1994 Ford Falcon Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Ford Falcon ED 4.0L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 kilometres
Most recent distance192200 kilometres

Summary:

Great value car

Faults:

When purchased the side mirror was shattered and did not move electronically (replaced it for $10 at local wreckers)

Fan belt had a problem at the car yard and broke on the way home from purchasing ($15 for a new belt, a bit awkward to replace).

Middle compartment near the shifter broke off (not yet fixed).

General Comments:

This car is a terrific for its sale price ($2400) it drives extremely well and handles superb.

The steering wheel was a bit big for me, but easy to use.

The power steering I think is one of the best features, the ED can weave its way through the parking lot with ease.

The only thing that I'm honestly disappointed about the car is the dash board, I prefer a more digital dash, rather than the old school look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2006

1994 Ford Falcon ED 4.0 six from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 six Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance350000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Great Falcon

Faults:

Fan belts recently replaced.

General wear and tear.

General Comments:

This Falcon would have to be one of the most reliable models Ford have ever made.

Comfortable Interior.

Powerful Engine: This car will eat VN, VP and VR Commodores.

Nice Ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2006

1994 Ford Falcon EFII Wagon 5.0 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Dodge Phoenix

Summary:

A sensational fun machine

Faults:

A new radiator was fitted at 60,000k.

Welsh plugs were needed at 80,000k.

General Comments:

This was a Police special wagon with a tricked up 5.0L Windsor V8 and sports suspension.

With a top set of tyres its performance is nearly frightening and can be quite a handful.

With the power-plant extras it runs a lot harder than a conventional XR8.

Why didn't Ford produce them as a standard?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2005

1994 Ford Falcon ED 4.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired235000 kilometres
Most recent distance244000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Extremely power-full cruiser

Faults:

The only things that have wrong with it is the air conditioner idler bearing which cost about $8.00 and takes about 10 minutes to replace.

General Comments:

I bought the car standard for quite cheap, since then I have lowered it, added a sports exhaust, bigger camshaft, yella terra race rockers, EB GT Bonnet, huge stereo and changed the look of the interior.

The car goes like absolute hell and will smoke the tyres whenever you want. its great on fuel and handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

1994 Ford Falcon ED GLI 4.0 OHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 OHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired253000 kilometres
Most recent distance313000 kilometres

Faults:

The only thing since I've had the car, that has cost me, is a hole in the muffler at 280,000.

Engine is still in original conditions. (no rebuilds yet)

General Comments:

I'm very happy with my first car. I used to be a Holden fan, but I needed a car quickly, and the only car within my budget and area, was the ford. So I made the purchase, and NOT regretting yet.

The car has been 'Flogged' pretty much everyday since purchase. It has 2 15" subs in the back, so I usually take it out at night and have fun at the traffic lights, although I do a lot of long distance travel as well.

The only thing I don't like about this car, is that it rattles to much on the outside when you 'pump' up the subs. Its nothing to worry about, it just bothers me when you sit at the traffic lights and people may here it.

The 4.0 liter engine has no trouble in hilly area, and to me, has a lot more power then the AU models. What has Ford done with that?

Taking off in this car is excellent. Gear ratio's are spot on. The car tends to have the most kick back power when traveling between 0-60 and 80-130.

In comparison, this car has a lot more power than my mates VT and VS. VN's and VP's are an easy target when it comes to taking off.

Ford have made a superb model, and I can ensure you, 1 more happy customer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2004

3rd Nov 2004, 07:14

I read every review regarding the ED and EF Falcon of which I am in the market for.

I will be purchasing an automatic as the Mrs can't drive a manual.

Apparently the Automatic transmission is a bit suspect under load for example towing or giving the old girl a bit of a thrashing.

What is your opinion on this.

21st Jan 2006, 07:02

Get an automatic transmission oil cooler installed and you will be towing trucks and should have no probs

26th Oct 2009, 23:49

Just brought an ED GLi Falcon. Love it, can take VR and VTs on. My mate's EL is even better. Blows away AUs.

18th Nov 2009, 04:00

I have a 1993 ED Fairmont, work done to engine, csl camshaft, mock motorsport headers, bigger injectors, broadband intake manifold, K and N filter. Trans has a shift improver kit. This car absolutely walks all over Holdens. Really fun to drive.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 14 reviews