1989 Dodge Shadow Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1989 Dodge Shadow 4 door Base Sedan 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance135300 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Nice and sweet teenager car!

Faults:

Oxygen sensors.

General Comments:

Good car, looks sharp!!

No problems with it, perfect reliability.

Performance is mediocre, if it was a 2.5 turbo it would be a lot different!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

1989 Dodge Shadow 2.1 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.1 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres

Summary:

Crapbox

Faults:

A hole in the trunk the size of the spare tire.

Gas tank was leaking.

Starter screams at people (literally).

Starter switch not functioning.

Starter line malfunctioned, 100 kilometers from home.

Oil leaks.

Tires slightly out of alignment.

Engine hesitates on acceleration from a dead stop.

General Comments:

This car handles like a cow on skates.

The upholstery is shredded in places and even came loose at the back, making for a rather ugly look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

26th May 2001, 22:48

They only put 2.5 liter's in Shadows. Shadows were made for performance.

4th Jun 2001, 12:23

Actually Dodge had models with a 2.2, 2.5 and a V6 3.0.

24th Aug 2003, 23:23

With a car with that many miles, what can you expect? Of course its gonna have some tears in the seats.

1989 Dodge Shadow from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146750 miles
Most recent distance146775 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Biggest waste of metal in the United States

Faults:

I can't begin to describe the trouble I have with this car. At this point it won't even move from my driveway. I got it home, parked in my driveway and it hasn't moved since.

General Comments:

Previously I owned a 1990 Dodge Shadow with a standard transmission. I literally had to kill it. It drove through 2 accidents and a fire. A third accident put it to rest.

My 1989 Dodge Shadow, I had hoped, would bring such good fortune. It can't even make it to the grocery store.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

9th Sep 2001, 09:35

The car had over 140,000 miles on when you bought it? You can't fault the car here. You blame the previous owner.

1989 Dodge Shadow 2.5 L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance63300 miles

Summary:

A dependable, affordable machine

Faults:

The car still rattles from the front end. I'm not sure where it's coming from!

The oil pressure sensor leaked and had to be replaced.

The muffler rusted off, but don't they all do that eventually?

The lift supports for the trunk had to be replaced with stronger ones.

The radio is starting to go, but it still works.

Gas mileage could be better, but I'm experimenting.

General Comments:

This car is great! It has never, ever left me stranded.

It has absolutely no peeling paint because I actually wash and wax my car!

It has no visible rust.

It is really quick once it warms up.

It can handle on icy and snowy roads like nobody's business.

It's fast. No really, it's fast.

This car, even though it is my first car, is always ready to go. It starts when it's supposed to and is very, very affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

1st Oct 2001, 12:22

What year is this car and what are you experimenting with.

26th Feb 2004, 18:12

This sounds a lot like my car. The rattling may be you're A/C pump. And my radio is doing the same.

10th May 2004, 11:19

I have an 1989 dodge shadow and it's an awsome car it got me everywheres, but now I have to put a new transmission in it.

1989 Dodge Shadow from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 miles
Most recent distance189600 miles

Summary:

A loud and bumpy ride, but it'll eventually get you to where you're going

Faults:

The clutch finally went out on me a month ago and was definitely a costly repair.

The brakes went out while attempting to stop at the bottom of a hill a week ago.

There is constant rattling which thankfully can be blocked out by a loud stereo.

The heat has never worked for me, which feels real nice this time of year in Iowa.

The A/C, to my knowledge, has never worked.

The inner lenses of the headlights are very dirty, but the headlights cannot be removed, so I am forced to buy new ones.

I carry a long pole in my hatch because the hatch will not stay open by itself.

General Comments:

I absolutely HATE this car and swear that it is possessed by Satan and is out to kill me. I would definitely find a better one if not for the fact that I have no money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 16 reviews