1983 Ford Capri Reviews

1983 Ford Capri S 5-speed 2.0 SOHC Pinto from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Pinto Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Cheap, fun and under-rated

Faults:

Steering rack went at 70000.

Clutch went at 75000.Ballast resister went and kept blowing Condenser and/or Points so I converted ignition to early Sierra electronic.

General Comments:

Completely wonderful classic car. By the time I had finished with it it was perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

1st Nov 2002, 15:12

I've had mine a month now and I completely agree. A 5spd Capri 2.0S makes a fantastic every-day classic. Parts are cheap, it looks cool, is relatively fast, very enjoyable on wet roundabouts, in fact I like everything about this car.

Basically a great performance/economy balance and you can pick one up for at least a grand less than an equivalent 2.8.

31st May 2005, 16:29

Until recently I had a 1981 2.0GL, it had only one owner and 60000m on the clock, I fitted a Kent Cams RL30 cam and Ashley big-bore exhaust and it finally gave up with just over 187000m on it... i payed £700 for it and owned it 9 years, it never broke down or went wrong, I serviced it myself and do I regret not keeping it?...yes I do!!!...if anyone wants a cheap classic car, go buy one, you'll never regret it!!!

1983 Ford Capri Injection 2.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carFord Capri 1.6 Laser

Summary:

A rear wheel drive sports coupe! The only real sports car ever made - BUY ONE

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Great car, truely ageless good looks, the Capri looks better than ANY new car I've seen for sure.

Performance? The V6 pulls from any revs, sounds great, really cheap to buy parts for, reliable, never broken down on me that's for sure.

A rear wheel drive car. What can I say? Great handling in the dry, in the wet dab your foot too hard on the power and the back end slides out - perfect - great fun.

A car that'll turn heads, and look great however old it is - BUY ONE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

6th Dec 2000, 18:06

I have a 2.8i too. I brought it the last month. The man who sold it to me didn't know what he was doing. I had been persuading him for one year to sell me the car. I have had a Capri MKI 2.0 GT, Escort MKI & MKII, Minis, etc., but the best is the 2.8i.

1983 Ford Capri 2.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

A great sports family saloon

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A great car. Very fast, great handling, cheap to get and keep on the road. Loads of boot space and looks the business!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2000

1983 Ford Capri S 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112345 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A bloody great toy

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The car you always promised yourself? Still as true now as it was then, boy racers or old fogeys can have ball crushing rear out fun. Just watch that power in the rain. A car that really tests your driving ability, not for the faint hearted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2000

1983 Ford Capri S 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Faults:

Recon gearbox 9 years ago! (1990)

New clutch at approx 130K+ miles.

Nothing else 'major'.

General Comments:

Reliable, bullet proof car and budget friendly! Ideal for the home mechanic, even if you've no engine knowledge.

Forget its 'boy-racer' image, this car puts many modern cars to shame!

Buy one! :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 1999

11th Feb 2001, 15:38

Aghh - a real car - I had one nearly 20 years ago and kept it for five years - what a car! Fun, reliable, fast and full of style - truely the best car I will ever own. Look after it - I wish I could have one now.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews