1992 Ford Festiva Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1992 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84169 miles
Most recent distance112640 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Ford was STUPID to quit making these

Faults:

Brake Master Cylinder had to be replaced.

Serpentine belt squealed.

General Comments:

This is my second Festiva, and I really wish I hadn't given away the first one. I live in Hawaii, and with gas over $2 a gallon, this thing is a mileage champ! I get 38-40 mpg in combined city/highway driving. I know my Festy will always start and run.

The other one had AC, sure would be nice if this one did. Alas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2004

22nd Oct 2005, 00:32

Ford wasn't smart to begin with. They wouldn't know a good car if it hit them.

1992 Ford Festiva GL 1.3L FI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L FI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Plain cheap bulletproof transportation

Faults:

Rear wheel bearings have been a constant problem with this car. They are very difficult to adjust correctly. The torque values and readings are very unconventional. If these bearings are adjusted incorrectly they go bad very quickly.

The emergency brakes have also been difficult. Unfortunately emergency brake problems are easily confused with rear bearing problems. It is impossible to adjust the brakes without removing the drum, which makes it very difficult to adjust shoe dragging.

The brake disks cannot be removed from the front steering knuckles without a great deal of trouble. Make sure you get disks turned on the car during a brake job or you are going to be charged a great deal.

General Comments:

Other than the rear axle problems the car is great and very economical. It seems to usually get over 40 miles per gallon. In spite of the fact I am now over 126000 miles I am still on the same original clutch.

It is very reliable.

With its 5 speed manual transmission it is fast enough to stay out of trouble.

It is really too bad that this car never caught on with the public and Ford/KIA/Mazda did away with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

13th Mar 2004, 18:57

The car had a replacement in 1994 called Aspire it used the same engine and transmission, it was heavier and very sluggish.

1992 Ford Festiva LX 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Cannot live without it, part of the family!!

Faults:

Only dings in parking lot...

This car NEVER NEVER breaks!

General Comments:

This is my second Festiva. I bought a Kia Sportage because Kia makes the Festiva for Ford, but I have NEVER seen anything like the Festiva for reliability. I now have 5 for my company as transport cars. Excellent gas mileage; Never break; Small and maneuverable; and you can put incredible amounts of stuff in one! I put a 6' step ladder in mine - can you believe that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

28th Jun 2005, 08:15

Back in highschool, my music teacher used to carry either 2 string basses, or 6 cellos, plus driver and passenger. Could just about fit a whole orchestra in the back...

7th Jul 2006, 08:28

I have two of these little gems. I own and operate an office equipment repair company. I carry all my tools, my manuals, parts, and very often whole machines in this little thing. It's amazing! Haven't tried the 6'ladder yet, but who knows!

18th Jan 2007, 23:53

I'm a musician and my 96 Festiva carries a full p. a system and microphone stands and a bass guitar rig. Such a great, unasuming little car that gets on with the job.

19th Jan 2007, 10:31

There is no such thing as a 96 Festiva. 1993 was the last year sold in North America.

That said, my 1993 L held a ton of stuff and started every day.

1992 Ford Festiva L 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

The best car I've ever owned!

Faults:

Right rear brake shoe starting dragging last year - disconnected the parking brake cable from that hub assembly - now I just park it in gear.

Because of a hole allowing moisture into the right headlight assembly, I've had to replace the bulb three times.

Replaced the timing belt/water pump within a month of buying the car last September (2002). (Preventive maintenance)

Replaced exhaust from header pipe back - was very noisy/rusty.

General Comments:

This is my 5th Festiva - the first I've had with fuel injection/5spd/Air conditioning.

It is by far the best of the five due to its drive train and A/C!

I commute to/from Kentucky and Maryland every week, averaging about 3k miles per month - I've put 29k miles on the car in the last year (drove my 4x4 Ranger on a few trips when I had stuff to haul that wouldn't fit in the Festiva).

My goal for the Festiva is to reach 300k miles - at the rate I'm going that should take about 5 more years.

The seats are not the most comfortable, but for a 9.5 hour drive, they're certainly not bad, as long as I stop every couple hours to get out and stretch my legs - I'm 6'1".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2003

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 18 reviews