1993 Ford Aerostar Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1993 Ford Aerostar XLT from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance298000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Best Car ever built

Faults:

Have replaced air-conditioners.

Brakes, front & back.

Alternator.

Rear Door struts & latch.

General Comments:

This car is so unbelievably reliable, strong and dependable that we just bought another one with 143,000 miles on it.

At 298,000 miles we have put a total of about $6,000 over 9 years.

We hate the fact that we can't buy a 2003 Aerostar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

1993 Ford Aerostar SX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Replaced Raditor, Front Suspenition, Replaced A/C and Alt, Normal Tune ups, tire ect.. I am still recieving 18 miles per gallon of gas.

General Comments:

I would buy again..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

1993 Ford Aerostar XLT 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1336 kilometres
Most recent distance266178 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

An unreliable gas guzzler that has too much charm to give up

Faults:

The Transmission blew 3 times.

Gasket on rear intake manifold needed replacing at 180000km.

Replaced oxygen censor at 185000km.

Changed radiator at 200000km.

Changed windshield wiper motor at 220000km.

Changed rear window wiper motor at 260000km.

Changed alternator at 235000km.

General Comments:

Reliability became serious issue over time.

Break wear seemed a bit quick.

Not very fuel efficient overtime.

Car does not corner all that well.

Suspension is a bit rough.

Cargo capacity is very good.

Excellent for highway cruising/long trips.

Good passing gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2002

27th Feb 2003, 21:57

Hi Steve,

I too have an Aerostar.

It seems funny to hear a man bad mouth a vehicle after he has put over 260k miles on it. Not many people would keep a junker that long unless it had more good points than bad.

My 92 only has 138k on it. I down play its flaws, but seriously praise it overall. From the 92 model thru 97 Ford really got lucky. Myself and many others wish Ford had kept the aerostar line. I'm presently looking for a low mileage/clean 97. Keep hauling.

1993 Ford Aerostar LX 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance164500 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A bargain when I bought that is still going strong!

Faults:

Alternator went out at 159,000 miles.

Replaced Oxygen Sensor, plugs and catalytic converter at 161,250 miles.

Replaced warped rear brake drum at 162,500 miles.

Rear lift support ball stud broke just recently and very hard to find spare hardware.

Driver seat starting to show excessive wear.

General Comments:

Has been very reliable considering mileage that has been put on since I first bought.

Have loaded van and taken baseball and basketball youth teams all over California and Nevada over the years with no problems!

Engine still pulling very strong with average highway mileage of about 21.5 mpg.

Everything on van (a/c, sliding door, elec windows etc..) still working.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

27th Feb 2003, 22:03

I agree, they are all around a darn good vehicle.

A respectable auto uphostler will match the fabric and make repairs for about $160.00. I had mine done 2 years ago.

1993 Ford Aerostar XLT 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

Design outdated. Bad transmissions. Avoid buying

Faults:

Transmission has went out 3X!.

Radio display no longer works. (Broke at about 60,000 miles).

Sliding door won't open. (Broke at 132,000 miles).

Drivers side window motor had to be replaced at about 30,000 miles.

Tough getting to back spark plugs - especially on passenger side.

Difficult to replace or remount engine cover (inside on hump) - hard to realign and seal.

Breaks wear unevenly on front (disks).

Chassis handles like 1-ton truck. this is not a cornering vehicle.

Airbag light flashes all the time.

Gas mileage has suffered with successive transmission installations. Averages at 130,000 miles at about 12 miles per gallon

General Comments:

Tows loads pretty well (when transmission doesn't give out).

Comfortable overall and has good storage.

Good paint on this "XLT" model.

Has all the bells and whistles that come in handy.

Pretty good overall power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

31st Oct 2002, 06:19

Ford Aerostars are NOT meant to tow a trailer unless you get it with a strong transmission which costs extra.

I have a 1992 Aerostar and it has had no problems with the transmission. We also have a Chevy Citation that we use to haul a trailer.

27th Feb 2003, 22:18

In some cases (obviously not all) a transmission cooler needs to be added to properly cool the trans fluid. I have a 92 Aerostar which I use to tow an 18'boat from North Carolina to Florida twice a year (Hickory to Sabastian.) I keep it at or just above the speed limits. Been doing it for 7 years now. I don't force and I don't have an add on trans cooler. 138k on original tranny, still shifts smooth.

15th Apr 2003, 12:41

- sliding door broke at 60,000 km

- alternator changed twice

- I'm twenty-four and I drive my friends all over town. We are pretty rough on it yet it's very reliable

_ the only problem is the inaccessible engine, or else it's the best vehicle ever made.

16th May 2003, 14:59

I've had my 93 Aerostar (read my review) for over 7 yrs and have put almost 80,000 miles since (total of 167,000). Vehicle still runs very strong and get very good mileage for 11 year old van. On a recent round trip to Palm Springs, I averaged about 22-23 miles to the gallon. I have changed the alternator, two rear brake drums, oxy sensors and the muffler over the years, but I thinks this type of maintenance is to be expected. Transmission still shifts smoothly with no leaks and runs strong. Paint still looks very good with all accessories including a/c and pwr windows still working.

9th Jun 2003, 08:43

Purchased the '92 XLT - 8/02. Why? Because company vehicle (a '93 XLT) lasted through 40 different drivers, irregular oil changes, slipshod maintenance, all the way up to 185,000 miles before doing a top-end overhaul. One other thing: The rear-end went out at 114,000 AND 156,000 miles. Replaced rear end twice. However, also replaced rear end in '97 Crown Vic at 54,000 - so don't trust the rears. The '92 has some irritating problems now at 140,000 and those are : Interior lights including dash & cigarette lighter don't work. Rear A/c doesn't work. Front blower works when it wants & then starts blowing defroster vents. Some electrical probs, but that's it - we get 22mpg at 75mph with regular 3,000 miles oil changes using PennZoil High-Mileage 10W-30. ALso - keep your air filter clean/new - it's the best $4 you'll ever spend!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 20 reviews