1997 Fiat Cinquecento Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance66800 miles

Summary:

Cheap and nippy, just don't expect anything more

Faults:

Wheezing noise from the engine, after it warmed up, still not diagnosed.

Drivers seat constantly loose, despite attempted repair job.

Battery discharging, possible immoblizer conflict (separate alarm system fitted)

General Comments:

The car is good fun to drive, yet I've only had to for 2 months as a new driver, yet am counting the days to when I can get something else.

The interior is roomy, but it has a terrible pedal layout, ugly dashboard, and no glove box! However, most surprisingly... you cannot move the passenger seat forward, nor backward.

The car was built on a budget, so bear that in mind, yet it feels like the wind will knock it over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

2nd May 2003, 13:35

Yes the Seat can be moved backward and forward.

27th Aug 2008, 16:47

Where can I get a non ugly dashboard, maybe something colorful or just more up to date?? Anyone?

4th Jan 2013, 13:15

I have just re-trimmed my dash and small parcel shelf and steering wheel boss with flame red and black leatherette.

Looks great and more upmarket, and adds that little bit of class.

All you need is a lot of patience and some good quality contact adhesive, and a couple of metres of lightweight leatherette.

1997 Fiat Cinquecento S 899 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 899 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13800 miles
Most recent distance23200 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Very poor quality, it is right what people say about F.I.A.T Fix It Again Tomorrow

Faults:

Lost 5tg gear, just one week after buying the car, although it had only done 13,800 miles, covered by dealer warranty.

Lost 5th gear again at 20,000 miles covered by dealer warranty.

Stone chips appear very easily.

Speedometer needle judders until you get to approx 40mph.

Exhaust heat shield over the cat vibrates and makes a nasty noise, sounds very bad.

When you drive the car it sounds as though you have a boot full of small boxes bouncing about.

Standard stereo speakers sound like speakers from a set of ear phones.

General Comments:

I know the Cinquecento is no ferrari, but you don't expect all of these problems on a P-Reg car, no matter what it is.

The car does go well for a 900cc it can reach 80mph in good time, 85mph at a push, but that's to be expected.

It is very economical, however not as economical as I expected.

The paint-work is terrible, and I will never buy another Fiat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

22nd May 2010, 15:21

Any maker has a few bad cars. I have owned many Fiat, Renault, Alfas, Fords, Vauxhalls, Lexus, daewoo, Rovers, all sorts. Fiats are cheap, fun small cars. Cheap very cheap.

They are not a Lexus and never will be.

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance47500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

I great fun, cheap laugh and all-round fantastic car!

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with the car, since I have owned it was that the handbrake cable snapped.

This was when I pulled it on, when I was on a hill and to be fair I probably pulled it way to hard.

General Comments:

I own a 1997 Broom Yellow Fiat Cinquecento Sporting and would just like to say, all these people that say their car can do 115mph I think their speedo is out. However I have raced a 1.2 16V Vauxhall Corsa away from the lights and totally annihilated it.

I've had 100mph out of mine, but I didn't want to push it any harder. My cars bog standard and has nothing done to it.

It handles really well and feels much quicker than it actually is, I have no complaints what so ever about it. The Fiat dealers are fantastic and are always willing to help me out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1-litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1-litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance57500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Great cheap way to enter the performance car world!

Faults:

One of the driver's door hinges broke, which meant the door was hanging off.

Interior quality is not great.

General Comments:

Steering feels heavy (because it doesn't have power steering).

Very nippy around town.

Feels very tiny.

Cabin has lots of room - for such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

1997 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26193 miles
Most recent distance35256 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A cheap, fun, exciting way to drive through life!

Faults:

The clutch cable snapped at 32000 miles. Ordered the part and easy to fit however.

The screen wash pipes often fatigue and need pushing back onto the reservoir.

The seats after about 2 hours become slightly uncomfortable.

Slightly annoying rattle under the speedometer cable, not really a problem though.

General Comments:

The car is a good looker, and drives like a roller skate. It is immense fun to drive and as it is very light, has a surprisingly quick acceleration.

The handling is amazing, and it grips the road like glue. It does help if you have the over sized wheels if possible to improve stability!

The interior is simple but functional, but in a sporting model, that is all you want. A leather steering wheel and gear stick is an added bonus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2001

16th Oct 2001, 06:00

Washer hose / reservoir connection. I removed the non-return valve & have had no problem since. Easiest way to do this is to remove the valve from the engine bay, prise it open with a screwdriver, remove the contents, replace the cap & now empty valve & voila! Takes 2 minutes, and one less part to go wrong!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews