1995 Fiat Uno Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Fiat Uno D Start 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

A low cost, reliable work horse for one person

Faults:

Alternator - but I hear it's a regular problem with Diesel Unos. This only cost £50 to fix and fitting and replacing was very easy.

Timing belt - last owner didn't seem to have changed it (even with 87,000 on the clock!). So started it on a cold morning and something went bang and the engine became very loud. Luckily it had only slipped one cog tooth out of alignment. After fixing this and the broken exhaust valve the engine was very quiet.

Brake lines corroded for MOT - £60 to renew the system gave me so much more confidence when driving.

General Comments:

A very reliable car that I was sad to see go.

Brilliant on fuel, giving about 40-50mpg.

Although the engine wasn't the most powerful, it was perfectly adequate and could still slightly push you back in your seat if you understood to drive with low revs and high-torque. It was quite capable of motorway speeds; traveling now and again for 3 hours non stop at about 80 mph.

Good little workhorse, carried me and loads of stuff effortlessly through the countryside to the Lake District. Thank God for the torquey little engine or we'd never have made it. Petrol wouldn't have made it I know that for certain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2002

1995 Fiat Uno 60D Start 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Cheap basic motoring - with character

Faults:

Handbrake linkage is naff but is easily sorted.

Otherwise nothing - yet.

General Comments:

Bought as a second car but what a little gem. It drives well and uses next to no fuel. It is fairly basic (doesn't even have a tripmeter in the speedo).

Feels very reliable and after a good sort out when I bought it (I do my own servicing) I haven't spent a penny on it. Really impressed for my first Fiat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

6th May 2001, 05:10

Further to my original comment - Now some 18,000 miles later I have had to do quite a bit of work on the front suspension/steering including new front wheel bearings and new bottom front lower wishbone. Although not needed I have also changed the drive shaft rubber boots on both the offside and nearside axles. This has transformed the car from what I thought was a nice economical run around. Now it runs much quieter and positively. The spares for this car are unbelievable inexpensive and if like me you do your own maintenance the I cannot recommend this car enough. Still returns loads to the gallon etc. Still an excellent buy for me.

1995 Fiat Uno ie Start 1.0 Fire from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Fire Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190E

Summary:

Classic case of the package somehow being much more than the sum of the components

Faults:

Heater valve leaked. £15, fitted by owner.

Rear brakes can stick and the handbrake is weak.

Now showing signs of rust on doors.

General Comments:

Nippier than you might think for 999cc but acceleration noticeably slowed by passengers or hills. Will do 70/80/90mph all day once you get there. 50mpg all the time. Good brakes. Sharp handling helped by fitting half-decent matching tyres all round (less than 100 quid). Excellent head-room if you're tall. Rear suspension a bit harsh when unladen. Later ie models have Punto fuel injection and rod gear linkage.

Service by owner costs £25 parts and takes under 45mins.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2000

25th Jan 2002, 09:34

Having owned a Fiat Uno, I completely agree, except I had much more problems, that were not so cheap to fix.

Good for tall people, but bad for anyone that likes to be safe when joining a 40mph road (power very limited). The car likes high revs and shows promise, I would tell you at what revs, but they do not have rev counters!!

25th Jan 2002, 15:57

Fiat Uno's are fantastic cars. I owned a 1988 999cc fire with 30k on the clock a couple of years ago and it was great fun - easily able to keep up with a mk2 fiesta 1.3. Had no problems with it and then purchased a 1.1 (pre-fire) 1987 model and it was crap!! The engine was worn so had less power than my 1988 FIRE.

1995 Fiat Uno CL 1.6 from Argentina

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10

Faults:

Overheating problems, brake discs replaced after 80k, springs, exhaust, clutch replaced, gear box, etc, etc.

General Comments:

Pretty fast, and fun to drive, but no comfort details like power steering, electrical windows, air conditioning, etc. Most of the problems started after 80K kms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 1999

1995 Fiat Uno Start Plus 1.4ieS from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.4ieS
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Will not idle when hot for love nor money.

Has healthy appetite for petrol (35mpg).

Thats about it

General Comments:

1.4 engine pulls like a train, even when fully loaded (5+luggage).

Great fun to drive - better than Punto.

Lots of small problems quickly fixed by dealer.

Unusually well built for a Fiat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

14th Jul 2001, 17:37

I wrote this shortly before the car began to get worse. The ECU went haywire and it couldn't idle on its own, and the only way to fix it was a new £500 ECU - I quickly learnt to drive the car and never take my foot off the accelerator - be very careful if you buy a 1.4 injection Uno - I got a Cinquecento about 6 months later.

1995 Fiat Uno Start 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Goes through fan belts like a crazy thing, overheats, many electrical problems, cam belt broke (expensive engine repairs!), wheel bearing failed, track rod end failed, noisy and uncomfortable.

General Comments:

Never again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 1998

1995 Fiat Uno Start 1.0 ie petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.0 ie petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all till now !

General Comments:

Very comfortable car and extremely good perfomance for a 1.0.

Cheap to run and a car full of character although it's ageing now.

I would like to go on to a Punto or Bravo next, they look even more exciting. Fiat has really improved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 1998

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews