical on the old girl. But, I'm sure I'll find all of the cures eventually.

20th Sep 2009, 20:11

I love my Ram Charger. It's super cool and stuff. It's got room for the boom boom and vrooom for the zoom zoom.

1986 Dodge Ramcharger Royal SE 318 Cu. in. from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 318 Cu. in. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles

Summary:

Runs great, would not get ride of it

Faults:

So far the problems I have had are:

Cruise control does not work.

Dent in passenger fender (not ny me)

Power Window on drivers side would not go up.

Minor oil leaks.

Amperage guage may not work.

Old Am/Fm radio only got Am replaced with new radio from a 2002 Neon.

Radiator Leaks.

Power Steering leak.

Power Locks don't work.

General Comments:

I love this truck.

The odometer only reads up to 5 digits may have 99000 or may have 199000 miles.

I have had it for a year and have no major problems since I bought it in July.

Only drive around 10 miles a day.

The old 318 has plenty of power for running off a 2 barrel carburetor and making 145 horsepower.

Would drive it anywhere if the cruise control worked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

4th Jul 2003, 08:48

I have a 360 in my 86 ramcharger. it more than intimidates other truck drivers. also I took it into a 4wheel mudpit for the fist time and was very impressed with the performance off road. I will keep it as long as I can drive it.

15th May 2007, 23:00

Got ya beat, 1985 royal shortbox, 4x4. what a monster. lasvegastruckmaster@yahoo.com.

26th Sep 2008, 11:01

I use my baby to haul trees out of the woods. I was getting small bulldozers out and I only have a 5.2. In 4low, that thing could pull a sturdy house down.

1986 Dodge Ramcharger Royal SE 5.3ltr from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.3ltr Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

A great SUV and will do what it is intended to do

Faults:

I have owned the truck for one year and 15,000 miles. In that time no major mechanical problems. The carburetor was clogged due to junk in the gas tank. That's it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2002

27th Jan 2003, 11:23

How Many Speed Transmission?

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews