1997 Fiat Cinquecento Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Flexi pipe before the cat gave up after 10k and headlights don't always come on first time. Also every time I look at the bodywork another small dent has appeared, but that's Italian cars for you.

General Comments:

Considering the price it's an excellent car and is very cheap to run. The only big expense is the tyres because only Pirelli make that size. As an alternative put fifteens on with 195/45 tyres. Honestly they fit and really fill the arches. Add an Abarth bodykit and a Turbo conversion for GTi eating performance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

17th Jan 2001, 15:49

Nankang make these tyres for just £28.95 a corner.

20th Feb 2001, 05:46

Goodyear also do the tyres, their's manage to look better than the Pirelli's too.

19th Nov 2002, 09:20

Yeah I'd recommend the Nangkang, good for the price (and the seem lower profile even tho they probably aren't.

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10

Faults:

Everything:

Sunroof leaked.

Indicators misted up.

Drivers seat fold forward mechanism failed twice.

Two new ECU's fitted (broke down around eight times with about four visits to dealer before mended + NO COURTESY CAR).

Drivers seat has squeaked since new, door window seal broke.

Heater switches damaged on delivery.

Paint chips VERY easily.

Tyre wear very high, especially on N/S/F.

Need my legs chopping off at the knees to get a comfortable driving position.

General Comments:

Excellent discount on new. Prices went through the floor and now unable to get rid of it at any price.

Excellent fuel economy (49MPG in town!).

Insurance very cheap - £350 fully comp at 21 yrs old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 1998

17th Jan 2001, 15:53

You must be hammering it if you've had so much go wrong. I've caned mine and its getting a new ECU on Friday, but then I think I might go easy on her.

18th Feb 2001, 06:44

Where do you lot get your insurance, I'm paying £580 fully comp! I need lower insurance... help!

12th Apr 2001, 16:36

If you are after very cheap insurance try CIS (Co-operative insurance) I've got a mark 2 fiesta as a first car and its fairly cheap.That's why I'm getting a Cinquecento Sporting I think they are wicked little motors, show these little jumped up Nova boys who they really are.

CIS is based in York.

24th May 2001, 09:17

The only Nova you'll beat in one of them is a 1/1.2 litre.

Still I would have to agree that I'd rather have a Fiat than a crappy Vauxhall any day.

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Front windscreen washer failed after a service.

Headlamps stayed on after being put in OFF position. Hope it doesn't happen again.

General Comments:

The FIAT dealer is fine but FIAT themselves were appalling. I received a rear shunt. The repairs were put at 2-3 days. FIAT ran out of bumpers! and it took 8 weeks!!!!!!!

The dealer couldn't do anything about it. He searched Ireland and England. There were none in Italy and there were none on the production line in Poland.

I wouldn't buy a FIAT again because this situation was allowed to arise. I don't have faith in them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Headlamps misaligned when delivered.

Fresh air vent jammed when delivered.

Dent 'mysteriously' appeared in wing over Christmas (thanks Anon).

Only small things, but the PDI should have picked them up.

I fixed them myself.

General Comments:

For the money you just can't complain. All ratings above took the price into account (and I got a SUBSTANTIAL discount). It's a small car, and it's cheap, so yes it rattles a bit, you can hear the engine, and it hasn't got a very big boot. But it looks great, it goes well (considering it's insurance group 3) and it's at home on the motorway or in the car park. It does everything I want it to, but not a lot more. I love it. No other new car comes close at the money. Sporty, alloy wheels, central locking, electric windows, leather s/wheel etc., Italian pedigree....I could go on....just buy one!

Alternatives were:

Ford Ka- no thanks...I don't want to drive a bubble.

Nissan Micra- see Ford Ka.

Rover Mini- The day before yesterday's technology.

Kia Pride- The budget ran out before they got round to 'styling'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 1998

24th May 2001, 09:20

Actually, I thought a Ford Ka was a moon buggy.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews