1993 Dodge Spirit Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1993 Dodge Spirit from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Amazing Car, Wish they were still made

Faults:

This car is unbelievable.

I have never had anything go wrong with this car up until this past week.

This car has been reliable and "comfortable" for all of it's 12 years.

This car was my first car ever, and it was a hand-me-down from my family. I instantly grew to love this car.

The seats are really comfortable, and the drive is quiet.

If this car was still made, I would definitely buy the newest version.

The car has over 115,000 miles on it, and still runs like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2005

1993 Dodge Spirit 3.0 liter from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carDodge 600

Summary:

Amazing, I wish they still made them

Faults:

The Transmission went at 100,000 K's.

The padding went on the front seats and they both cracked off.

General Comments:

I've put this car on two wheels, slide into a ditch and it still was capable of being driven out under its own power, gone on countless number of rough gravel roads at high speeds.. I still have the car and hope to keep it for a long time as a beater. the motor is slowly dying, but I don't blame it after the punishment that it went through with me behind the wheel. it was my first car. P.s. The paint is still in incredible condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2005

1993 Dodge Spirit from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

Extremely reliable

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is that the paint has faded and started to chip on the the hood. Otherwise, I have had no problems.

General Comments:

As a female college student, this was a fabulous first car. In the four years I have owned it, I have never had to have any repairs done and it has never broken down. I barely ever put oil in it, let alone change it and yet it still runs beautifully.

This car is also great on gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2004

1993 Dodge Spirit 2.5 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Comfort, Reliability, Good looks for cheap!

Faults:

Oxygen Sensor went at 48,000 miles. Passenger Seat broke, leaving it stuck in the "reclining" position.

General Comments:

This car was first purchased by my mother in 1993 with 30,000 miles on it, it was a former Chrysler Employee lease vehicle. In 8 years my mother only put 25,000 miles on it before I got it. I have never had a more reliable, good-looking, comfortable car! And the best part is, I'm not paying the $350 per month for the lease on my Blazer! Not to mention the required collision insurance. It now has 57,000 miles on it, and I hopefully will be able to add a hundred thousand to that! Awesome Car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

1993 Dodge Spirit Base 2.5L 4 cylinder MPI Flex-Fuel from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder MPI Flex-Fuel Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

Very practical, but not much fun to drive

Faults:

This is a very reliable car.

Nothing major has ever gone and its past 100,000 miles. It has only been in the shop for oil changes and regular maintenance.

One of the windshield washer nozzles became clogged and had to be replaced, but that was it.

General Comments:

The Dodge spirit has a boxy exterior that could best be described as a "grandma car." However, it is very solidly built and can take a lot of abuse. I got rear ended by a Ford SUV and only got a cracked tail light. The SUV had a smashed bumper and crumpled fender.

The interior is also plain, but is very roomy. There is lots of head room and it has more leg room in the back seat than almost every other car its size.

The interior is noisy, mostly because of the loud 4 cylinder engine.

The performance of the 2.5L engine is not very good at all. While it has acceptable low speed torque for a 4 cylinder, there is almost no mid and high range power. I don't even try to pass people in this car, and I have to floor it to merge onto the highway. This car is available with a more powerful 3.0L V6, so look for one with that engine if you are going to buy one.

On the positive side, the 2.5L does get good gas mileage and has been reliable.

One interesting feature of this car is that it was a government surplus vehicle and can run on methanol, but I have never tried using it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

15th Mar 2004, 22:24

There are several ways (which are actually pretty cheap) that you can increase the performance of the 2.5L engine. One way is to add air scoops (think Ram Air) under your car and run them to the various connectors of your air box.

29th Mar 2005, 04:21

Yes, the Spirit, in fact, is a very sturdy car. I remember driving in one with my dad a few years ago. It was in Moscow, the Russian one, not the one in the US mid-west. There was a Lada up ahead, and a Volvo S70 just cut him off. The Lada hit the Volvo, and we hit the Lada. At quite a high speed, mind you. The Lada was totaled, while the Spirit had a minor crack on the grille. The Volvo was in need of a 4000$ repair... Oh, yeah, and the Spirit 2.5 is quite underpowered. I would want to boost the 102 hp figure, but how? The "ram-air" idea is a no-go in Russia, because we have a lot of snow, and the ram-air box will suck it all up into the intake system... Any ideas?

25th Aug 2006, 18:18

The 2.5 4 cylinder is a better engine than the 3.0 v6. it may be underpowered, but is way more reliable and less expensive to fix.

30th May 2010, 04:39

I want to buy a wash nozzle for Dodge Spirit 1995 V.6 3.0?

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews