1994 Ford Escort LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Could be worse!


Engine cutting out at traffic lights.

Failed NCT (MOT) with high emissions.

General Comments:

Cutting out at the lights was real pain in the rear end and trying unsuccessfully to get it fixed by proper Ford mechanics who played around with various sensors... I had to take matters into my own hands by adjusting the idle level to be slightly higher than it was... so now it never cuts out!

Other than drinking petrol, but anyone buying an older Ford doesn't buy them for fuel economy, it's not the worst of cars. Hopefully my tune won't change after another few thousand miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

22nd May 2001, 02:48

Re: cutting out at traffic lights - my car has done exactly the same on and off for the last 18 months! After repeated attempts to get it fixed I gave up on garage mechanics and learned to live with it - at least it always starts first time!

1994 Ford Escort Basic 1.3 from UK and Ireland


Nothing special, but a cheap, nice looking, and reliable family car


58,000: New starter motor needed.

Passenger door rusty all round the edges.

Few small areas of rust, especially the arches.

Electrics giving minor problems: clock light sometimes doesn't work and the hand-brake warning light is always on.

General Comments:

Cabin basic and too much plastic, but tough enough.

Acceleration is pathetic, but good top end speed and brakes.

Easy to maintain and cheap parts.

Nice looking and good handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

1994 Ford Escort L 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland


A pile of junk that should never have come off the production line!


Basically what things haven't gone wrong with this car? It is poorly built and has a problem of cutting out when it is idling. There is rust under the doors and under the arches, and it is only an M registered car!

General Comments:

It's a 1.6 liter 16 valve car that kicks out a feeble 89 brake horse power! Performance isn't outstanding either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

1994 Ford Escort GT 1.8 from North America


Fast, economical, and good looking!



General Comments:

Pretty good acceleration, and pep for a 4 cylinder!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

1994 Ford Escort GT 1.8 DOHC from North America


A great, quick, economical car, and fun to drive


Clutch and transmission went out @ 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

Despite my problems with the car, I like this little agile car. It's fairly quick, 0-60mph in about 7.5 seconds. I don't like the power seat belts, or the annoying beeping when the doors are open.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

28th Feb 2001, 12:12

Your clutch and transmission probably went out due to the way you drive the car.

The annoying dinging bothered me as well, I disconnected the wires that go to the switch that the door hits when it closes, this fixed that problem.

4th Mar 2001, 00:53

A quick light compact car with a punch to give these Honda's something to watch out for. If you know what you are doing with your Escort it is a quite fast car, not crap.

7th Mar 2001, 19:52

I just purchased a 95 Escort GT and am really enjoying it! I was originally looking for a "regular" Escort with the 1.9 liter engine but was really impressed with the 1.8's performance as well as the 4 wheel disc brakes when I took it for a test drive. The only thing that concerns me is that it revs around 3000 RPM in 5th gear at approximately 60 MPH. I wonder if this is normal... The higher RPM's make for a little noisier ride at highway speeds than other cars.

Overall, I think the car is great. It handles very well and shifts smoothly.

1994 Ford Escort LX 1.9 4 cylinder from North America


It's okay since it runs smoothly except for when it cuts out at red lights


It eats and drinks up all the oil.

Too small.

It makes a loud noise when it accelerates.

It takes forever to accelerate.

When driving over 50mph on a highway, it feels loose and wobbly.

My air conditioner doesn't work even though it's only 6 years old.

My engine cuts out when I wait at long stop light, might be something wrong with fuel pump.

General Comments:

Other than that, it's a great car for someone who's young and a first-time buyer.

Also, great for someone who's single with no kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

13th Oct 2008, 02:29

I also had the problem with my Ford Escort LX. It cut out at the red light. It turned out that one of the hoses (L-shape) had a hole in it, the area where it bends. I put in a good used replacement from an auto salvage.

I did most of it myself and car idles great, about a year later.

Total cost: $9.00.