1977 Fiat 125 berlina 1.6 B Potentiated from Argentina

Summary:

Excelent

Faults:

Nothing have gone bad with this car.

General Comments:

It is a very good looking car, with a strong body and a fast engine. It has a little bit high running coasts, but other than that, I have nothing to say about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

1977 Fiat 125 Berlina 1608cm3 twincam from Argentina

Summary:

The italian tank

Faults:

Problems came mostly from the kind of use it got.

Weak front end. Tensors kept tearing off from the body (3 or 4 times each side).

Rust on the floor and trunk.

Starter motor.

Heater leaked water. I finally decided to override it and looped the heater hoses.

General Comments:

Very tough, fast, comfortable car.

It was used and abused by my mother, me and my brother.

The car endured punishment and neglect for 8 years until one of the main crankshaft bearings gave up.

I think we changed the oil only 1 or 2 times in 8 years. We never changed the timing belt (i didn't know there was one, or that it needed to be changed...).

The 1608 cm3 twincam is the best engine Fiat ever made!!! Aurelio Lampredi's masterpiece.

Performance was awesome, even on regular gas. It was tail-happy when turning hard corners fast, but could be controlled with a little practice.

Front and rear passengers rode very comfortably with lots of legroom.

All 4 windows roll well down into the doors for cool summer trips.

We miss this car very much. I don't think it misses us!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

21st Apr 2003, 12:50

I forgot to mention that middle and rear CV joints had to be changed twice. I think they're the same units as in the Fiat 1300-1500, but in the 125 they were put to extra strain due to the more powerful engine, and the kind of abuse they received.

The driver's seat reclining hinge broke a couple of times. I finally welded it in the correct position.

If you find one with a good body and no rust, buy it on the spot!! Parts are available and cheap.

1973 Fiat 125 SPECIAL 1.6 petrol from South Africa

Summary:

Excellent performer

Faults:

Driver seat have started to wear.

Excessive abuse cracked the diff.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and surprises many of todays modern cars!

The car is very unique and turns heads, young and old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

3rd Jan 2006, 09:32

Thirty years ago I had the 125 Special Mark two and I couldn't agree more, a beautiful piece of machinery. The engine was a 125b 1608cc with a 5 speed manual box that lasted for over 200000 miles. The twin cam engine sang like a lark. The only Fiat to out-perform the 125 was the 124 Coupe (and Dino) with the twin Weber 124BC Engine... also 1608cc revving up to 9000rpm.

15th Jul 2006, 10:07

I need some body and engine parts. Because I have a 1972 model classic ^^Fiat 125 Special^^ car and this car's parts have many problems (engine and body).

Please send me a message. I love classic cars and I can't find this car's parts. Please help me to find them.

My mail: tremedusa@hotmail.com

2nd Oct 2006, 05:31

They sure are way hot cars hey? I have a 1969 project car with a 2.0 litre and twin webbers... very quick car and turns many heads great fun and very easy to work on.

17th May 2008, 22:42

I need to buy water pump for a Fiat 125b.

1971 Fiat 125 special 1.6 from Chile

Summary:

The unknown hero of the Fiat

Faults:

The gearbox broke at the first year I bought it.

Some electrical problems, like overheating of the light system.

General Comments:

This car is incredibly fast, you depress the accelerator and then say goodbye everyone.

Some guys in their new cars could not believe it!!.

But the speed is one thing, and in the curves is like drive in a straight road.

The repair costs are lower than my bycycle repair costs.

You can do a lot of modifications on this car.

And finally, I had it during 11 years and still work perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002