2003 Dodge Stratus Reviews

2003 Dodge Stratus SE from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Good vehicle for the money spent

Faults:

Front tie rods.

Exhaust.

Inside plastic around window levels falling off (cosmetic).

General Comments:

I love this car. It was worth the money I paid for it.

I did have issues, but the same as everyone does when a car starts getting past 100,000 miles.

I thought it drove great. It was okay on gas mileage. Nothing overly impressive, but not bad either (I drive an hour to and from work, and I usually only needed to fill up once a week).

I thought it handled well in snow. I didn't slip all over the place, and have to worry too much about driving in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2012

2003 Dodge Stratus SXT 2.4L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDodge Eclipse

Summary:

Good midsize for the money

Faults:

Front rotors were replaced at 30k with vented drilled rotors and ceramic pads front and rear, great braking after the upgrade.

Trans rubber lines replaced at 90k (small leak).

Not the most powerful engine, but the mpg has stayed at 25 city, 32 hi way every tank full.

Good roomy economy midsize, easy to service and live with. Still looks and drives like new with 110,000 on it.

Handles very good with rear sway bar upgrade. No oil burning yet. Parts are cheap compared to the coupe and most other cars.

General Comments:

Nice hiway cruiser that sips fuel.

Fun in the canyons for a sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2009

2003 Dodge Stratus LS 2.7 six from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

My 2003 Stratus has been an outstanding car for the money

Faults:

The climate control fan switch broke.

General Comments:

I bought this car new and enjoy it very much. The 2.7 liter six cylinder is fast and smooth, the automatic transmision works perfectly. I get about 25-28mpg combination city/highway. It has excellent ride and handling characteristics. The cloth seats are very comfortable.

This 2003 model came with four wheel disk brakes as standard equipment (note: in 2004 Dodge went back to rear wheel drum brakes on the Stratus. Why?). Mine does not have ABS, but stops extremely well. I live in Wisconsin, and the car is fine for driving in snow with the proper tires. I have 70,000 trouble free miles on it, and plan on keeping it at least until the extended warranty expires (7 yr/ 100,000 mile).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2008

2003 Dodge Stratus R/T 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carDodge Avenger

Summary:

Hot!

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car.

General Comments:

Awesome car, handles very well, sharp looking. Only problem is when it rains, if you have the window opened just a crack, the water comes in off the roof. There are no drain rails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2006

2003 Dodge Stratus R/T 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Seriously great car and well worth it

Faults:

So far the car as been really good to me. I haven't had any problems.

General Comments:

The car is very sporty and stylish. It turns heads every. The leather seats are very comfortable and with the tint on the windows it stays fairly cool inside. The manual shifts very well and short. With the drilled disks, I haven't had any problems stopping on a dime. With the 200hp, keeping up is no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2005

25th Mar 2006, 12:47

Keeping up... with what? Not my 2000 GTP. 200 horsepower? To race you, I'd probably bring my mom's Grand Cherokee instead, as the race would be closer. Be informed before you speak, please.

25th Mar 2006, 16:56

The guy never said anything about racing, he only said his car would keep up in traffic, as I understood it. But then you choose to play the hard-ass. The trouble is that somebody always has a faster car, and I'm sure there is no shortage of people who can hand your 2000 GTP the beat down.

2003 Dodge Stratus SE 2.7 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Good car, bad motor, get 4 cylinder

Faults:

The engine overheated and ceased up. There was nothing wrong with the cooling system though, the dealer told me that there were plugged oil passages in the engine and it was starved of oil. After doing some research I have found that this is a common problem on Chrysler's 2.7 liter V6. I have only owned Dodge products until now, I believe they make a good vehicle, but not a good 2.7 V6. If you buy a Stratus, get the 4 cylinder or the extended warranty and dump it before it's up. My last car was also a stratus with the 2.4 liter 4 cylinder. Never had ANY trouble with that motor, should have kept it.

General Comments:

Avoid 2.7.

Rides great, very quiet, handles like a sports car.

Comfortable, makes you feel sophisticated.

Hard to back up, poor rearward visibility due to high rear end.

Headlights fill up with water vapor in the carwash... becoming stained.

Engine sounds like a spaceship toy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2005

28th Mar 2005, 14:46

I had a 2002 Dodge Stratus SE Plus. It had almost all the options, and I loved that car. Nicest car I ever had, and I miss it to this day. But it got transmission work and a new alternator under (extended) warranty in under 20,000 miles that I had it (I bought it at about 40,000). That was the warranty work, however the brakes went, and the wipers never worked right. Those were my only complaints. The car was pretty fast, pretty comfy, very stylish, sporty, and fun! I had the 2.7, and I got rid of the car before it failed.

If you look at www.2gss.org, and search for "2.7 failure" you'll find out why they fail. It has to do with flashing (extra metal flakes) left on the parts at the factory clogging up at a certain point, causing a timing chain tensioner to fail, resulting in poor oil flow overheating the oil, causing it to caramelize and seizing the engine.

Using synthetic oil can prevent the problem (I always used synthetic, but I got rid of the car because for how much I was paying per month, I wanted less problems... So I got a Suzuki!!)

12th Jul 2005, 17:55

I have a 2002 Dodge Stratus SE+ that I bought used in July of 2004. I had 26000 miles on it at the time. I now have 40000 miles on it and only had to have new brakes and oil changes done. The car still rides smooth as the first day that I bought it. I wouldn't trade it for any other car.

2003 Dodge Stratus R/T 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Fun family car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

People comment on the color described as fire red. I think it's a deeper red and should be described as a blood red.

The car handles better than I expected. I find myself becoming more confident each trip I take.

I enjoy the auto stick transmission. You can get rubber going into second gear.

Mt 3 teenagers like the car and its styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

1st May 2005, 16:59

What the insurance like? I was hit hard, I wanted to buy a 03 stratus r/t (I'm 16 with no driving record yet) and they said it would be $3200!!! Now I can't get it.

24th Apr 2006, 19:40

I have the '03 SXT looks just like the RT and I have tons of points suspended in 2 states and my insurance is only 260 monthly, full comp and collision, that's with my 19 y/o brother on it and him having already crashed it 2 times within a month of getting his license... damage done to car $8500 insurance only went up $100.

12th Jun 2006, 02:12

BTW the real name for the color I think you are talking about is inferno red crystal pearl.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews