1997 Fiat Marea Reviews

1997 Fiat Marea Weekend 1.6 16v from Bulgaria

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Previous carn n

Summary:

Nice car for the money

Faults:

I have problems with my radiator thermostat when I bought the car. The repair cost me ~100$, but after that, everything is OK..

General Comments:

Nice car for the money, nice and quick engine.

The only one problem for me is the suspension; it's little hard and noisy over bad roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2008

1997 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 20v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 20v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carAudi 100

Summary:

The worst car I have ever owned bar none

Faults:

Clutch disintegrated.

Engine Rattle could not be traced.

Accessory drive belt broke, off road 6 days as none in UK.

Hand brake cables corroded. twice.

Suspension arm ball joint broke.

Suspension geometry could not be set correctly.

General Comments:

The engine was powerful and the variable valve timing certainly provided a kick when it advanced.

Ride comfort was not as good as it should have been.

Road holding was sometimes scary.

Car very difficult to work on and tool set that came with the car did not inspire confidence. The tow eye supplied did not fit.

Tyres wore out very quickly and cost a small fortune to replace.

Boot space not too bad but small boot lid made access very difficult. Made slightly better when seats folded down.

Sadly the reliability factor made me nervous whenever I had to do any sort of journey away from my home town. I just could not trust it to make it there and back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

1997 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 20v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 20v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

A wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car. I've done over 40,000 miles in two and a half years with no problems. Its been across Europe on auto-routes and autobahns without missing a beat.

General Comments:

Its comfortable, easy to park in town and quick if you need it to be. Its the first car that I enjoy motorway driving in.

My only mistake was buying a car without air-con, when its 30 degrees outside, its 50 degrees in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

1997 Fiat Marea HLX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60553 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

Economical, looks good, and is quick

Faults:

Boot lock seized.

General Comments:

Very quick for a diesel, big alloys on, and it looks and handles the dogs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

1997 Fiat Marea SX 1.6 16v from Poland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

Good looking, but fast-fading

Faults:

Problems with the front suspension (after 40000 km, replaced of both suspension arms).

Leakage of oil from the transmission.

Noisy working the hand brake lever (due rusted cord).

Damaged air bag.

Corroding aluminium cases of the rear mirrors.

General Comments:

Good looking Italian style, unfortunately very delicate - especially the suspension.

Powerful engine, good acceleration and maximum speed higher than the manual states.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

1997 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

An excellent car for the money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

An excellent and unusual car with good performance (considering it is - basically - a family saloon).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2000

1997 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 20v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 20v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance20 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

A high performance family car bargain!!!!

Faults:

Not a thing.

General Comments:

This is a top family car, with all the extras you need, it's lots of car for your money.

What surprised me most when I first bought the car was the performance, mine is the 2.0 20v and the power is amazing, it has 152bhp, 0-60mph in 7.8 seconds and a top whack of about 133mph, I just love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

26th Nov 2000, 15:10

I agree. I've got the same 2.0 HLX.

Great car, great performance, great handling. I'm just pleased no one else wants it.... keeps the price great too!!

18th Dec 2000, 16:37

I agree this is a quick car, but not that quick!

I couldn't get the one I had to see 60 in 7.8 seconds, it's more around the 8.5 marker.

1997 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

It has a couple of bizarre sqeaks and rattles from the interior. All Fiat sunroofs seem to rattle!

Smell of petrol when windows or sunroof open.

General Comments:

Bought this car when 18 months old and with 11,000 miles on it at less than half the price of a new one (£7500). It has a 150BHP, 5 cylinder engine which is fantastic and for the money the car is unbeatable secondhand. Better hope it doesn't go wrong too often though, as Fiat dealers are the most inept on the planet in my experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 1999

14th Aug 2010, 13:44

Just a thought if you still have this car. It is common for the fuel filter to deteriorate where it is held by the metal strap and leak. Enough to give you the smell of petrol, but not enough to be obvious until it bursts. Would recommend checking this. Regards.

1997 Fiat Marea HLE 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Digital Readout (LCD) for mileometer discovered intermittent at PDI, awaiting a replacement. - But at least the dealer found it before I did which is more than can be said about my previous vehicle from another manufacturer.

General Comments:

Aftercare is really good. The car feels very "solid" and was instantly driveable by me and my wife who have very different styles and driving positions.

The seat height is not "notched" but continuously variable.

Dealership good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 1998

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews