1988 Ford Festiva Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1988 Ford Festiva LX 1.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Faults:

I cannot think of anything that has really gone wrong with the car. I put two new batteries in it, a set of tires and two tune ups. I have done a lot of preventive maintenance like putting in a new water pump when putting a new timing belt on anyway. I do all the work myself.

General Comments:

This is my project that keeps me off the streets and out of trouble! I got it for $600 in 1996 and only have about $1200 total into it (not including gas and insurance of course). My goal is 100,000 miles for less than $2000. Only 37,000 miles left to go to 172,000 miles which will mean!00,000 for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

1988 Ford Festiva L plus 1.3 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Reliable, inexpensive transportation that will never let you down

Faults:

Shifter cable slipped out around 23,000 miles. Repaired under warranty. These are all preventive maintenance.

Timing belt replaced 100,000 miles, brake pads 80,000, rear brake shoes 90,000. I performed all maintenance as a hobby. I bought the car new from Florida, very reliable car! Never had a problem, the only thing that I have ever done pretty much, preventive maintenance. Still running on original clutch disk! Very well built. The car was actually KIA assembled in Korea, Mazda engine 1.3 and sold as Ford Festiva badged in US.

General Comments:

Reliability, practicality, ease of maintenance. 4 speed transmission needs a fifth gear, 5 speed did not come until later and only with fuel injected models. Never failed to start! After 109,000 miles, does not burn or use oil, healthy compression, auto choke never failed. Smart design with the seats that can be folded forward for maximum cargo space. Instrument panel, gauges are easy to read and no non- sense design. Since new, I have replaced the tires and rims 13X5.5 alloys, 185/60/13 tires, (Original equipment was 145SR12 with 12" rims), 3" lowered, formuling steering wheels, side skirts, monza twin exhaust tips, tinted windows, I had the a/c installed aftermarket for $800.00, (needs in Florida) All of the accessories was installed as wants and not needs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

30th Jun 2006, 20:44

I own an 88 & 89, both are carburated, have A/C and 5 speed manual trans.

16th Nov 2006, 15:30

In 88 and 89 the LX models were 5spd and the L / L-Plus were 4 spd.

18th Dec 2006, 19:19

You may get another 200,000 out of that clutch. My 1989, which I've owned since new, still runs fine on the original clutch at 303,000! Still gets 40mpg with virtually no highway miles in the mix. This will be its 18th New Hampshire winter. I could go on and on about these amazing little cars and their durability, practicality, economy, dependability, longevity, etc, etc.

Mine is a 4spd, carbureted "L" model.

19th Dec 2006, 08:33

This car should be a required case study for all engineers and accountants at auto makers. What incredible reliability under all conditions. Had mine for seven years and only had one real problem, the starter, which was very cheap to replace.

Only sad part about this car is that it is cheap to buy used so the examples I see on the road are virtually all highly abused. I took care of mine religiously and even had it detailed once a year - I loved it that much.

1988 Ford Festiva L 1.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired133400 miles
Most recent distance133765 miles

Summary:

A pretty good little car

Faults:

The emergency brake barley works, I've replaced the exhaust, the fuel pump and the passenger head light.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever had (and the only one).It does really good in my yard, even after heavy rain! I don't treat the car very well, but it does great. I wish I could get a newer one with more options.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

1988 Ford Festiva LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

The little car that could do everything

Faults:

After 125,000 miles the gas pump needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

I bought this car because I had no money for another one. I had no love for it's appearance, nor for it's size. I was embarrassed to buy it, or tell others I drove it.

It was the best car I ever had.

I thought I might be able to drive it for two years because it was so inexpensive to buy new, and my experiences with cheap cars were always poor. I kept it for eleven years instead. The car never failed me - ever. It got incredible gas mileage, when new it got 52 miles per gallon, and when I traded it in, it got 37.

The interior was huge for such a tiny car. I am 6'3", 200 lbs, and I could sit in the back seat, and found the driver's seat cavernous.

Even in Colorado, going up the steep mountain passes with two other men in the car, (with our luggage), I had no problem getting it up to speed. The car was so light, (about 1800 lbs), it was really a motorbike with doors. So this meant it could be pretty quick.

My only regret over this car was not buying more of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews