1992 Ford Festiva Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1992 Ford Festiva L 1.3 Liter gasoline from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.3 Liter gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance86820 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

I would own them all if I could

Faults:

Rattle from the muffler.

Loud belt under the hood.

General Comments:

This little car was the best $150 I have ever spent. Handles well and moves pretty quick, not a better car on the market for every day driving in my opinion. Very easy on the wallet too, great on gas mileage and not too many repairs. It is definitely one of the best cars I have ever owned and I really hope that it isn't the last I own. If you see one on the side of the road with a For Sale sign, take immediate interest, give it a chance, and then make a decision. This car won't let you down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

1992 Ford Festiva L 1.3 Liter from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Liter Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

It is good cheap transportation

Faults:

The exhaust rusted off of it.

The C.V. boot ripped open.

The master cylinder started to leak.

The bright lights quit working.

The dome light Just came on and would not turn off.

Had to put a new battery in it.

General Comments:

I love this car.

This car can park in the tightest spot.

My festiva gets about 28-30 miles to the gallon in town.

It has enough power.

My first test was 10 hours on the interstate at 80 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

1992 Ford Festiva L 1.2 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Most reliable, economic, inexpensive, easy to drive cars I have EVER owned!

Faults:

I rolled the thing once and it is still good!

General Comments:

This car gets around 40 MPG and is as good as the hybrid cars for gas consumption.

There is tremendous room in the car surprisingly. I got a 6' step ladder in it! It is a BIG box on tiny wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

1992 Ford Festiva L 1.3L Fuel Injected from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L Fuel Injected Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired201000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carMG B

Summary:

Most dependable car I've owned!

Faults:

Burned out license plate light.

Heat shielding around exhaust system rattled... had to take it off. Works great now.

Back hatch rattled over bumps. Added extra weatherstripping and now it's good as new.

General Comments:

This car is just amazing. I bought it back in May of 2004 with 201,000 miles on it, and it was all smogged and ready to go for $600. Since then I put in $1400 into the car, upgrading the interior, getting new tires, new stereo system, tinting the windows. It's basically a new car now, other than some very slight dents hardly noticeable.

Since I've owned it it's run perfect. No problems whatsoever. Not even the "check engine" light came on yet. It's still on its original clutch and transmission with now 204,000 miles plus on it.

I would highly recommend getting one of these if you can find one in decent shape! They're worth it in the gas mileage alone (38-41 MPG average).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2004

17th Sep 2009, 11:29

So let me get this straight. You've owned the car for 3000 miles. That's an oil change interval. And it's the most dependable car you've owned? That says a lot. Probably not unrelated to the fact that your last car was an MG.

1992 Ford Festiva 1.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

I adore this fuel miser comfortable reliable runabout

Faults:

I bought this car in very good condition with full service history. However the belts were old and needs to be replaced. I got a full service done and they replaced belts and spark plugs and oils for Au. $190.00.

General Comments:

The accelerator cable rattles a little bit, but I am told this normal and not much can be done. Wonderful little car very easy to park, nice to drive, great on petrol

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

23rd Jan 2005, 03:01

I am the original writer of this review I have owned this car for nearly a year now and it is perfection, I had to get front suspension done that was $330au, but that's it I have done over 25,000k's and it is cheap on fuel extremely totally and utterly reliable. It keeps up with city traffic well and is like a little billy cart. I will write more as time goes on.

1992 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84169 miles
Most recent distance112640 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Ford was STUPID to quit making these

Faults:

Brake Master Cylinder had to be replaced.

Serpentine belt squealed.

General Comments:

This is my second Festiva, and I really wish I hadn't given away the first one. I live in Hawaii, and with gas over $2 a gallon, this thing is a mileage champ! I get 38-40 mpg in combined city/highway driving. I know my Festy will always start and run.

The other one had AC, sure would be nice if this one did. Alas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2004

22nd Oct 2005, 00:32

Ford wasn't smart to begin with. They wouldn't know a good car if it hit them.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews