1979 Ford Bronco Reviews

1979 Ford Bronco XLT 400M from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 400M Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired201000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

They sure don't build them like this any more

Faults:

The canopy leaks when it rains.

The headlights flicker sometimes.

The heater core cracked this winter.

General Comments:

Overall I am extremely impressed with the sheer durability of these old Broncos.

I slapped a used Edelbrock carb, intake, and headers with Flowmasters and it runs like a dream.

The 400M doesn't look like it's ever been rebuilt, which is a little hard to believe since it has over 200,000 miles on it.

I do need to get some lower gears as the 35 inch BFG's have geared it up.

This winter I rescued half a dozen stuck motorists with little trouble.

This Bronco was absolutely thrashed by the previous owner, but still works like a mule. It is the best $1,500 I have ever spent.

My Dad has a beautiful 78 that has also been a great rig.

Last summer my family and I took it on a 100 mile camp trip loaded with gear and pulling a fishing boat loaded with gear. We took it in the hills, and then loaded up and drove home without any problems. The mpg was pretty bad, but not for the era.

These old Fords really put any new truck to shame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2008

1979 Ford Bronco XLT Custom 400 M V8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 400 M V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72056 miles
Most recent distance72872 miles

Summary:

The most rugged 4x4 ever!

Faults:

Nothing!

I mean Nothing!

General Comments:

I own this 1979 Ford Bronco Ranger XLT.

The power unit is a Windsor, 400 Cubic Inch, V8 which delivers an awesome amount of torque to the optional 4X4 transmission.

The interior has all the custom extras including the obligatory 'Captains Chairs', Air Con, Swing out spare wheel and (Blacked) mirrors (to match the black bumpers), removable box cover with integral, tinted windows.

This month (August) the vehicle is being treated to a fresh coat of paint (traditional livery, of course!).

This is probably the finest Bronco on this side of the pond.

This is a classic Bronco from the Ford stable of rugged built trucks and is apparently indestructable.

It's the best!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

17th Apr 2006, 14:06

The best thing about the 1979 Bronco is: NO COMPUTER!

16th Aug 2009, 12:09

The 400 is not from the Windsor family, it is from the Cleveland family. The M stands for modified, they use a taller block and heavier piston than the Cleveland.

1979 Ford Bronco XLT 400M from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 400M Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

The best will never rest, period

Faults:

Rebuilt the motor in 1994.

The rear quarter panels rust on all of these Broncos because of Fords lack of undercoating, and protection. To prevent this from happening, take it to a car wash and clean behind the fender wells. Moisture stays up behind them due to mud not getting washed out, therefore causing rust.

Other than that, this is the best of all the other Broncos ever made. Ford probably knew that too seeing as to how they only made these large bodied, very stout trucks for only 2 years.

General Comments:

Ford should never had quit making these Broncos. I own 5 of them now.

Two 1979 XLTs, one 1981 Custom, one 1984 XLT, and one 1985 Custom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

31st Jan 2003, 09:39

Where to start? My dad and I have done some work to her, but she runs as well as when my grandparents bought her at the dealership. All new plugs and wires, new valve covers, new Holley carburator, and new M.S.D. ignition.

Next we are going to get a little custom body work done and get her repainted. Not to mention new exhaust to make her sound a little more aggressive. Interior is in great shape all original inside. The dash is starting to crack, but come on, the truck is 18 years old!

20th Dec 2004, 20:57

I agree, the full size Bronco's are the Best ever made!

I will spend 10X what I paid to get her back to cherry shape. It is the last of the best ever made!

With TLC they will last forever!

18th Mar 2007, 10:02

Great truck. I have a 79 Bronco and love it. It is one strong powerful rig. Starts right up, no matter how cold it is outside. I may have trouble with my newer car, but my Bronco never gives me any problems. I agree with the rust issue on the back wheel wells. When I replace mine, I plan on Rhino lining the inside of the fenders for extra protection. Great rig, awesome to own, and easy to work on. Hard to find NOS parts though.

1979 Ford Bronco Ranger XLT 351M from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 351M Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Luv 4X4

Summary:

Rugged and unbelievably dependable

Faults:

1. Just replaced the original brake callipers.

2. Typical electrical problems and floating ground problems common in most old Ford trucks I've owned.

3. Replaced the radius arm bushings.

General Comments:

This is, in my opinion, the best Bronco ever built. The 351M engine has great low end torque, the C6 transmission shifts positively, the NP205 transfer case is bullet proof, and the 9" rear and Dana 44 front differentials are bullet-proof.

This is my 2nd '79 - the other one I used off-road with great success and all in stock form. It is a real thrill to drive in the snows we get here in the mountains of upstate New York.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2000

5th Mar 2001, 18:43

I am a 16 year old boy. I own a 1979 Bronco Ranger XLT. Me and my dad shined it up so well, when you saw it you would think you were in 1979! It is the most awesome truck ever! It's amazingly dependible and has great power.

Soon I'm going to rebuild the engine. And I'm going to put fat low-profile tires on it, it's gonna be a low-rider! Hey, I'm Mexican, what do you expect. Thanks FORD, for a great truck! This is an awesome website too, keep up the good work!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews