2009 Ford F150 XLT 5.4 from North America




Power steering was stiff from factory. Power steering rack was gone. Fixed it immediately.

General Comments:

The best ford that I have ever owned since I started driving them in 2004. Love the new interior and exterior design.. OMG it's fabulous!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2009

2009 Ford F150 XLT Chrome SuperCrew 6.5 box 5.4 from North America


How big is the F150 gonna get?


The only thing went wrong was a faulty electric trailer controller.

Find the A/C is not cold enough when idling, but OK once the motor is revved up. I'm guessing because of the engine cooling fan has to turn faster for the A/C condenser to work properly.

General Comments:

I had the 05 F150, on which I found the ride not as stiff as this one, but for towing this one is a lot better because it's more stable; no trailer sway compare to my 05 F150.

The 6 speed tranny has more torque and the cabin is a lot quieter than the 05 F150 I had. Even when downshifting, it's quiet.

Because of the long wheelbase, it doesn't turn too sharp.

Get the back up camera, it's worth it!

Wish that you could lock out the overdrive on tow mode, as it still goes on overdrive!

Interior dash could have used better quality than hard plastic.

Back seat room is stupidly big! Which I love.

Should have a locking gas door, because there is no more gas cap and it makes it very easy for thieves.

Needs more back underseat compartments. Back seat should fold down also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2009

26th Jan 2011, 20:15

I have a 2010 F150 SuperCrew platinum package truck with the 5.4 engine. I love everything about this truck from the way it drives to the room of the SuperCrew cab.

The one and only thing I have found odd with this truck, is the fuel mileage.

My wife drove our truck from our home in Kentucky to Michgan to visit family. She averaged about 16.5 MPG on this trip. The odd thing is around home we get between 17 and 19 MPG.

Can anyone explain this to me?

2009 Ford F150 XLT 4.6L 3V from North America


Built Ford Tough!


Nothing serious but a few little annoyances.

- Rear Supercab doors rattle a little bit. If it continues to get worse, I may take it in to get it fixed.

- Power/Volume knob on the stereo is loose to the point of rattling sometimes.

- Excessive tire wear for brand new truck

- The gauge cluster is dark and difficult to see on a bright day.

General Comments:

The truck drives and handles great. It has very comfortable seats and is very roomy for a supercab. It steers great and drives very quiet. Gets pretty good gas mileage for a full-size truck (mine meets EPA estimates), but at the expense of quick acceleration (does not feel like 292 hp). However, it does tow a 4000 lb. boat/trailer very well.

Overall it is a great vehicle as I knew that it would be. I am a proud owner so far and would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2009

2009 Ford F150 XL 4.6 from North America


I love the truck so far


In the additional equipment it is supposed to have a manual lumbar support, it is not in my seat. They are checking on it.

General Comments:

The cabin is HUGE. That is the main reason for this purchase. My kids are not getting smaller.

The fuel mileage is awesome for a truck of this size. It has exceeded the window sticker rating. A trip to Seattle totaled over 22 mpg highway. That? From a Super Crew? Amazing.

The interior is quiet too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2009

2009 Ford F150 XLT 5.4 from North America


Jury is still out due to A/C issue


Back window motor and cable broke, window slid down inside door.

A/C not cooling very well. Fan blows warm air even when set on recirculate within cabin.

General Comments:

Truck is quite comfortable and roomy.

Truck has lots of power and handles well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2009

24th Dec 2009, 06:32

If you ask any mechanic about Ford AC's system, they'll tell that it's nearly impossible to kill on older cars and trucks. Reading this review and others on newer Ford vehicles scares me. I've driven a 1988 Grand Marquis and never once had to repair or recharge the AC. I'd sell your newer truck and look for an older Ford. They are more reliable and easier to work on. Newer automobiles are dealer money makers.

18th Jun 2011, 15:45

The A/C in my XLT S/Cab works great when it's less than 85 outside. However, if it sits for any time in the hot Florida sun, where 90+ temps are common, it simply never cools down to my satisfaction. The dealer says it's within spec, but a quick web search seems to indicate that this is a common complaint among newer F150 owners (09-11).

I've always been a Ford guy but I'm very disappointed in Ford over this. I have a 2001 Mustang and a 2007 Taurus that both blow ice cold and will freeze you out in no time, but that's not the case with this truck. Unless Ford can fix this issue, it may be my last F150.

2009 Ford F150 FX4 5.4 from North America


Night and day difference compared to the 2005 F150


Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The new 2009 Ford F150 4x4 FX4 is a night and day difference compared to the 2005 Ford 4x4 FX4 I owned.

The ride is smoother, more quiet, more powerful, bigger cab.

Steering is stiffer than the 2005, but I've learned to like it better. The best way to describe it; it's like driving a sports car. I didn't need a new truck, but the test drive sold me, it's like driving on air!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2009

6th Jun 2010, 11:40

The 2004-2008 F150 is a 10 times better truck than the 2009-2010 F150! Ford cheapened it down! Made it lighter, cut costs. The only way the ride is improved is Ford installed cheap rubber mounts on the cab mounts!