1992 Eagle Summit Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Eagle Summit 1.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 kilometres
Most recent distance11500 kilometres

Summary:

A reliable and dependable performer

Faults:

Problems with the Constant Velocity Joints, required replacements three times.

Gas tank replaced due to a leak on the top of the tank.

Overall performance is quite good.

Reliable and dependable second car. I feel I got my money out of this car, however recently repairs have been costly and I'm now lookin at purchasing another vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

1st Nov 2001, 01:42

Re: 1992 Eagle / Mitsibishi Summit Wagon.

I have a Summit Wagon and it has over 170,000 km. It is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned (previous Ford Explorer; Mazda 626)

The only thing that has been a pain is a broken rear sliding door mount which was very expensive ($800 Canadian) to replace.

Other minor hassles involve body parts: turn signals don't always turn off automatically (cost to fix: $300) and rear wiper washer motor broken ($150).

But, apart from oil changes, she runs really fine. I am looking for another used Summit and may consider the All wheel drive version. Gas mileage is good.

22nd Oct 2006, 10:24

I owned a 92 Summit from 6/92 until 1/98. Like a fool decided I would like an older Pickup truck so I bought an 89 S10 and sold the Summit to a young collage student. Oh how I have kicked myself all these years when I think of the price of gas, On a long trip I could get almost 48 miles per gallon.

1992 Eagle Summit ES 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98151 miles
Most recent distance125103 miles
Previous carChevrolet Citation

Summary:

This car is crap!!!

Faults:

The dealer I bought it from said it was in "perfect" shape with that typical braindead "I'm-gonna-rip-you-off" jackass dealer look on his face. This man deserves to be shot in the head several times with a high caliber weapon.

I bought the car directly after a timing belt had been put in.

Oil leaks up the wazoo!!!

Timing belt blew at 98312 at 45MPH in 5th gear, making sure the pistons all cracked when they bent all 12 valves and cracked the head.

The pulley that runs the alternator belt had three big chips taken out of it, allowing the alternator belt to be constantly ripped through, and to make a really annoying squealing noise.

The door buttons that inform the car that its door is open barely work. One gets stuck in all the time, one fell out, one works perfectly (rear passenger side), and the other freezes solid at any unspecified point.

General Comments:

Oil. It's a never-ending struggle. I think it is impossible to keep this thing from spurting oil all over the place. I replaced the oil pan, and patched the old one at least four times, but NO, that wouldn't help. Everywhere I go there's a bigger oil puddle. I probably spent more money in oil than in gas. The lemon factor increases daily at a 2% rate.

Luckily I had a 1200 watt stereo system in it with 2 12" Orion NT2's (this car handles acoustics very well for a sedan), otherwise over 55 MPH the car sounds like a back-hoe crushing a cop car. Nothing you can really do about the earthquake that happens every time you get it over 50 MPH though.

On a good note, the vehicle had surprisingly stable design. After I slammed it into a tree at 65 MPH, it still gets me around. Of course minus a window and the use of two doors. But that's besides the point.

This cars' outward appearance was a trick, it looked so much like a nice car, but don't let that fool you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

2nd Mar 2001, 18:56

I have bought a '93 Eagle Summit ES new in March 93. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever had the pleasure to be around!

I have only had to replace the timing belt (AT RECOMMENDED mileage!) and the O2 sensor. NOTHING else other than general maintenance.

It burns about 1 liter every 4-5000 kms! I HIGHLY recommend this car. Put P175/70/13 tires on it and it handles like a dream.

The car has about 170,000kms now.

19th Jan 2004, 17:13

I just wanted to let you know your link is out of date and doesn't work. A new one would be nice. Thanks.

11th Jun 2004, 19:59

Perhaps you first tip off was that salesman, these are great cars as a rule, looks like a classic case of buyers remorse...65 MPH into a tree... I don't think so, was this a sapling?...

Anyway better luck next time.

14th Jul 2004, 16:52

Try eBay for the 1993 Summit manual being searched for above. When idly looking up information on my 1991 model, I found a couple of '91 manuals being sold there. Good Luck!

By the way, my '91 Summit just crossed 100,000 miles and is cruising strong. It's nice to see from some of the other entries that she has a good 30-40K left in her.

23rd Aug 2007, 21:07

I own a 1992 Summit, and the thing runs great. Just needs basic maintenance, and had the engine and transmission rebuilt at 150,000 miles.

Burns a slight amount of oil, nothing major, and handles very well for such a light car.

Good on gas, and doesn't go through brakes that quick, but it is a little slow on acceleration.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews