Dodge Viper Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1999 Dodge Viper GTS 8.0L V10 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 8.0L V10 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

If you can afford this $100,000 (Canadian Funds ) bad boy, and like fast cars... go for it

Faults:

I had to replace the head gaskets at 75,000 Kilometers.

Fan belt went at around 90,000 Kilometers.

That is about it other than usual maintenance.

General Comments:

This car is simply a BEAST!!

With the big, wide tires on the back that come stock, this car takes off the line super fast. This car is so fast I'm afraid to even put it into 4th gear, considering it will do around 50 mph in first!!

The look of the VIPER GTS itself is mind blowing, and the performance as I described before, will give you an extreme adrenaline rush. The only thing I don't really like about the VIPER is that 10 cylinder engine, it SOUNDS like a TRACTOR! Even with a High Performance Muffler it sounds bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

19th Dec 2003, 09:14

If you hate the 10 cylinder engine so much, why did you buy the car? It's a viper, what do you expect it to sound like, a civic!!

23rd Dec 2004, 21:27

I have to agree with him. The Viper and most V-10's are anemic sounding. Listen to the difference between F1 cars when they had V8's and V12's. Now they sound like a pissed off zipper. The GTS is the best pruduction American sportscar ever, but sounds like crap.

20th Jan 2005, 21:38

Why would anyone complain about the sound of that v10? It is a big engine that spins a relatively low rpm. All Big low revving engines sound like this. I love that sound personally, but I drive a '71 Challenger with the 440 six pack. There's just nothing else like an exhaust loud enough to shake the ground!

14th Feb 2005, 11:30

I have been in the presence of an idling Viper a few times, and I agree that the engine note is a little odd. It does not have quite the burble of a V8 nor the smooth, almost V6-like whine (not a bad thing) out of a V12. When the guy revved it up sitting, it made a very strange roar. He then slowly accelerated to about 15MPH and floored it; I lost sight of the thing in its cloud. I prefer the V8 rumble, but the Viper has a very distinctive noise.

1st Sep 2005, 01:01

I have never owned a viper, but I have heard them and I will say they sound amazing. They sound mean as hell and that's why I like them.

14th Aug 2007, 00:29

I have never owned, or seen a Dodge Viper in real life, but I currently drive a Cadillac Fleetwood with a 4.5 liter V-8 that, when idling, has the glug glug sound of a truck, which I personally love. If I pulled up to a Viper, I would probably shut my engine off so that the driver knows that I have serious RESPECT for a 8.0 liter 450HP V-10.

1999 Dodge Viper GTS 8.0 V10 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 8.0 V10 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Viper

Summary:

Dodge is better off melting this car down and making pop cans out of it!

Faults:

Head gaskets on the motor went.

Leather interior started to pull apart.

Exhaust system needed replacing.

Transmission went due to a blown seal.

Ball joints got very loose.

After engine was fixed there was consistent over heating problems.

Engine knocked real bad, Dodge refused to do anything about it.

The power window on the driver's side went.

Fuel injectors had problems soon after the head gaskets were fixed.

Alternator got really weak and needed rebuilding.

Chrome on the mag wheels started to peel.

The ride was extremely uncomfortable.

General Comments:

This car would of been a super car if the dealer would have just fixed things right and not been so up tight. I'm sure lots of cars have there problems, but they should not have this many at under 10,000 km.

This car had never been abused, it was just a lemon from the start. The 450hp sounds nice, but when you are only getting 10m/gallon you might think of buying a Corvette. I now own a 2001 Corvette Z06 and a 2000 Hummer. I think that the Corvette may not be as fast, but it sure hasn't sat in the shop for more than half of the time I have owned it like the Viper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

15th Aug 2002, 02:57

Dodge is notorious for giving the worst customer service. Everyone I know has had terrible experiences with Dodge.

21st Sep 2002, 03:05

First of all, it's a Dodge Viper. If you want gas mileage, go buy a Honda Civic. You buy a RACE CAR to race it, not to sit there and criticize the gas mileage, or uncomfortable ride. You said if these things were fixed it would be fine. Of course it would have. This car, in the owners manual, demands a required inspection every 10,000 miles or every year. Which ever come first. Did you know this?

And about the guy in the comment. Do you own a Dodge? Have you ever had to have one serviced? Then don't say Dodge has bad service. It's not Dodge, it is the dealer who services the vehicles.

Neither of you deserve to drive such a prestigious automobile. Go buy that Honda Civic and leave the Vipers to real drivers.

1997 Dodge Viper Coupe Stock from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission Stock
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

Passenger window operates poorly.

Dealer replaced & "repaired". Little difference, won't operate below freezing.

Minor windshield leak.

No other complaints.

General Comments:

There seems to be a general lack of dealer knowledge/ability to service car and customers.

Chrysler should limit to select dealers who can maintain proficiency and customer satisfaction!

Might as well have purchased a Neon as far as treatment is concerned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 1998

30th Jan 2001, 11:57

It doesn't seem like you like this car too much. Mabye you would have been better off buying a Neon. Overall I give this review a 9 because the reviewer was honest about the bad quality's of the car.

Tara

Owner of a 2000 Ferrari

10th Mar 2001, 21:02

Why are you driving a Viper in freezing weather anyway? That's PERPOSTEROUS.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews