1990 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.6 from North America

Summary:

Great reliable transporter

Faults:

Door handle came loose.

Light in speedometer out.

General Comments:

Police Interceptor model used as Fire Chief Car.

A battle ready tank. High likelihood of surviving most impacts. Not likely for the other driver.

Has held up well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

1990 Ford Crown Victoria GL 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Built like an army tank with high economy and durability

Faults:

Brake pads wear out more often than most cars.

Fairly noisy.

Full coverage insurance was expensive.

General Comments:

This car is built like a small army tank. We abused the car terribly, using it to haul heavy loads, drove it fast on bumpy roads. It held up unbelieveably. This car never broke down once in 97,000 miles.

Like a 4-wheel drive in snow. Lots of power, comfortable front seats, outstanding hatchback, could carry 4x 8 plywood. Hit a deer at 40MPH, replaced light (not grill) and it ran excellent.

Actually, the best car I have ever owned for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

4th Jan 2009, 18:51

Can't be a 4 banger, it's got a 302 5.0 I would think, like all Crowns.

6th Jan 2009, 02:54

Ha ha, four cylinder! And a 'hatchback'? This is a Station Wagon, if it is a Crown Victoria - most definitely not a 'hatchback'.

8th Mar 2009, 22:57

Wow, never heard of a 4 cylinder Crown Vic. 4 cylinders won't be able to move this car LOL. Most likely he just made a mistake.

1990 Ford Crown Victoria LX 5.0 V8 from North America

Summary:

Tough, reliable car that won't die

Faults:

Electric power door locks all failed, one by one.

Electric power windows failed, one by one.

Each is expensive! $100 used, or $250 new!!!

General Comments:

Great car! Rides smooth and powerful. Still could spin the tires at 200,000+ miles.

Comfortable, reliable, strong. Full frame, rear wheel drive car. Just as reliable as Japanese cars, but heavy duty.

Gas mileage: around 18 city, 25 highway.

Easy to back up and park, since it's boxy body lets you see all corners easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2005

29th Dec 2005, 13:27

Regarding the power windows:

There are kits available to repair components of the window.

The motor and gear mechanism is about $60. The gear mechanism rebuild kit is $20. Within the gear mechanism, there are three plastic bearings that often fail with heat and time, this set costs less that $10. It is not difficult to overhaul any of these parts. Learning to do the first one makes the rest go easily and only common wrenches and drivers are needed.

My experience with with these cars has been positive over the last twenty years. I have had good service from my Crown Victorias (89, 90, 00) and Grand Marquis (83, 04) cars.

It is my hope Ford brings the wagon back one day.

1990 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0L V8 from North America

Summary:

Smooth highway cruiser

Faults:

The water pump needed replacing at 129K, and the mufflers and tailpipes at 131K. I had a minor electrical problem with a screw in the cigarette lighter that was shorting the battery, but that was fixed too.

General Comments:

Excellent car with good mileage for the size (25 highway, 18 city).

Very comfortable and safe. Plenty of room for 6 adults and luggage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

1990 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0 from North America

Summary:

It has some quirks, but it's a decent car

Faults:

The alternator shorted out at around 152,000 miles.

The power steering system leaks.

I had to replace the smog pump (that's what the parts place called it) at 160,000 miles.

The driver's side window doesn't work.

The windshield washer only works when the high beam lights are on.

It stalls when first started each day.

The seats are worn.

General Comments:

This car was in a minor accident just before I purchased it. I only paid $400. I've put about $500 into it. It's running rough and stalling infrequently. I'm not sure if I'm going to repair it or sell it. Overall I've more than gotten my money out of it.

It's quite comfortable. There is plenty of room. It's nice for hauling around my children and groceries.

It is long and difficult to park. The blind spots seem larger than with other vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

28th Dec 2004, 23:36

My 1989 Ford Crown Victoria has 188,000 miles on it, runs very good, but after running a short while the check engine light comes on, what could be the problem?

22nd Jan 2005, 15:50

When the check engine light comes on, does the vehicle loose speed? Everytime I hit around 60mph, the light would turn on, and there'd be an automatic decelleration. The light would turn off once I stepped off the gas and coasted to around 45mph. Then one day, the radiator just died, with coolant vapours pouring out from under the hood. I had the radiator replaced (about $220 incl labour). After this, no more check engine light issue. Could be that a lack of proper cooling was causing the sluggishness (if this is the case). Have the cooling system checked. This could be the issue.