2005 Ford EcoSport XLT 2.0 from Argentina

Summary:

Great city car for rougher S. Am roads

Faults:

Door seals had to be reinstalled on back doors. Did it myself, took 5 min. Absolutely nothing else has gone wrong. Had the car in for service, but no repairs in 2 years of ownership.

General Comments:

Great little car for urban driving. Sits high so you can see in traffic, and high ground clearance gets it through rough streets with no problems or grounding out. Engine (2.0) is peppy and zips me in and out of tight traffic spots.

Highway driving OK, but suffers by being a small car so you feel the road bumps and wind. Anything over 140km/hr just doesn't feel comfortable. Position of gas peddle can be tiring on one's foot on longer trips and it would be nice to have cruse control.

This is the first small car I've owned in 20 years, and I love it. Perfect for the traffic in Buenos Aires, and high enough off the ground to handle the rougher country roads in the pampas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

2005 Ford EcoSport XLT 2.0 from Venezuela

Summary:

Built for the road, excellent results

General Comments:

This SUV is comfortable, low cost and excellent power with a 2.0 litres motor with the the most value for the buck and confort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

2004 Ford EcoSport XLS Zetec Rocam 1.6 litre from Chile

Summary:

An underpowered gas guzzler with little room for cargo.

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with the car in the short time I owned it.

General Comments:

I bought this car primarily because of its high ground clearance. It also looked nice.

It was quite pleasant to drive, but did not seem very powerful. I liked the gearbox, and the steering was OK, but the digital instruments were impossible to read in normal light. Moreover, although the outside rearview mirrors were very large, they did not have a good field of view.

There was ample space for four persons, but very little room for anything else. The rear seats still occupied a lot of space even when folded down, and were not removable.

I got rid of this car quicker than any other car I have ever owned. Why? Because I expected 13-14 kilometres per litre on the highway, and it never gave me more than 10.5 (I kept very accurate mileage records). Moreover, its fuel capacity was only 45 litres.I would probably have kept it, however, if it had a diesel engine, like the magnificent diesel Citro├źn Picasso I now have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2005

2004 Ford EcoSport 2.0 from Mexico

Summary:

Build quality is terrific

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, except the stereo is pretty cheezy.

There was not one single defect, as delivered from the factory.

Build quality is first class.

General Comments:

Drove the Ecosport up to Canada from Mexico and spent the winter here; so far so good.

Getting parts might be tough up here in Canada, or in the U.S.

The oil filter used is totally unknown here; luckily I brought two along from Mexico.

The leather interior was worth every penny of the extra cost: the leather is smooth as butter.

Has lots of power, at least with the manual transmission. Quiet cruising, at least for a 4-cylinder.

Rear seat room is not for adults, though.

This SUV gets appreciative looks wherever we go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

2004 Ford EcoSport XLT 2.0 gas from Costa Rica

Summary:

It is a good car

Faults:

It is so strong, and has a problem with some vibration on the front wheels.

General Comments:

This car in general is comfortable and it is good purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

2004 Ford EcoSport 1.6 from Mexico

Summary:

Fun car for a low price

Faults:

Had to replace The spark plug wires after the 10,000 kms services. The cost of the replacement wires to high. The average cost of a wire set is around $ 80.00 usd and the cost of the wire set for this car is around $ 400.00 usd, a bit expensive!

The engine has become a little bit noise.

General Comments:

It is an excellent buy for low budget.

It handles like a car and the engine is very powerful, but not very economic in gas usage.

Fun car to drive.

Had to work more on the finish of the interiors, poor quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2004

17th Sep 2004, 08:30

We also bought an Ecosport in Mexico; we agree with what this reviewer says: good power from the engine, but poor gas mileage. Fun to drive, smooth, handles like a car.

I disagree about the "roominess". This is a SMALL vehicle, with very little storage room inside. We had to buy a roof-top carrier just to travel on a short vacation, because inside there is very little storage space.

Dealer experience was okay, except for "extorting" another $10,000 pesos from us for the "mediocre-quality" leather seats that they added just before delivery. If you think car dealers in the U.S. are unscrupulous & underhanded, wait until you experience the Mexican version!

2004 Ford EcoSport lxt 2.0 lt. 4 cylinder 16 V from Venezuela

Summary:

Good choice for low budget

Faults:

Doors are not closing in the first attempt, some noise can be heard from the tailgate.

General Comments:

This is a semi SUV, it does handle like a car, but it have the capability to take some others places a car couldn't. The gas consume is very very low, so it keeps on with the low budget idea.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2004