2004 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2004 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance2750 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

In general this car performs very well against its competitors

Faults:

Nothing to date.

General Comments:

Firstly, There is absolutely no room to the left hand side of the clutch pedal to place ones foot whilst driving, I am unable to place my foot under the pedal as there is not enough clearance, This is causing two major problems. After only one hour of driving I'm experiencing leg cramp due to the position of my leg, and also this will in time cause excessive clutch wear due the clutch been slightly pressed. I feel this is a major error on Ford's behalf.

Secondly, due to the present design of modern cars, which seem to be gaining in height with every new model released. Whilst driving, the car gives the impression you are sat on the seat, not in the seat, which is far from comfortable, I have noticed to overcome the road handling problems of the car due to its high centre of gravity, it is now fitted with very wide, low aspect tyres together with large diameter wheels, the same size as a Sierra Cosworth and I must question if this is progress.

Thirdly, The previous Fiesta which I owned for 6 years and covered 55,000 miles in, handled corners like it was on rails and was a delight to drive along a twisty section of road. In the 6 years I had the rear end of the car break away on me twice. To date this new fiesta has broke away 4 times and is very unbalanced whilst correcting the situation and again I have to question Ford's progress on handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

12th Jul 2004, 18:04

Fair point about the clutch pedal, but you must be driving like a maniac to get the back end out on those fat tyres. In any case, did you not take a test drive?

31st Jul 2004, 14:33

I also agree with you about the clutch, but I agree that you must be driving the car like a race driver. I also own a Zetec, I love it. Sorry you are disappointed with yours.

2004 Ford Fiesta Silver 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance980 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

An excellent little car with a very, very high level of specification

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I really like this car a lot, and to be honest, I am very surprised it's a Fiesta. I believe a lot of people hold bad opinions on Fiestas, I was amazed at how much this vehicle has "grown up".

The Fiesta now feels very very solid, well built, and drives excellently. I know I haven't done many miles yet, but I couldn't fault the car in any way.

One last thing is the model I got "FIESTA SILVER" has an incredible level of spec, full leather, RDS single CD/radio with remote control, 16" alloys, fog lights, metallic paint, heated front + rear screen, power heated mirrors, chrome handbrake/gear knob and grill, air con, remote central double locking with alarm/immobilizer, electric windows and ABS.

I could go on, but I'm at work. The Fiesta is a seriously underrated vehicle and I'm one very happy customer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2004

12th Jun 2004, 16:53

About your electric shock problem, simply go to your dealer... This is a typical car problem (any model or manufacturer), it can be solved easily with some little rubber band. This band discharge the car when you stop (this band contains a conductor wire). Simple, easy, efficient. Go to your dealer or to a car parts' shop.

23rd Jun 2004, 12:26

Shocking!! has anyone had problems with water pump??

28th Aug 2004, 08:32

I would be pleased to any Ford Fiesta Zetec owner who has had a problem with water ingress around the sparking plugs causing them to corrode and short circuit. This has caused me to breakdown on two occasions.

14th Feb 2005, 12:16

This for the electric shock!!! If you don't want to go back to the dealer then the easiest way of solving this is, when you stop the car and switch off, keep your left hand on the steering wheel and open the door then before letting go of the steering wheel put your right foot outside and on the floor... This allows all the static flowing around the car (including yourself) to go to earth. You won't feel a thing after that.

Michael.

21st Feb 2005, 15:21

To avoid the electric shock (and this goes for any car) hold onto the metalwork as you put your feet on the ground.

It's not the flow of static electricity that hurts - it's the bit where you get CLOSE to something earthed and then the spark jumps the gap.

If you get out the car, chances are you won't touch anything metal. Then you go to close the door and OWCH!! I make a point of opening the door, then making sure I am touching the metalwork (usually the windscreen pillar) as I get out. That way the static flows through me to earth and doesn't shock me.

Hope that helps! If not, you could always just not touch anything metal at all, store up all the static, then zap a friend!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 11 reviews