1999 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A stylish quick little beast

Faults:

My electric driver side window sticks sometimes in the cold.

General Comments:

This car is very quick off the mark.

It can put most small cars to shame at the lights, or when overtaking.

Everyone who has been in the car have commented on the quickness, and the overall look of the car.

The interior of the car is smooth.

The white dials give this car a sporty look along with the rear spoiler.

Go and buy one now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 Zetec Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

A cheap pokey runaround

Faults:

My rocker head gasket blew at 13,000 miles.

The back seats got damp in the winter due to the internal brake light wiring not having been fitted properly.

General Comments:

This car is a super cheap runaround which is very reliable.

It won't get left behind on the motorway, it's quite pokey!

The seats are quite stiff, but apart from that, a good buy which won't let you down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

2nd Jan 2006, 10:40

Have to agree for an automatic it's very smooth and when you put your foot down it don't half shoot off. Easily matches other cars up to around 80. Being automatic it is so easy to drive as well, would recommened it to anyone.

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Quick little hatchback!

Faults:

One of the main stereo speakers is becoming crackly and often doesn't work at all.

The driver's seat is very stiff and doesn't roll back properly.

Slight squeaking noises on the driver's side.

General Comments:

I am very happy with the way the Fiesta drives, the quiet Zetec engine is very rev-happy and the acceleration is impressive for a 1.25, it'll beat many hatchbacks from a stand-still. Economy is average with around 40 miles per gallon.

The handling and ride-quality is superb as standard. The car seems to take corners really well and you don't have to worry about feeling the bumps in this car.

The front sports style seats are nice, however they are quite hard and can make your back hurt on long journeys. Also, rear space is very limited with little leg room.

The Fiesta is a nice curvy car, I think the mark 4 looks much more modern than previous models. However, the front-end has quite a sad look which has been criticised by some people. The Zetec model has several nice extras including front fog-lights, body-coloured bumpers, 14" alloys and rear spoiler.

I would certainly recommend the Fiesta Zetec to anyone looking for a cheap, nippy hatchback. I've had very few problems with the car since I owned it in February 2001.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2001

5th Jan 2005, 03:17

I agree with everything you sed there! The Fiesta Zetec is a very nippy car for its size. Iv had many races in my 1.25 Zetec and have won many. The only problem I got with it is that the engine is starting to sound louder because of a ticking sound. Any 1 know that that is? It used to be a quiet engine.

17th Mar 2005, 15:18

Could be the tappets?

Older fords are renowned for this problem.

17th Dec 2010, 10:09

I'm thinking of buying one of these as a cheap run-around after a shockingly bad VW Polo. Seem to be a decent, cheap little car.

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8200 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

A pleasure to drive

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car in the two years I have had it since new.

General Comments:

Excellent performance and handling for such a small car and small engine.

Surprisingly roomy and comfortable.

Great looks, styling and not short on street credibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

1999 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Don't buy one!

Faults:

Engine cuts out for no reason whilst driving.

Roof and boot going rusty.

Boot leaks in 3 places.

Car judders at certain speeds.

Strange engine noises which no one can explain.

Paint really poor. Colour match etc.

Will not always start.

Seat rattles like you would not believe.

The list goes on.

General Comments:

The car has been returned for the problems listed. None of them can be repaired. Even the seat rattle. It keeps getting sprayed with lubricant every time it goes in.

The car has been back approximately 15 times in the last year. The problems cannot be corrected.

Ford customer service really poor. I have tried to get the car changed 4 times through their commitment policy. It keeps getting rejected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

21st Feb 2001, 20:53

I am very surprised at this review. It must have been a 1 in a million Fiesta because everyone else I know who has one thinks it's great, including myself. Looks like they got very unlucky with their car!

5th Mar 2001, 08:48

I sympathise totally with this owner. I had a Fiesta Ghia 1.25i last year (2000) and it too cut out for no reason whilst driving.

One time it cut out while I was driving at 70 mph in the fast lane of a motorway. This obviously caused the power steering to fail leaving me to drift across the carriageway until I got it started again. It is a very dangerous fault. Luckily it was a quiet part of the motorway, but even after having the engine 're-programmed' three times, it continued to cut out. In the end, I just changed it for a Focus... but that's another story entirely!

22nd Apr 2001, 10:34

My wife has a Fiesta that suffered s imilar problems (cutting out & not starting now and again). In the end (after battery and alternater replacements) we found out that the light in the boot was shorting out and permanently on. Something to watch for!.

11th Dec 2002, 08:16

I also am driving this car. It is exhibiting similar problems with judders and cutting out at high speeds. It is very dangerous at junctions. I am using a very experienced krypton tuner, with an excellent reputation to look at the fault and he cannot put his finger on the problem. The engine keeps reporting "Bank 1 - Too Lean". I am sick and tired of driving the car, and am unable to replace it at this time. For this reason I wish FORD would help with the problem, rather than be 100% unhelpful, as they have been thus far.

10th Nov 2006, 06:39

For the past two years my daughter's 1.25 Zetec exhibited the exact same random fault of cutting out, particularly when slowing down for junctions and roundabouts. Restarting the car always seemed to clear the fault.

It did it for the last time four weeks ago when the coil pack burnt out and took the ECU with it (a chip inside actually caught fire). £540 quoted by Ford for a new replacement ECU with another £200 or so for fitting and reprogramming the immobiliser. Secondhand market is a minefield with a huge number of Ford ECUs appearing to be acceptable, but part numbers have to be exact and reprogramming still necessary for immobiliser. You have been warned!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews