1984 Ford Escort Reviews

1984 Ford Escort Ghia 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles

Summary:

Nothing remarkable, but easy to live with

Faults:

Rust resulted in large portions of the car having to be welded, including: sills, front crossmember, battery tray and rear valance.

Engine would sometimes refuse to start when warm, never fixed.

Original gearbox had failed and been replaced with a 4 speed unit from a Fiesta!

Hints that the head gasket may have been about to go.

General Comments:

Reasonably light and responsive and so felt quite quick, especially as my first car.

It didn't handle very well mind, especially with the very cheap tyres I fitted to it!

It was already old and quite tired when I got it, but the interior was OK and it generally got me from A-B without too much fuss, so it was OK.

It was a car I had always wanted, ever since seeing it new at the 1984 motorshow at the NEC, but then by 1996 it wasn't quite as special anymore!

I don't regret buying it though, at least it wasn't the typical small engined low-spec supermini most people end up with. I even had central locking, a digital clock and 4 speakers! Such luxury!

Most of the chrome trim was even still attached to the car... :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2009

1984 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance77936 miles

Summary:

Would not recommend this year model

Faults:

Transmission had to be replaced twice.

Front wiring harness for ignition and lights had to be replaced once.

Had to replace neoprene timing belts 4 times over 77K miles.

Carbureted engine would not work correctly if tuned by independent repair shop. Tried several.

After last transmission replacement, faulty hose blew from transmission cooler and spewed transmission fluid onto maniold, causing fire and wiring damage.

Subsequently sold car for value of tires.

General Comments:

I sold the car the year the repair costs exceeded it's book value.

When new it ran very nicely, and was very economical to drive.

After each passing year, it became more expensive to maintain, and required more frequent service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

2nd Aug 2006, 10:52

Well it was just bad luck, but it was probably the model. Tip: Ford is usually a good brand to choose for a car or truck.

3rd Aug 2006, 00:06

Yes the best car to drive in Michigan or especially Dearborn. If your drive any other car than a Ford, GM, or Chrysler, consider yourself toast in Michigan.

1984 Ford Escort LX 1.6L V4 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L V4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 miles
Most recent distance330000 miles

Summary:

My car and I have a love/hate relationship

Faults:

Replaced engine.

Replaced power steering.

Springs broke in passenger seat.

Dash cracked.

Alternator replaced.

Starter replaced.

Door handles replaced.

Etc.

General Comments:

I named my little Escort Rags, after the dog that was always trying to commit suicide on Spin City because as much as my car just wants to die, we won't let it.

Rags has been a first great car. It's almost a miracle if you consider that we found it in a tree grove before we brought it back from the dead. It's been through 4 used engines in the 3 years I've had it. Winter mornings are a little rough when I'm trying to start it, but only if I don't remember to plug it into the house to keep it warm. I love it when it's working, but I hate it with a passion when it's not. When Rags and I are out on the road, I like to pretend I'm a NASCAR driver, but it's perfectly safe because we're not going nearly as fast. I would definately recommend this as a first car for a teenage driver, but only if his or her parent is a good mechanic. If I would've had to pay for every problem Rags had, well, I'd be in debtor's prison.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 2003

1984 Ford Escort L 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance192000 miles

Summary:

You can't go wrong with an escort

Faults:

Radiator Hose split.

Horn Burned out.

General Comments:

I bought this car when I was 16 for $500.I named my escort Blueberry.

The Escort is not a fast car, but it is a car you can depend on. When I got it the dashboard was cracked and the interior reaked of oil. The exterior had tree sap all over it. I Had to sand the tree sap off and then add 3 layers of wax.

The suspension was horrible when I got it. The escort is very easy to work on. When I had to replace the suspension it only took me two hours.

She is a beast to start in the mornings, and might stall, if you're not careful.

I've taken many trips in Blueberry and I have to say If you want a cheap dependable car go for the escort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

1st Dec 2003, 18:56

Yes, I agree I've had the same problems with my 1985 Escort L, I'm wondering if by chance you knew where the horn location was so I could replace it, as when I hit the horn it simply makes a clicking sound, I fixed the fuse and checked the switches, so it must be the horn.

9th May 2004, 10:32

They have a horn for your escort on (EBAY) for $ 18 bucks.

1st Jul 2005, 08:24

I like Escorts. If you haven't sold yours already, I am interested in buying. Email me at i_can_do_that2005@yahoo.com.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews