2006 Ford Escape Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance189 miles
Previous carFord Escape

Summary:

Be cautious

Faults:

The transmission hose became detached, drained all the transmission fluid and locked up the vehicle at 189 miles new. Dealer has had the new Hybrid for over a week and isn't readily returning phone calls. Say they will "replace" the transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2006

5th May 2006, 14:13

Ouch. Sorry to hear that. At least you were under warranty. You can expect Ford to have your vehicle for a couple of weeks... maybe longer. Even with little things, my dealer keeps my Focus unnecessarily long. This is most definitely due to engines becoming more and more advanced. Takes a lot of diagnostic work now.

13th May 2006, 22:31

Anyone who mentions transmission problems or lack of same should also mention what KIND of transmission they have, what engine is attached to that transmission, whether the majority of miles is CITY or HIGHWAY, year of manufacture, and whether they consider rebuilding of the transmission a normal or abnormal occurence and what distance.

24th May 2006, 23:08

I was under the impression that all Escape Hybrids came with the same type of transmission, is that not correct?

18th Sep 2006, 22:41

You are right... the CVT tranny. Bought an Escape Hybrid a few months backs for the wife. Over 6500 and nothing wrong with the transmission. Readers (and posters alike) have to consider that a lot of these owners have experienced isolated problems. I mean, come on, 150 miles and your Escape's tranny fluid drained? I'm no mechanic, but sounds to me like something loose at assembly or even delivery...

6th Nov 2006, 11:58

I understand that the Hybrid 4WD does not function in reverse as the rear axle is electric driven only.

Story I was told is that the state of NJ bought 150 for park and wildlife rangers and returned them all as they could not back up in heavy snow.

6th Nov 2006, 20:32

Can't back up?? That story makes no sense. An urban folk tale like that requires at least a website URL for support.

2nd Jan 2007, 22:29

"Reverse is handled by battery power, which is fine under most circumstances, but I occasionally parked it nose-down on a slight incline, and no matter how hard I pressed the throttle, the Escape dawdled back up at an unwavering speed. The owner's manual says it is limited to 35 km/h in reverse and is electric-only "in most cases", but I couldn't get anywhere near that limit, and the gasoline engine would not kick in"

http://www.autos.ca/car-test-drives/test-drive-2006-ford-escape-hybrid/

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Faults:

The Ford Escape Hybrid is uncomfortable and has a bumpy ride. Furthermore, the mileage I've been getting is below their estimates. My mileage is 24.8 mpg versus the 30 + Ford boasts about.

General Comments:

The car does not handle well in rain or snow. I've had numerous occasions where the back of the car has dove-tailed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2006

14th Apr 2006, 22:19

Fish-tail NOT dove-tail... jeesh... sure you can drive?

25th Jun 2006, 17:28

In addition to the maintenance items mentioned above, your mileage also depends on how the vehicle is driven. Hybrid vehicle mileage is best in the city, where stop-and-go driving enables the regenerative braking system to recharge the batteries. At low city speeds, the electric motors are only in use. At highway speeds the gasoline engine is only in use.

17th Jun 2007, 02:25

Engines are forced to run rich when cold to warm up quicker. Engines run more efficient when warm. Running a cold engine for a few moments at a time is bad on the engine. Therefore, they want the engine to be efficient and protect the longevity. It will also kill your exhaust system if you run it cold for short bursts.

3rd Jul 2007, 02:24

Also, I just noticed, that this was written with only 3000 miles on the clock. Generally all cars will not be up to spec on fuel consumption during the break in period which is usually 3000 or 5000 miles. Once you give your engine time to properly break in, there should be an improvement in the mpg's.

And also in respond to the handling issues, I live in one of the rainiest parts of the USA with rain about every other day. I drive everyday in our FWD 2.3 Escape with no problems in the rain at all. In fact the only problem I have experienced with the car handlingwise is torque steer. It handles OK for a SUV running on FWD IMO. We do get some light powder snow that usually turns into the slush after the first day. Again I had no problems as long as I was driving for the conditions.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews