1994 Ford Fairmont Reviews

1994 Ford Fairmont ED 4.0 straight six from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0 straight six Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

If treated with respect... can be your best friend

Faults:

Broken fan belt.

General Comments:

I have had this car for at least 3 years.

Over the course of my driving career, I have owned close to 30 vehicles... 4s, 6s, 8s, rotaries.

This has been a fantastic car, and I can honestly say my most favourite. I love the effortless torque and power, the comfortable and roomy interior and the general toughness of the car.

The Falcon is dual fuel, and for $35.00, I get 400kms... 550kms on highway. I have never had the LPG serviced since put in 3 years ago.

This car starts first time every time, never replaced tyres, brakes or anything other than fan belt... It's time for me to upgrade, but every time I study up and review all the cars, I can't bring myself to do it.

I love this car... LONG LIVE THE FALCON.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2010

1994 Ford Fairmont Ghia 4.0 V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance188500 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Cielo

Summary:

Comfortable and powerful, but so very unreliable

Faults:

Engine mounts

Failed fuel pump

Electric ariel

Squeaks in dash

Hairline paint cracks

Drivers door stopper

Premium Stereo speakers stopped working

Boot gas struts

Noise suspension

Had to replace air conditioning compressor

Heater does not work

Squeaky drivers seat.

General Comments:

This car has very good and very bad points. Mainly the bad points relate to very bad handling in the wet and poor reliability. It does however have some very good points as it is very comfortable and powerful. Would not buy a ford again only due to some very serious reliability concerns. All the above failures have happened in a very short period of time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2005

29th May 2005, 17:21

Since when did it have a V6 engine?

They are inline 6 engines I bet you have never opened the bonnet.

22nd Jun 2005, 00:54

Bad handling in the wet?

They tend to spin out if you give them too much gas around a corner. more so in the wet. because of handling or power?

7th May 2010, 07:49

Coming from a 4cyl car to a big 6 is not for the inexperienced... when driving in the wet, you must be prepared for the weight difference and drive accordingly.

The reliability considering what was listed as going wrong is not a reliability issue... just a case of natural replacement.

Maybe you are naturally suited to a 4cyl... not the power of a 6.

We can't all be hero's... :)

25th Feb 2011, 04:00

I'm amazed at your summary of faults claims for your car, we own 4 Fairmonts from '91 thru to '94, one only has ever let us down due to fuel pump failure, and that was in the driveway. $60 and half an hour later, fixed.

Yes, some of the other issues you mention occur, ie electric aerial, but as I see it, these issues you list don't qualify as reliability relative.

22nd Apr 2012, 21:14

You think this is unreliable? See my Alfa 166 review; over 6k quoted for one repair, and $2700 on a timing belt service.

I own a Fairmont now; picked it up with 134000 kms on the clock, and I have spent $900 doing the head and air con. That is an awesome amount compared to the Alfa.

If you don't know how to drive a rear wheel driven car, don't!!!

The power is for torque, not racing, like towing or uphills, highway etc.

1994 Ford Fairmont 4.0 LTR 6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 LTR 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Calais

Faults:

The electronic coil failed after I steam cleaned the engine.

The only other fault at this time is an annoying knocking from the suspension, I have replaced top shock mount bushes, but noise is still there.

General Comments:

The Fairmont goes very well and is excellent on fuel. Performance is also good, even when compared to my last car (5 Litre, VP Calais)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2004

1994 Ford Fairmont ED 4.0 MPFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance143000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru 1800

Summary:

Luxury bargain with heaps of performance potential!

Faults:

Head gasket was leaking when I bought it, but was fixed under warranty, hasn't been a problem since.

Replaced the brake rotors at 140,000kms for slotted rotors and rebuilt the front calipers.

Air con evaporator had a leak, had that replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

This car has enormous power and torque, but it needs it to pull its heavy weight around.

Its awesome for long cruises, very comfortable and loaded with electrics.

I have mine lowered with extractors, exhaust and 3.45 LSD from an XR6 and it cuts seriously quick times down the 1/4.

Overall this car is very quiet, super-smooth gear changes, powerful brakes (now) and very reliable. Excellent second hand buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews