1991 Fiat Panda Reviews

1991 Fiat Panda CLX 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Individual Italian Baby

Faults:

A few electrical gremlins to begin with. Traced to earth fault Still can't have rear fog lights on at same time as Main beam head lights.

Virtually entire front suspension has had to be replaced.

Wheel Bearings have given out twice.

Clutch failed.

Handbrake problems. Could barely hold it on any kind of hill.

Timing belt tensioner wore out.

Alternator Failed.

General Comments:

Enough to send a low mileage Toyota owner screaming for the hills.

But still a reliable car. No breakdowns apart from alternator on a very elderly and extremely hard driven baby Fiat. Starts 1st time every time.

It has impressive mechanical integrity. Fire engine regularly caned to over 5000 rpm and still refuses to burn any oil or acquire noisy tappets at 120000 miles.

Gives the impression that while it has slightly iffy detail design in places it could drive Micra or Fiesta into ground over long term.

Hugely practical with space for 5 adults as well as huge space when the rear seats are folded flat or removed.

Jazzy upholstery and strangely undated dash board make it a pleasant little car albeit very basic.

Handling is involving with a bit of body lean due to high center of gravity, but generally safe and fun tending to understeer.

Keep it serviced they hate neglect.

When it works I really love it it can be seriously addictive and entertaining. The ride is harsh mind. Love-able car. And kinda cool too. An individualists car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

13th Feb 2003, 13:28

This review is spot on. My Panda is much the same.

1991 Fiat Panda 4x4 Sisley 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carVolvo 460

Summary:

Get your mits around a Panda Sisley!

Faults:

Cylinder head gasket blew.

General Comments:

What a fantastic car. This is my second Panda, the first one I owned back in 1990 was fun, but this 4x4 is seriously addictive. It cruises down the motorway, goes when others are stuck in snow and is a hoot to drive. Get one if you can!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

25th Jan 2001, 09:40

I've had my Fiat 4x4 Sisley approximately a year now and I love it. It's my third Fiat Panda - my previous two were both 1000 Supers. I've never paid more than £350 for a Panda and I've got a total bargain of a car each time. The only problems I have had, have occurred to two or more of the cars at some stage.

* Rust damage to the bottom of the doors.

* Rear seat catches detaching themselves from the seat.

* The drivers side window disappearing into the door casing.

* The boot lock failing.

Apart from these small glitches, I can't understand why folk mock the Panda. They are reliable, you can drive them into the ground and they love it.

I've lost count of the times people have pulled out on me or tried to overtake me - all the time under the false assumption that Fiat Pandas can only reach 70 mph! My best moment was doing 110mph in the fast lane of the A1, watching the faces of the other drivers with their mouth hanging open!

22nd Mar 2003, 10:42

Super little cars. Have had Panda 4x4s since 1985. Early ones had rattly OHV engines, last two have the OHC "Fire" engine. Had few problems, distributor fault, one clutch replaced (bit expensive as all transmission has to be dismantled - so mechanic said). Body on current 1990 model is now getting tatty, but my wife loves it. Starts first turn. Would love to find another rust free example (are there any??)

Bet they'd sell well if Fiat bothered to export RHD versions.

3rd Dec 2004, 12:28

Everybody should have Panda 4x4s, and put spots on the roof. They are the best.

1991 Fiat Panda 1000 CLX FIRE 1.0 fire i.e. U9 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 fire i.e. U9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

A real good and cheap car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far, but sometimes the clutch fails a bit and then the gearbox makes some really scary noises.

General Comments:

The car is reliable, and always starts. When I bought it (very cheap) I immediately replaced the oil, oil filter, air filter and radio-wiring.

I also added some engine-cleaner and injection-cleaner into the tank and mixed the oil with a lubricant similar to slick-50.

I changed the windshield wipers, coolant and used some tectyl-amber to protect the engine and body from rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2000

1991 Fiat Panda Super 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance80500 miles

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

Short in indicator.

General Comments:

Very nippy for such a small car. Starts first time, every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews