1987 Dodge Ramcharger Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1987 Dodge Ramcharger royal le 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carDodge Diplomat

Summary:

If you can afford the gas these days, buy one

Faults:

I had a little too much fun in the snow and ruined the spider gears. Other than the usual maintenance, no problems.

General Comments:

This truck road almost as good as the diplomat that I traded in for it. The gas mileage was average for a full size truck. The interior was very roomy. Fit and finish were great. I wish I had it back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2002

1987 Dodge Ramcharger LE 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Faults:

I had to change the exhaust system, water pump, some electrical problems, tires, starter, U joints went, changed all brakes.

General Comments:

Best running SUV out there. Wouldn't buy anything else. It's like a rock good for off road and on road use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

1987 Dodge Ramcharger SE 150 5.2 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2 318 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles

Summary:

The best car I ever had

Faults:

The Water pump went out.

Blew out 3 sets of hubs.

The gas gauge don't work.

E-brake don't work.

Replaced all parts in front and back axles.

Blew out all U-joints.

Replaced all ball-joints.

Replaced all the Brakes.

Put new brake hubs on the back.

General Comments:

The thing is a great car. Once all the parts were in, runs like a top. I put on a set of headman headers, and duals, and a new paint job. Runs and looks like a top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

1987 Dodge Ramcharger LE 150 5.9L (360 c.i.d.) V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9L (360 c.i.d.) V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90154 miles
Most recent distance114500 miles
Previous carJeep Comanche

Summary:

One word: Tank

Faults:

Since I have owned the truck, I have had to replace the rear-end gears, an alternator and a starter.

General Comments:

This truck has a semi-comfortable ride on the road, and outstanding performance off-road. However, with fuel costs so high it is expensive to keep on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

1987 Dodge Ramcharger Royale LE 360 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 360 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance150500 miles
Previous carPontiac Phoenix

Summary:

High power machine

Faults:

Owner before me had dogs and there is still a lot of hair under the seats, and the arm rests are all messed up.

General Comments:

I love this rig, I have had other 4x4s and I think that it's going to keep going. And hey, if the last owner put a stage three shift kit in it and pulled a 45ft camper trailer, I tell you what, that's power =0)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

1987 Dodge Ramcharger LE 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

If you can't Dodge it, Ram it

Faults:

Water pump.

Windshield wipers.

Exhaust.

Emergency brake.

General Comments:

Very good truck. Has not given me too many problems and very strong 4 wheel drive that works great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2000

1987 Dodge Ramcharger LE 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The name tells it all

Faults:

The water pump went.

The A/C went.

The engine got to tired, no power.

The only good thing was that the roof came off.

I do not recommend a Chevy.

General Comments:

I think that this web site is pretty good. You should put some pictures of some Ramchargers on the web site.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2000

16th Apr 2001, 09:12

Owner must have quoted the wrong model year. The roof didn't come off of the '87's. I've owned one since new. The one's with the removable roof were from earlier models.

9th Jun 2005, 12:04

Does the '84 have a removable roof? My friends and I have found something that looks like hinges, but weren't sure what it's for. My e-mail is biggin_nate@yahoo.com. Any response is appreciated.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews