2006 Ford F250 Super Duty Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Ford F250 Super Duty XL 6.0L turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.0L turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance6250 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

This is a dream truck for anyone who likes their cars to be useful.

Faults:

Still in the break-in period, so nothing has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

I have the extended cab, XL version with the 6L diesel motor and a manual transmission. It's absolutely a tremendous truck as it's taken everything I've thrown at it without a hitch (had 2,500lb of stone in the back at one point - the bed was a little lower, but the motor didn't even notice!).

It's a beautiful truck and a lot of fun to drive, though I had a hard time finding one that was a manual transmission, but still had a CD player in it.

It has gobs of power (see above) and stops on a dime since the brakes are sized to stop the truck with 12,500 lb load in tow.

I've kept records of every fill-up since I've bought the truck and I've averaged 17.2 miles per gallon, including over 18 on a couple of long highway trips at 75+ MPH. If I was only going 60 it would have done better than that.

To be a little balanced, I'll admit that if you need to go out for a quick jaunt to the post office or local grocer, it's not the prototypical vehicle for that, but that's why I've got that little bimmer parked in the back.

A note to Ford: If I want a manual transmission truck, that doesn't necessarily mean that I want a stripped down work truck. I just like manual transmissions and as a result I don't have power windows or locks, a rear sliding glass window, or a number of other options I would have been happy to pay for if they were offered on a manual transmission truck. I just chose the manual over those things. Something to keep in mind for the future when you're planning the assembly line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2007

25th May 2007, 01:16

I fully agree with you about the manual transmission. I blame the consumers. People will pay extra just so they don't have to shift gears themselves, but really, what's harder, working to make the extra few thousand dollars to pay for the automatic or shifting the gears yourself? They're kinda pointless unless you're in rush hour traffic. Just be thankful that Ford offers the manual on all it's engines, not just the base engine like GM does, if I remember correctly.

31st May 2007, 01:22

Our '04 F-250 has power everything, 4WD, leather, sliding rear window, great stereo - and a manual transmission. It was probably one of very few made this way, but if you look hard enough you should be able to find a well-equipped XLT or Lariat Super Duty with a stick.

2006 Ford F250 Super Duty XLT Powerstroke diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Powerstroke diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance9300 miles

Summary:

Strong workhorse with excellent handling

Faults:

Occasionally false water in fuel warning.

General Comments:

Powerful diesel engine for great towing. Bought truck with towing package.

Very comfortable and stable ride.

The crew cab has plenty of room and comfortable seats.

The gas mileage is reasonable for a diesel engine and runs around 12 - 15 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2006

2006 Ford F250 Super Duty from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

High on Gas, handles tough and kicks butt

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This truck has serious muscle, and pulling power.

This truck handles rough (exactly as a real truck should) a little too rough for the ladies, but a man's toy none the less.

The cab is huge passenger side s well as driver is very roomy, although back cab area is tight, made for very small people, if that...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

19th Jan 2006, 08:51

This review is horrible. It states nothing about the truck itself, only about what you like about your truck.

27th Jan 2006, 16:59

What do you mean, he talks about the truck, sorry you can't read. It is pretty clear to the rest of us.

21st Jul 2007, 10:17

As far as you saying this is a man's toy and not for the ladies, well I drive a newer F-250 Super Duty all of the time, I haul trailers, go off roading, and I keep up with all of the boys. I would have to say that this is a ladies toy none the less.

23rd Feb 2009, 19:35

I'm considering a 2004 F250 6.0 liter with 78000 miles.

But torn between reviews about the engine.

The truck will pull anything you want, but reliability is a big question mark...

I think I will stay away for now...

Chris from Kentucky.

Average review marks: 5.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews