Ferrari 348 Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1992 Ferrari 348 TS V8 from Switzerland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carBMW M Roadster

Summary:

Fantastic Design, Disappointing Engineering

Faults:

Short in electrical caused battery to die.

Front spoiler lip was very low and needed to be repaired twice.

The timing belt needed replacing - watch out for this service cost, the engine needs to be removed!!

Passenger seat locked up and would not adjust anymore.

General Comments:

This was a very impulsive purchase as my cousin had just bought his dream car a 328 gts at the beginning of summer. While at the dealership, I found myself looking at the 348 and not being able to take my eyes off of it. The lines are so exotic, yet not so macho like the Testarossa. I must admit, the test drive was more about "wow, I am driving a Ferrari" than how amazing it was as a sports car.

Let's say this for the record... you do not buy this car because you want to overtake every other car on the road. It will not. I have been passed by many an M Roadster (my previous car).

This car is about "Ferrari Feeling", which is indescribable. I had a TS, which means it was a Targa. You will definitely prefer the sound of the engine while driving to the radio.

Be careful at high speeds, as the front end tends to get a little light.

Every time I could get into this car, I fell in love all over again. If it were not for the expensive maintenance costs and the frequency of the repairs, I would have kept this car. But here in Switzerland, it cost about $9,000 to replace the timing belt as the engine must be removed. By the way, you should do this every 30,000 kilometers. I have since heard that a new belt is available that let's you go much longer, but I have not verified this.

One Tip: If you are looking to buy one, make sure that it has just had this service with the belts, and preferably the clutch at the same time.

Since selling the car, I have come back to earth and only have owned Porsches, which in my view are fantastic sports cars. The 348 is a real looker, but the German tractor is much more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

11th Jun 2004, 07:52

Good lord, $9,000 to replace a timing belt? I'll do it myself..lol.

14th Jun 2004, 22:37

If you can "do it yourself", then by moving to Switzerland with the sole purpose of changing owner's timing belts on 328s, 348s, 355s you could make an amazing living! :)

29th Jan 2006, 03:35

I own a 348 and I overtake cars all the time even porsche's and there ARE not many cars that would outhandle a 348.thanks.

1991 Ferrari 348 TS 3.48 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.48 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carFerrari 348

Faults:

Alternator went at 12,550 miles!

Catalytic converters went at 13,000 miles!

Dash and console had to be re-painted; got sticky!

Doors tinny and handle cables slip off pulleys!

New leather at 13,500 miles!

Lower front-end spoiler cut back 1" to avoid constant cracking of fiberglass.

General Comments:

White from factory. A red one painted over!

Grabs the road, but engine torque is so great the rear end slips out off the line.

A real man's car. Last of the street/racers! Now with power steering as standard for those lady folk !Better know how to drive it, or a tree or pole will wrap itself around you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th February, 2004

5th Jul 2012, 06:05

Buy a Porsche 996TT and never look back.

1992 Ferrari 348 ts 3.4 V8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

Pop star car

Faults:

Engine overheated.

Center console gets sticky with age.

General Comments:

Since buying the car in February, it seriously has not disappointed me. It is everything you imagine driving a Ferrari to be, and more.

OK, it is not as well built as a Porsche (Previous car) and just shutting the door tells you that. In fact, its embaracingly tinny, and sometimes passengers shutting the passenger door point this out!

But on road its like a go-Kart on rails and is frighteningly quick. Very bumpy and not particularly comfortable, but if you want comfort, you don't buy a Ferrari.

Everyone looks at it driving down the street, and people point.. (which is weird) but cool.

At the end of the day it's a only car. As long as you don't drive it everyday, and don't put too many miles on it, it's definitely more affordable to run than you think.

My Porsche 944 S2 (cab) often cost me £800 for a service, and apart from the cam belt service on the Ferrari (approx £1300) its not much more expensive.

If your um ming and areing about going for one, just do it. But take your time, a scruffy one won't have been looked after and there are plenty of good clean examples around, and you'll know a good one when you see one.

Wicked car, Boxter/348...? 348 please mate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

26th Jun 2004, 10:13

Steven,

I am considering buying a late 80's or early 90's Ferrari. I have the money, but need to build up my courage. Your comments help me make a decision. I've been on the Ferrari bandwagon ever since thay took control of winning at Formula One again. I have seen a lot of good used ones out there and I'm sure i'll find one soon.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 13 reviews