Fiat Croma Reviews

2006 Fiat Croma from Italy

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired8400 kilometres
Most recent distance8800 kilometres
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

I give the car very high marks for handling, comfort, and style.

Faults:

Experienced no problems.

General Comments:

Car is a rental I drove in Italy. I requested a station wagon, paying for a VW Golf wagon. Knew I'd probably get something else, but Croma was a surprise. It's better (and bigger) than Golf, Focus, or Opel Astra.

Very high-tech vehicle.

Comfortable interior and fun to drive.

Station wagon: has ample luggage space.

Turbo diesel model I drove was quick enough and economical.

If they sold something like this in the U.S., I would be interested in one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2006

1991 Fiat Croma i.e.SX 2.0 petrol from Croatia

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Fast and comfortable car

Faults:

Problem with transmission, not too expensive.

I've got to replace petrol pump last year.

Several small problems with electronics. Not a big deal.

General Comments:

When you buy Croma you get a comfortable and fast car for really little money.

Holding the road is great, acceleration even better (Fantastic acceleration with only 118hp! You should try it!)

In my opinion, better then most of modern car even is 13 years old.

This is a car that it should be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

1988 Fiat Croma LX 2.0 ie from Germany

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 ie Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance194200 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki SJ410

Summary:

An inexpensive and spacious, reliable and easy to repair, large Italian car

Faults:

I got the car from my parents, who bought it new. After the registration of the valves in the garage at 60.000 km, they started a trip to Italy. After two hundred km the engine blew because all the oil had been squeezed out of the O-rings between cylinders and head: The apprentice in the garage had tightened the bolts that hold together the two parts too much, so three of the four (I think) broke. Result: new engine and my father didn't trust the car (and garage) any more...

Recently (194000 km) the car started choking. My garage changed all the cables and ignition system for a lot of money. Only after a second trip to the garage they found out that the previous garage had mounted wrong spark plugs 5000 km ago.

It started to get wet inside after rain, but I managed to seal the front and rear window with silicone. The rear door still lets some moisture in after heavy rain.

General Comments:

Great car for a family (lots of room), even though it's not really a nice design. It started to get a little rusty lately, no wonder with the Munich winters with the salt on the roads. But I must admit I have neglected the wheelhouse and floor-panels in the last few years as I thought the whole car would not last that long. But it has proven to be a pretty reliable car even in wet or cold periods. The maintenance is not more expensive than for any other car, brakes, exhaust-pipes, nothing unusual. Needs quite a bit of oil though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2001

1992 Fiat Croma T ie 2.0 turbo i.e. from Bulgaria

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo i.e. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Coupe

Summary:

Reliable high performance bargain

Faults:

Nothing major went wrong, apart from a leaking front shock and a worn clutch at 170 000 km. Seems normal for this kind of power.

General Comments:

Extremely fast, 0-100 in a mere 7 seconds, roomy and very reliable. Blows away all kinds of GTI's and the like with just 158 HP. Amazingly light-weight - kerb weight 1180 kg, although it's a big limo.

Consumption is about 13 l/100 km city driving and 10l/100km highway use.

These cars are extremely underrated and come to the second hand market really cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2001

11th Dec 2004, 18:58

Those 7.0 seconds 0 to 100 km/h are a little bit wrong... 0 to 60 mph maybe...

25th Jan 2005, 06:06

The real time it takes Croma 2.0tie 0-100 kph is 7,6 sec.

I think that 100kmph and 60mph is almost the same... Am I wrong?

Saludos.

18th Jan 2006, 06:10

I can just tell you that my father bought a used CROMA 2,0 ie, with 290 000 km on it, now its on 335 000 km, it runs like a dream, I am just sorry I couldnt witness her power when she was new. I should tell you that my dad is a low maintenance guy, he changes things after they brake down.

25th Apr 2007, 06:13

I lived in Germany from 86'to 93'. I bought a 1988 Fiat Croma Turbo i.e. I didn't really care about the 0 to 100km time. I can tell you it would run 250kmh all day long. I drove it from Heidelberg, Germany to Amsterdam in 3 hours and 19 minutes. Beautiful 2 tone silver and gold car. Never understood why Fiat didn't make them for American use.

25th Apr 2007, 08:33

I have FIAT CROMA 2.0 T.I.E. and I just can say that CROMA have extra power and I think that is lot better than every GTI...

17th Aug 2008, 08:01

Hi, I'm really shocked at the Croma's acceleration (7.4 sec). I want to know from Fiat Croma users how really good is this car, I mean, if it has malfunctions, defects, how expensive are the parts, how easy to fix is, how easy to find the car's parts are?

6th Oct 2009, 10:52

The acceleration of the Fiat Croma is 7.98 (0-62mph). The car is really fast. I have one, and I am going to make a mistake to sell it... I don't know why...

1990 Fiat Croma CHT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

A scruffy but practical all rounder

Faults:

Electrics are a bit hit and miss, but spending time cleaning up switches, contacts and checking earthing points usually solves most of the gremlins.

Clutch master and slave cylinders have just had to be replaced, but not that expensive if you choose an independent garage.

Interior door trim is abysmal, it has warped so looks really ugly.

Rear calipers on this model are expensive and prone to failing. Parking with the hand-brake off at home, especially during the winter will extend their life.

General Comments:

This car has enormous boot space, and has the carrying capacity of a small estate with the seats folded down.

Rear passenger space is excellent and is the biggest of most cars I have seen.

Fuel economy is excellent, I regularly get between 35 & 45 miles per gallon.

Galvanised body so rust isn't an issue even for a car of this age. Only the wheel arches where mud gets behind can be a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews