1999 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec Mk5 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carFord Ka

Summary:

Disguised fun rocket

Faults:

Would occasionally refused to start until the 3rd try, hasn't happened since oil/filter change.

One off episode where the gears froze, got it checked out and nothing was wrong.

General Comments:

It's no super-car, but I've surprised everyone who's thought it easy fodder at traffic lights.

Very little power for overtaking on the motorway, but around country lanes it'll rally.

Suspension and tyres are superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance9700 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta 1.1

Summary:

A nice looking, quick little motor!!

Faults:

A slight rattling noise at the back end of the car.

General Comments:

I find the Zetec a very enjoyable ride, it is really nippy compared to the standard mark 3's.

The handling is pretty good overall and the engine's acceleration is impressive for a car this size, I have burned off many other newer cars in my Zetec. The shape of the car may not be to everyone's taste, but personally I think it's perfect, I'm especially glad the back of the car has been lowered slightly.

Unfortunately the seats are a little on the hard side so you may get a painful back after a long journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2001

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Perfect car for mums

Faults:

The only problems I have had are worn wind screen wipers. They wear out really quickly.

I have driven Mercedes/Toyota Landcruisers. None of them are as reliable.

General Comments:

I like the engine. However not powerful. Max torque at 4000 revs. sounds good.

Consumes too much for this size of engine.

Interior is way too small. Seats are too short for the legs. Prepare to sit O-legged

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2001

1999 Ford Fiesta LX 1.4 gasoline from Ecuador

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance6000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

The driver control is beautiful

Faults:

My car is good and fast, but the problem is that in Ecuador, they haven't got supplies. 2 month ago I had an accident with a truck. My car has been in the factory since that accident.

I love my car, but another problem is that the Ford Fiesta in Ecuador hasn't got an air bag, and this may be dangerous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2000

1999 Ford Fiesta LX 1.25 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.25 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

An expensive small car at 11,800ukp

Faults:

Nothing but it is quite heavy on petrol so far.

General Comments:

Good little mover. Handles well but the 185 tyres make steering heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance6578 miles

Summary:

First - Fun, Now - Boring

Faults:

Clutch was changed after 2000 miles and gear lever was changed due to insanely aggravating rattling.

Front left tyre and wheel had to be changed because of unpleasant meeting with a kerb.

General Comments:

Quite a good car, looks pretty good, could do with there being less room between the wheel and the wheel arch.

I liked the fish face at first but now it just annoys me.

Interior is pleasant, nice colour coded seats, cool dial kit.

Gears are great. 5000k+ on the revs is fun. Too much roll on the car, I tried pushing it slightly through a corner but result was a collision with a kerb. The tail comes out a lot (when I drive) and it's fun but slightly annoying sometimes.

Not many styling/tuning products for it which is a shame because with a bit of tweaking here and there it could be a nice little 'hot' hatch.

Acceleration surprises some competitors at the lights although the traction is quite poor when you push it.

Top speed of 115mph is quite good but the handling really can't cope with doing 100mph+ round bends on motorways, on one occasion the tail slipped out a bit but I managed to bring it back, very very scary.

I get bored of things very easily so I'm buying a Toyota MR2 GT T-Bar in November. Should be fun (rear wheel drive - corners here I come - WOO HOO)

But if you're after a cheap 'luke warm' hatch then you could do a lot worse than this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

26th Mar 2005, 01:02

Crashing into kerbs,115 mph on the motorway.

Hope I never buy a car that you have driven.

1999 Ford Fiesta LX D 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Don't buy a non turbo diesel

Faults:

Nothing went wrong apart from the radio which had a scratch on the LCD display. This was replaced by Ford with the incorrect model (lower spec non RDS). When I asked them to put the old one back they said they had dropped it and it would not work. It took two weeks to get the correct model fitted in.

General Comments:

The car was good for my daily commute of 120 miles. So good I brought another, (not a 1.8 diesel) because it did lack a turbo. Spec was very good for a Fiesta (E/W, A/C, etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2000

1999 Ford Fiesta Ghia X 1.4 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

The tachometer started playing up, which was down to a chip problem. The leather on the steering wheel started rubbing in my hands and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I have enjoyed my time with this car. It is safe, fast and very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews