1990 Dodge Shadow Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Dodge Shadow 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28500 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Semi-decent

Faults:

Within the past year, I've had to replace the radiator, fuel pump, head gasket, 4 oxygen sensors, 2 fuel injectors, and both front wheel bearings. The air conditioner has now quit working, the transmission is slipping, and every morning when I start it up, I wonder what color smoke is going to come out of the exhaust... lately it's been mostly blue.

General Comments:

I don't know what happened to the car. I've serviced her at the dealership religiously, doing exactly what the owner's manual suggest, and I don't drive her like I'm a crazed maniac. Then when the car hit about 104K, everything and anything started going wrong with it. She used to be such a great little car. My sister has over 185K on her 92 Shadow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

19th Mar 2004, 11:07

I had the same exact problems. By the time the car hit 100,000 miles, the tranny was toast and the engine sounded like a diesel. Two dealerships told me to junk it, so that's exactly what I did.

1990 Dodge Shadow 2.5 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

I like the car, but there seems to be something wrong with the ignition and sensors all the time

Faults:

I have to replace ignition sensors about every 6 months. Replaced fuel pump. Fuel pump may be going out again.

Ignition switch had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Cruises well down the highway, but no quick response for passing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

1990 Dodge Shadow Base 2.5 Eltronic Injection from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Eltronic Injection Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96093 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

It's a great first car

Faults:

I bought the car with a slight alignment problem which has caused some where to the front left tire besides that the car is in immaculate condition.

General Comments:

It is a wonderful first car. Plenty of trunk space and its not a "boat".The car has barely under 100,000 miles and drives like it has 2 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

4th Sep 2002, 21:54

I think the Dodge Shadow is a wonderful first car. I bought the car with 134,000 miles on it, and it still has that zip in the engine. When I first took it for a test drive, I knew that it was the right car for me. Some things that have gone wrong with the car is that the gas gage is broken, and something with the front tires is bad, but overall, this is a great first car; and for only 300 dollars, you can't go wrong!

1990 Dodge Shadow ES 2.5 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great gas mileage, excellent sports package

Faults:

The radio seems to have an electrical problem, I have been told that it's just the amp under the dash.

Another problem is my turbo gauge, it just seemed to quit one day, I don't know exactly why, probably just a broken vacuum line.

General Comments:

I love the acceleration of this 2.5 litre engine.

The handling is perfect, and the tire size (195/60r/15) is great for handling... and speed.

I have no bad comments whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

1990 Dodge Shadow 4 door 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A piece of crap

Faults:

Changed the heater core, there was a leakage inside the car.

Changed all the mounts of the motor.

Changed the front driveshaft.

Noise due to timing belt or alternator belt.

General Comments:

The reliability of this car is null. Every time I take it out I am afraid I will not be able to get back.

High gas consumption with low performance.

Never buy a Dodge Shadow, it would be a mistake...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

24th Aug 2001, 17:14

Buying a car with any type of mileage on it is a risk at best. By the sound of it, this car had ZERO maintenance done to it before you got it. If you work out the kinks in the system, keep up on the maintenance, and pamper it a little, you might be surprised how far that car will take you.

6th Jun 2003, 22:14

I own a 1990 shadow and I really can't say enough positive things about it. I get 30 miles per gallon on the highway and 25 in town. I have the 2.5 liter with an automatic.

The only major thing that I had to replace was the head gasket.

Even with 4 adults in the car the engine didn't get doggy like some 4 cylinder engines do.

It's a great little car and I can't say enough about how good it handles in snow!

31st May 2007, 14:46

I have a 90 Shadow. recently the temp gauge went hot off the chart... coolant level was a little low, but still enough to get home. Turns out there is coolant leaking from the floor vents and out the AC condensation hose. This car is one pain in the butt to take off the dashboard, I tell ya.

Before this mess, I got her 2 years ago and she ran great! Long distances and all over the places, plus she took my wreckless driving, and I put her thru hell.. but all in all, a very nice car. When I finally wreck her, I think I'll cremate her nicely.

1990 Dodge Shadow 3.5 automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 3.5 automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

Engine (piston slap), transmission, fuel injection, sunroof, front driverside window mechanism, electronic control module, alternator, brake system, ignition, flaw in rear bumper (falls off if not bolted on).

General Comments:

A wonderful car, but a lemon. I have spent over $4,000 on repairs in the last five years. Not a good purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 1999

15th Jan 2001, 00:10

I would have to disagree with this review because I have a 1990 Dodge Shadow 2.2 SOHC with 222,500 miles on it and the only thing wrong with it is the manifold which could be fixed for less than $100, and I've never had any major work done to it.

15th Jun 2001, 05:49

I have a 1990 Dodge Shadow ES that has been very reliable and cheap to maintain. The only problem I have had until now is that the sunroof leaked and now the headliner is sagging. Recently I have noticed the car is experiencing a sputtering type of feeling when I take the car up to 65 mph or higher. It's not a consistent sputtering, but more of a sporadic sputter. This morning the car actually stalled on the way to work, but then I had no trouble at all re-starting. Also, when I sit for an extended period of time at a traffic light, the idle dips below 900 rpm and the car shutters. My Dodge has only 78,000 miles on it and has so far been a great car. Does anyone know what causes the sputtering?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews