1986 Fiat Uno Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1986 Fiat Uno S 1.0 fire from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 fire Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74640 miles
Most recent distance113558 miles

Summary:

The best all-round supermini of the 80's

Faults:

Ignition switch was replaced at 80k miles.

Rear wheel bearings and clutch were replaced at 90k miles.

O/S CV joint at 96k.

Thermostat and handbrake at 112k.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable, the engine runs on unleaded without any modification at all!

Very economical, 40mpg in the city and anything up to 58.8mpg on the motorway!

Nice to drive (only the Pug 205 can better Uno's handling) and ridiculously cheap to run. Very roomy too.

Wash the car once a month and you get no rust at all. Decent build quality and some Italian peculiarities (driving position), but still vastly superior to the Fiesta/Corsa.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

1986 Fiat Uno Turbo i.e. 1.3i turbo petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3i turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 kilometres
Most recent distance202000 kilometres

Summary:

Light and powerful, yum!

Faults:

Clutch cable every 12 months, but I couldn't afford an original.

CV boot.

Some rust in the driver's door/sill.

Flaking paint.

General Comments:

A very quick and very underrated hatch. Handling is beautifully balanced and will 4 wheel drift all day, although won't liftoff oversteer (boo hoo).

The tighter the road the better. Brakes could be better but are fine for everything apart from repeated HIGH speed decelerations and are over-served.

Engine is fabulous and whoever says Italian turbo charged cars are unreliable probably hasn't looked after it. Feed it Mobil 1 regularly and be nice from cold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

1986 Fiat Uno 45 (FIRE) S 1.0 carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 carb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance101583 miles

Summary:

A faultless first car.

Faults:

Drive shaft CV joint.

General Comments:

A car which is great fun to drive. The 1.0 engine gives the kind of performance you would expect to get out of a 1.2. The car is let down by an osteopath friendly driving position and lack of a spring loaded gear shift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2000

19th Apr 2001, 03:00

I'd agree with that. Performance is pretty peppy, and mine has never let me down. It's been a great little car and I'd certainly have another.

1986 Fiat Uno 45 fire 1.0 petrol carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol carb
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

New carb at 70,000 miles (Webber).

General Comments:

Fun to drive and cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1986 Fiat Uno 60S 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Owned from new 11 1/2 years so tyres, battery, exhaust at respectable intervals. Carb now shot. Various bits now perishing with age, but still goes well. Very little rust, despite lack of care.

General Comments:

Was very nervous when we bought it because of Fiat reputation at the time. Has been absolutely fine. Let's hope the Ford Ka we have ordered (from Belgium at 30% saving) to replace it does as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 1998

1986 Fiat Uno 60S 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong in the 7 years I've had the car.

Apart from normal maintenance, I've replaced the windscreen wiper bolt and the driver door handle.

It starts first time all year round, even though it's kept outside, and is only now showing signs of its age.

General Comments:

I'll be very sorry to part with this car.

I don't think a replacement would have the same character or endurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 1997

1986 Fiat Uno Turbo i.e. 1.4 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10

Faults:

Everything, what a lemon. It required £4000 mechanical repairs in the first 2000 miles. Avoid like the plague.

General Comments:

Be extremely wary of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 1997

6th Feb 2001, 20:54

What???

These are brilliant little cars!!!

Shows how much you know - in 1986 they were 1.3 (1301cc) not 1.4.

11th Feb 2001, 19:10

I totally agree that they are brilliant cars. I have a 1993 1.4 model, and it's so fast and smooth - plus no problems. I love it more than any other car, and would recommend it to anyone.

13th Feb 2001, 08:23

I quite agree too. I own a MK 1 1301cc model, it has 124,000 miles on the clock, and still shifts! It starts first time, everytime, and with a decent set of aftermarket alloys, it still turns heads!

13th Jun 2001, 16:30

I agree with all the other Uno Turbo I.e. Lovers out there. Mean fast little nippers that are underestimated by most racers and dismissed, but when you pass them at 120mph, then its you that has the laugh. LONG LIVE THE UNO TURBO.

3rd Jul 2001, 17:10

I own a Fiat Uno 60S 1989, it's my first car and I have had great nights out in my little beast with my mates.

It is spacious enough to sit 5 comfortably due to it being the 5 door version.

It has had the full Max Power treatment with alloys, spoiler, touring car sun strip, K&N air filter, twin big bore exhaust and especially a kicking sound system. I have done all these modifications myself and more.

I agree with all the others these cars are greatly underestimated, but when they see mine they have to check for the Fiat badge.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews