1992 Fiat Panda Reviews

1992 Fiat Panda 750 768 Fire from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 768 Fire Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Goes better than it ought to

Faults:

Gearbox lost the synchromesh on second gear at 60,000 miles and had to be reconditioned. Clutch replaced for good measure while the gearbox was out of the car.

Vacuum advance diaphragm had a leak causing the car to stall.

Distributor and points need replacing regularly to ensure proper cold / damp starting.

Timing belt went a week ago while doing 65mph - hadn't been replaced since the car had been purchased.

General Comments:

Good basic car which is amusing to drive!

The engine is unburstable, although acceleration when loaded is leisurely at best.

The FIRE engineering is non-interfering, so the timing belt failure had no serious consequences (it should have been changed at the appropriate time!).

Gearbox is a bit awkward and the brakes need a hard shove in order to stop you!

Extremely practical.

Not rusting very much, surprisingly.

Other than the gearbox problem, reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

7th Jan 2003, 04:26

Further to this review, I had the timing sorted out by Firela Motors in Stockwell, London (020 7622 7844) as the car was not running right. Also had an oil leak and other minor problems fixed. Total bill including VAT was under £100.

On this and a friend's experience with his Punto, if you need a decent independent Fiat garage, give them a try. Good Fiat garages aren't easy to find, so I thought I'd mention them! I have no professional connection with them other than being a satisfied customer.

1992 Fiat Panda Fire 1 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance30568 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo

Summary:

An Economic and reliable car with a big heart

Faults:

There were a few problems with the connections to the rear lights which required adjustment following a blown brake-light.

The brakes tended to make noises when slowing down gradually (no noises during emergency braking)

The fan-belt squealed in wet weather.

There is rust on the passenger door.

The roof is a 2 sunroof type, and these are made of waterproof canvas. However, the stitching had rotted in certain places so in heavy downpours the roof would leak.

General Comments:

As a vehicle for a person on a limited budget, this car is very economical.

The speed is not fast, but it will get you from A to B in relative comfort and with reliability.

As a talking point, the Panda is in a class of its own. This one has characteristics making it one of a kind.

When driving the Panda on the Motorway, the true basic design stands out, as the height means in windy conditions the car is buffeted and handling is not good.

The car never failed to start even in the coldest weather, or if it had been parked up for months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

1992 Fiat Panda Dance 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Reliable cheap motoring

Faults:

Normal wear and tear items, starter motor etc.

General Comments:

This is the third Fiat Panda we have owned. 1st was bought used, 2nd was new and this current model was used.

Bought for cheap practical motoring and has certainly been that. Has even toured France with 2 bikes on a rack, towing a fully laden trailer but still returned 56 to the gallon!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

2nd Sep 2001, 12:01

I have owned 2 fFiat Panda's and am considering buying a used one very soon.

My first Panda was an 1986 1000 Super. It had 120K on the clock when I sold it.

The second was a 1000 CL Bianca. Neither of these vehicles ever let me down and 5 years after aquiring the first Panda I want another one.

Great cars. Everybody should own one for the sheer fun at some stage in their driving lifetime.

DG Edinburgh 2nd Sept 2001.

8th Dec 2001, 09:17

I currently have 4 Fiat Panda's, one of which is a 1992 Panda Sky. Some say I'm sad but I say I'm lucky!

All are reliable, cheap to run and great fun to drive. Only had a few problems mainly down to lack of use or used incorrectly. They like to be driven and driven quite hard.

Go out and buy at least one!

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews