1990 Eagle Premier Reviews

1990 Eagle Premier ES Limited from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance100500 miles

Summary:

Piece of Junk

Faults:

Heating Core had to be replaced.

Automatic antennae is broken.

Overheats almost every time I drive it.

When I purchased it, it would not start on humid days, I had to purchase a very pricey little piece of plastic to fix the problem.

Speedometer doesn't work.

Oil pressure bounces up and down - if anyone knows the fix for this let me know!

AC doesn't work.

Transmission tends to jerk the car.

General Comments:

This car is only for someone who can handle it's quirkiness, unless you want to drive a car when IT wants to be driven, you should look at another car. It has an amazing amount of strange noises that it makes ranging from sounding like it's going to die to sounding like some sort of space ship. I am looking forward to the day when I have enough money to not drive this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2005

17th May 2005, 11:42

I bought an eagle premier (1991) with only 103000 kms on it and I have the problem that the oil pressure gage bounces up and down. I went to a dealer (chrysler) and was told that the problem was the sending unit which cost $180.00 but at times I wonder if it is the unit that is the problem.

5th Nov 2006, 03:17

Hi there!

I`m male from Finland and I owned Eagle Premier 1990 too. Cost 1950 (Eur) last summer.

-E-

1990 Eagle Premier LX 3.0 mpi from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 mpi Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance130007 miles

Summary:

Worst car ever mass produced

Faults:

Automatic seat belt stopped working.

When driving more than 10 miles, car would stall and not restart.

Climate control module burned out.

Information center burned out.

Radio burned out.

Power mirrors & locks stopped working.

Brakes & rotors a problem since day 1.

Engine has burned oil since new.

Transmission forgets how to shift properly.

Heater core erupted.

Car has overheated at least every 2 weeks since new.

Plastic ball joints wear out every 20,000 miles.

Wheel bearings last no longer than the ball joints.

Strut bearing plates a constant problem.

PVC system clogs very easily.

Water pump is a very weak link in this engine.

And the list continues... I must stop now or you nice people will be reading something almost as long as "War & Peace"

General Comments:

All I can say,is that it was a nightmare right from the Dealership, and the junk man will not even take it for free, and it is still running (the best it can)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

4th Jan 2005, 07:51

Yeah I'm having similar problems with my Eagle Premier. The main problem is the shifting right now. I just can't seem to find the Transmission Control Module and replace it. It was supposed to be in behind the washer fluid tank, but that got me nowhere. Being color blind doesn't help either, following a grn/red wire from the engine control module gets me nowhere. This car has just been a joy to repair.

18th Feb 2005, 07:12

My 1989 Eagle Premier has a shift problem that causes very early shift. It works fine while the engine is cold and during warm-up; But as soon as it warms up the erratic shifting starts. I can get around it if I start in second gear and then shift to third at around 25 MPH. But it is a hassle driving it like that. If anyone has seen this problem and found a fix for it I would appreciate seeing a post on this site. Thanks.

19th Feb 2005, 15:00

I had an Eagle Premier (1989) until June of 2004, and more things went wrong with that piece opf junk than I can go into. The most pervasive problem was the coolant system, which had to be bled of air almost every time the car was driven to keep the thing from overheating and blowing up at a stop light. The heat didn't work when I bought the thing (I didn't know this because it must have been about 110 degrees on the day I bought the car), the A/C drained into the passenger's side of the car before I just cut the hose, the brakes fried themselves far too easily, the windshield cleaning system was horrible, the water pump died twice, the alternator died twice... yes... it's true. I have even more stories of horror with that vehicle. By the time it died, it was leaking about a quart of oil each week, needed a new fuel pump AND alternator, the electrical system was a nightmare, the transmission no longer had overdrive, and MORE!! Just not seeing the hunk of junk anymore in my garage has made me a happier person with lower blood pressure.

1990 Eagle Premier Limited 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125564 kilometres
Most recent distance125564 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

So far a great car!

Faults:

The speedometer and odometer doesn't work.

The front suspension needs work.

The engine performance seems lackluster, but I suspect that the injectors need to be cleaned or replaced. At higher speeds the engine seems to wanna take off like a rocket.

The high beams don't work.

General Comments:

Well, I've only had the car for two days, but on the day I purchased it (for $750 Canadian) I drove it 200 kilometers and it ran like a charm. I just hope that it keeps running that way for years to come.

The interior is great, but I don't like the signal lever, as it has a 'paddle-like' feel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2004

1990 Eagle Premier ES 3.0 Liter Vee 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Vee 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

More than you can expect for the price

Faults:

Within to months of having it the air conditioning broke.

The Automatic seat belt on the passenger side stopped in the down position.

Windows where unusually slow and one stopped all together.

General Comments:

Wonderful car, easily worked on and repaired.

The ride is incredible compared to my Bonneville SSE with enhanced ride package.

Seats are supportive and comfortable for long trips.

I love the location of the air conditioning right next to the steering wheel.

Exterior is easily maintained due to square design and flat paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2002

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews