1985 Ford Bronco Reviews

1985 Ford Bronco XLT 5.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 5.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 miles
Most recent distance301000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Built Ford tough

Faults:

Just needs a little TLC.

General Comments:

December 2011, my friend calls me and asks when am I ready to pick up my Bronco. I ask him how much he wants, and he says he'll give it to me, and he did.

I just drive it once in a while. It runs good, just is thirsty.

I love this truck. Lots of power. The 4 wheel drive is lots of fun.

My friend bought it from the original owner in '89 for 15,000, and put all those miles on it for his work.

Everything still works in it, including the tape deck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2012

1985 Ford Bronco XLT 351 Windsor H.O. from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 351 Windsor H.O. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Best SUV Ford ever made

Faults:

The floor and body have rusted out.

The original motor blew, disintegrating one piston and chewing up others. One piston blew, in chunks, out of the exhaust. It has since gotten a new motor.

Rusty.

General Comments:

Best car I ever had. It is like riding in luxury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2008

1985 Ford Bronco CUSTOM 351W 4 BARREL from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 351W 4 BARREL Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Great foul weather vehicle

Faults:

Started having problems with the emission system carboning up.

General Comments:

This truck was almost impossible to get stuck, but returned poor gas mileage. I had positraction front and rear, along with big tires. I've towed many other brands of 4x4 out of trouble with that truck! I had it in Maine and Minnesota winters and it loved the snow! As far as I know, the guy that bought it from me could still be driving it. That big 4 barrel carburetor sure sucked the gas!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2007

1985 Ford Bronco 300 cid from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 300 cid Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The bottom line was I was tremendously happy when I got rid of it

Faults:

I didn't keep track of when various items broke and required replacement however I have listed these in chronological order as best I remember.

Radiator began to leak and required replacement.

Ignition box died and required replacement.

Transmission modulator failed.

Distributor drive gear failed as a result of the rolled pin which held it in place breaking.

Drive shaft universal joint failed.

Engine spun the number six rod bearing. All other bearings were in good condition.

Air Conditioner compressor failed.

Water pump failed.

A/C evaporator failed.

Rear axle bearing failed.

Alternator failed.

General Comments:

So many parts failed on this vehicle that I jokingly told people that I had nearly rebuilt it by the time I got rid of it.

It was grossly underpowered in my opinion and gas mileage averaged around 14 mpg.

I have since owned another Bronco which I drove for several years with only minor problems.

It was comfortable to ride in and drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2006

1985 Ford Bronco 5.8L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.8L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Very Sturdy and dependable truck!

Faults:

My heater core has only recently developed a crack in it, so as we drive her, the cab is slowly filled with radiator fumes.

When we use the defroster, the fumes fog up the windows worse then they already are, same with using the vent.

It leaks oil, and once a week during the cooler months of the year, we have to put a quart of oil in it, during the warmer months in the year, we go through more oil.

My seats are the original seats and are worn.

Four Wheel Drive doesn't work very well because of the Universal Joints.

I've had to replace the electrical sending unit.

The coil has been replaced 3 times since I've owned it.

Electric motor for back window is shot and cannot be replaced by me.

General Comments:

Outstanding overall truck. Very sturdy and long lasting even with all the miles on it.

Very large cargo space, lots of room for the kids.

Taller then most vehicles out on the road now, which means I see over almost everyone.

Stock 1" lift kit raises it even more.

Handles great with 31 inch tires on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1985 Ford Bronco XLT 4.9 300 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9 300 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carFord Beretta

Summary:

A great off-road truck

Faults:

Well I had put my Bronco back on the road after it had been sitting for about 6 months. I drove it all summer long, and in about October the back rear blew the pinion seal. I replaced the rear and then the wheel bearings in the front rear blew apart and caused my rotor to over heat causing my Warn hubs to melt. Other than that I cannot complain because it has treat me very well for the abuse I put that poor truck through.

General Comments:

Speed isn't my Bronco's best friend. It gets up and goes, but sometimes when I want more power it just doesn't have it. It rides very rough, but it is quite comfortable to me, but exhaust smell is bad when you have the back window down and you are driving down the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

20th Mar 2005, 10:01

The only problem I ever had was when we drive off road is that they like to rollover.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews