1990 Ford Escort Eclipse 1.3 HCS from UK and Ireland


Great car, cheap to buy run and insure, and looks cool


Oil leak from the sump (not very serious).

Central locking to rear drivers side door.

General Comments:

Great car, already done a lot of miles and I put another 10k on it.

Oil leaks from the sump, apparently because of how close the exhaust sits, 10 years of going from hot to cold have corroded the metal.

Respectibly fast for the engine size.

Nice thick tyres, holds the road well.

Engine rattles bad, can't be fixed easily (not the tappet's).

Reliable and great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

3rd Apr 2005, 16:46

I have run several escorts and agree.

21st Feb 2007, 09:38

I have one and what a beast of a little car, it goes alright as well.

1990 Ford Escort XR3i 1.6i from Netherlands


Nice, sporty, cheap car


New shock absorbers, front.

Brake pads.

Fuel relays.


General Comments:

This is my 3rd XR3i. When I first got my license, I had one from '83, and shortly after that, an XR3 '81. They were both pretty worn out, but they looked the part.

Other cars of mine are.. BMW 315, Alfa Guilietta, Golf GTi, BMW 520i, 2 Opel Ascona GT's, Opel Vectra SRi, Golf GTi, Sierra 2.0 GT, and now this one.

This is the only car that handles half decent; the rest were crap, including 2 GTi's. Also, this is the only car I've had with normal fuel economy.

I love my XR3i, and I wish I hadn't bothered buying all those other cars.. now again we are one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

1990 Ford Escort LX from North America


A good beginning car


I replaced brake pad on front passenger side.

I replaced battery when it went dead.

I still need to fix the valve cover gasket because it is screwed on too tightly and leaks oil.

Belt gets in the way of getting Pizza bags in and out of car on deliveries.

The light behind Radio display does not work.

General Comments:

I like my 1990 Ford Escort LX!

It gets me around, it's nice and compact, and the clutch is very forgiving! This is a good car to learn how to drive a stick on!

I hated Fords before I bought this one, and now I love them!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

1990 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America


Not reliable at all


Transmission joint problems. Replaced right joint on steering wheel.

Left wheel ball bearing crashed and replaced.

Cylinder head had from manufacturing small cracks/imperfections. The head gasket blew because of this and it took four days of work and 500$ to fix myself. Bought a head gasket kit and tools.

The seats aren't very comfortable.

Cooling system blew four times. Had radiator leaks, water pump leaks, and cooling parts joints. Air heater blew and lost coolant again.

If it's raining outside for few days, gallons of water are accumulating on the floor of front/rear seats.

Spent $2200 on this car and other $2500 in one and half year for parts and labor repairs.

General Comments:

I will never buy any US car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

6th Sep 2004, 14:39

Would you like to sell the car? If so I am willing to buy. I am living in Jamaica and you can reach me at granville808@hotmail.com.

1990 Ford Escort LX wagon 1.9L from North America


Unsafe at any speed


Everything started going wrong at about 32,000 miles.

It constantly needs new tires because the alignment always goes out of whack. You feel every single bump in the road and it's hard to keep control.

It has stalled everywhere from in the middle of intersections to cruising down the highway at 75 MPH.

I've had a tire literally fly off while I was driving 30 MPH, spinning me out of control.

Had to get a new computer installed because the old one would force the car to stall for no reason whatsoever while driving.

It couldn't handle driving in the rain. Even when cruising at 40 MPH, if it was raining the engine would try to die on me, making a very jerky driving experience.

I have been left abandoned by this vehicle on the side of the road about a dozen times. No exaggeration.

The door seals got all warped around 40,000 miles making it very drafty, especially in winter.

General Comments:

I am upset to see positive reviews of this car because no one, under any circumstances, should get near this automobile. I am surprised I made it out alive after 7 years of driving this thing.

I constantly had a knot in my stomach whenever I drove it, because at any moment something could go horribly wrong. I kept a deathgrip on the steering wheel, my knuckles always white with tension.

Obviously it has no pickup, but I don't care about that, and the one good thing I can say is that it got excellent gas mileage.

I have only seen two other cars on the road of this type in my seven years of driving. It's no wonder they're such a rarity.

This car was never anything, but a noisy and risky driving experience. I would not take a free brand new escort.

I will never drive a Ford again. No company that can produce a lemon like this should be taken seriously.

If for any reason you are looking to buy this car, even for $5, please do not. Your life will be at risk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

1st Dec 2003, 16:14

Actually the newer Escorts ('97-'02) are very reliable well-made cars for a decent price. We used them in our rental fleet and they never gave us trouble, even the ones over 100k miles (which we still rented out, which says something about these cars). Seriously, you should test-drive one. Give Ford another chance.

9th Feb 2005, 19:55

Great review, I couldn't stop laughing! I owned a 1990 escort so I know where you are coming from.

28th Jan 2008, 18:00

So... I own a 1990 Ford Escort Wagon LX. I have had some problems... but my car is at 265k right now and still running :D.

I've taken very good care of it for many years. Most cars don't last that long.. so I am proud of it for lasting so long.