1993 Eagle Talon DL from North America - Comments

14th Sep 2004, 16:59

I also own a 93 Talon. It is the 2.0 liter turbo automatic an I like driving it more than a manual. It has longer gears so its top end is higher. I only have a few mods and I'm down into the lower 12's with it. Over all I agree with you and love my car. Thanks for mentioning where to buy a change over kit.

23rd Mar 2005, 10:03

I also have a 93 talon D L. I recently had the exterior repainted,due to flaking and fading, so my little sister in law can start driving it to school. I used it as my commuter car to work and back, 90 miles round trip. It has 249,312 miles on it and still has all original parts except the timing and other belts. Still have the old a/c system and it works fine for now, but is getting a little worn out, and like mentioned above can't use it in town due to the engine strain. Loved driving this car and hated to pass it down, but kinda wanted to see how much more it could take before going to the bone yard. I am planning on changing out the headlight assembly because of the yellowing and road damage, for safer night driving. All in all thumbs up!

5th Apr 2005, 11:36

Hey, I bought a '94 Talon ES (automatic) for $800 last November, and since I have no source of income, I haven't been able to fix the things that are wrong with it. The transmission won't shift to 2nd when it's in Drive, but I can shift it manually. Any suggestions would be helpful. Oh, and I was wondering how hard it would be to replace the belts in it.

Peace

He Who Owns A Green Talon.

3rd Aug 2005, 14:53

The timing belts should be changed at 60,000 miles, not 90,000. You really lucked out there... That belt should have died, like the mechanic mentioned. Glad to hear it made it, though.

16th Nov 2005, 22:52

Hi, I got a 93 Eagle Talon Dl with like yours (referring to the reviewer). However for the 7 months I have drove it, I had nothing, but problems, and it has left me stranded several times, 3 of which involved the gears seizing up. Some of the work I have done involved 6 tires in 4 months, a new clutch, flywheel, clutch master cylinder, clutch slave cylinder, ac had to be charged, isc motor, new cigarette lighter (does not work), new clutch lines, complete new pioneer stereo system (all speakers were blown), new tie-rods, new headgasket, new valve cover, etc. There is much more, but I'm not going to go on with more. The biggest problems I had besides the gear problems was the fact that the piston rings and the main seal blew right after the headgasket was changed. The car had good compression numbers before the headgasket was changed, but still managed to do this only 4 days later.

Despite its problems, this car is very fun to drive, sporty looking, and gets excellent gas mileage. Similar to other dsm's if you get a bad one, it will only break your wallet and your heart. Its no longer running for now, but I am in the process of rebuilding the engine myself to enjoy it again. These cars are wonderful to drive in the city, and mine will be used as a summer beater. I agree with your comments on big RWD luxury cars, since they seem to be safer and better built. My daily driver is a 1987 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 2 door, and its big, safe, reliable, and most of all comfortable.

17th Nov 2005, 14:44

Hello all.

I am the writer of this review, Mike B., and yes, I still own my Talon!

What have I done to my Talon?:

I have recently had a major tune-up including all belts, hoses, and water pump. The Eagle currently has 181,000 miles and still never misses a beat. I have upgraded the stereo to a new Pioneer head unit that plays cds, mp3cds, and has Sirius Satellite radio. A great combination. I also was able to have a successful junkyard trip where I was able to find a complete interior out of a 1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT. I upgraded my cheap-o grey DL seats for sweet black and grey velour seats - front and back - for $50!

What has happened to the Talon since my first review?:

The car was hit a few weeks ago. A guy backed into it smashing the turn signal lamp and breaking the headlight. It's all fixed though.

Rust is beginning to bubble up from the rear fenders. I plan on fixing that after winter. Maybe I'll repaint the car too.

My new (ish) windshield is showing the marks of being driven on the highway a lot and the paint on the very front of the car is beginning to look pitted, along with the spoiler which has lost almost all of its clearcoat and is turning white.

The transmission likes to act up sometimes. There is a syncromesh problem with second gear. Sometimes it will shift into second with no problem, other times it will bang into place making lots of horrible noises.

In all, I still love my car and it owes me nothing. I will continue to take care of it for as long as possible.

I have read many of the comments that have been posted and enjoy them. Thank you for taking the time to post them. I'm sorry some of you have had such troubles with your Talons. They are just cars, and these first generation Talons are getting OLD. Buyer beware. I put more than 100,000 miles on mine, but have changed the oil every 3,000 miles and fixed anything that has broken. That is why routine maintenance is key to owning any automobile. Any car built is built to last the life of the warranty. If you choose to keep it longer you will pay to take care of it.

2nd Mar 2007, 13:27

I have a 1995 eagle talon esi. The same things are going wrong with it as you have all mentioned. It got a brand new engine from Dodge about 2 years ago. It has 200,000 km on everything else. Looks like the transmission is all screwed up now. It grinds when it goes into 2nd gear so, now I shift from 1st to forth. good times. The lock on the driver side doesn't work at all, if somebody locks it, I have to climb in from the trunk, not so pretty. The cruise control sometimes works, when it wants to. Both doors freeze closed in the winter so then I have to take the truck. The brakes are fine, but they squeak when I'm coming to a stop. The headlights are foggy looking and scratched up. The light doesn't go on when you open the door. But either than all that, I love my cute little blue Talon.

6th Jun 2007, 22:10

I have a 1993 Eagle Talon 1.8L DL.

When it's cold and I start it up, it taps, and when it gets to running temperature, it sounds a little better, but if anyone could help me with this, I would be so happy.

It only has 150,528 miles on it.

I have replaced power steering pump, 2 alternators, all belts, speakers, radio, oil pan gasket, valve cover gasket, PCV valve, fuel filter, 2 batteries, spark plugs, spark plug wires, air filter, and K&N racing cold air intake.

Well I don't know if I have to get a new A/C, because when you turn it on, the 1.8L engine does not keep its idle up. It moves around, but I think it might just be that the engine is under a load.

It goes good, and when you're going down the highway, and you look down, you can be running 85-90mph easy, so you have to keep it on cruise, but sometimes it acts up like you set it, and it turns off, or it's all fine, and 30 seconds later it starts to speed up. I have no idea, so if anyone has anything to say about my tapping on the engine, please help me.

Thanks, Michael!!