1989 Fiat Panda Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1989 Fiat Panda CL 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11754 miles
Most recent distance13800 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

The ultimate utilitarian vehicle

Faults:

New front discs.

New front pads.

New front brake hoses.

New rear brake pads.

Bottoms of both doors are rotting fast.

General Comments:

Excellent little car.

Acquired at very low mileage.

Fantastic around town. I just love the simplicity of this car. Bare & basic.

Everybody should have one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

25th Dec 2000, 18:11

I agree with you! A Panda is built for 250,000 miles at least and you only have to fight the rust (and some parts that fall off).

My Panda ('88 1000CL) has never let me down, drives fast and is a very cheap economic wonder! It's an ugly colour (very light blue) and makes some noise when cold (a cheering dynamo) and then goes like the wind!

Good luck with yours!

1989 Fiat Panda S 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Cheap reliable runabout

Faults:

Front offside brake calliper keeps sticking.

Engine mountings worked loose.

Seatbelt retainer broke.

General Comments:

Although the faults have been minor and been repaired by myself, the car itself starts first time every time and is very reliable and economical.

The only thing that lets this car down is the bodywork.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2000

1989 Fiat Panda 1000 S 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Bargain box of fun

Faults:

Exhaust, heating system, shocks, nothing unexpected for the age of the car.

General Comments:

Excellent little car that has given 1000s of miles of happy and trouble-free motoring. Engine is a lovely little nippy thing, a bit underpowered uphill I suppose but it is only a 1 litre unit.

It will happily do 80mph on the flat without straining too much, and downhill even 100mph is possible!!!

If you want a cheap and cheerful car that's reliable, you can't go far wrong with one of these little babies ;-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

8th Jun 2002, 08:31

Ill take your word for it, as I've never sat in one. A guy has even tuned his to 1050cc and has raced it at Shelsley Walsh. If you want to seek the real fun out of a Panda, then race it!!!

1989 Fiat Panda 4x4 Sisley 1.0 FIRE from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 FIRE Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda 4x4

Summary:

Good things come in small packages!!

Faults:

Track rod ends.

Steering boots.

Electrical problems.

Boot lock(s).

Gear linkages.

General Comments:

Not a bad wee car at all, but I am slightly bias and therefore maybe a bit more forgiving than most! I currently own 2 Panda 4x4's and have owned 6 in total! The Sisley was a special edition designed by Benneton, and are getting rare nowadays. 4x4's do have their fair share of niggling common problems but if you can put up with it you will get a very versatile little car, on which almost everything may be taken off with a 13mm spanner!

Problems to watch for:

-Unmarked fuses on fuse box

-Headlight switches prone to failure

-4x4 Rear leaf springs prone to snapping at high mileage

-4x4 Transmissions can be weak if not looked after, change oil regularly, avoid using 1st gear in normal driving as it is essentially a crawler 4x4 gear and is too low for sensible on road use. Do use the 4x4 system regularly, to prevent seizure, even if it is only up and down the driveway!

-Sumps prone to damage

-Watch for rust below windscreen and around door corners

-Boot locks are poorly designed

-Gear linkages from stick to box are prone to working loose and breaking at high mileages

But look after it and it will look after you! The 50bhp engine is nippy around town and will often help you win the traffic light grand prix! Unbelieveable off road and does the type of stuff it shouldn't, more than holds its own with daddy Land Rovers! But difficult to get hold of, owners aren't stupid, are very loyal and tend not to part with them easily! Find a good one and enjoy both on and off road!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2000

27th May 2008, 09:28

Hi; Shane here.

I have a Fiat Panda 4x4 Sisley, and am looking for parts. Are there any ideas as to where I could get some? Please email me with any info: fordie17@hotmail.com.

I would consider selling!

1989 Fiat Panda 1000 Super 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Some minor electrical problems, some rust is now beginning to set in at the base of the doors, nothing else really.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

1989 Fiat Panda L 0.75 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 0.75 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

A superb car. 750 engine slow on hills and 0-60 but fine for everyday use. Will run all day at 80mph. Bought car when it had been sitting in a field for 18 months, changed oil, filter and water, then did over 30,000 miles that year (mainly motorway) with only oil changes required. Excellent fun to drive, corners better than it should. Runs all day on a whiff of fuel vapour, only concern is with crash protection.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

22nd Feb 2001, 08:14

The 750L was my first car and I loved it! Its quirky angular body and unstructured interior occasionally raised a few giggles but the car was how people recognised me! My friends always knew it was me if they saw an orange Panda driving around town!

It never ever broke down in the 2 years that I drove it - the only thing I had to buy for the car was a couple of new tyres (which are really cheap!)

The car was so good, when I 'upgraded' to my second car, my dad bought the Panda off me and still drives around in it today - 2 years on.

My Panda is getting a bit rusty on the sills now but who cares?

It's a great little car and has loads of personality!! (It's loads better than the Cinquecento - which is basically a remodeled Panda with a few extra safety features).

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews