2011 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2011 Ford Fiesta SE 1.6 from North America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3200 kilometres
Previous carFord Fusion

Summary:

Sexy, smart and economical. Thumbs up!

Faults:

So far, nothing.

General Comments:

I have this car two weeks, and think this is an excellent small car choice. I have the sedan version. Gas is great, handling is even better and the 6 speed auto drives like a manual that comes from a sport sedan... the sound is nice, and makes the car feel solid and expensive.

All I can say is that the reviews are in; the AJAC association of Canada named the Ford Fiesta best new car (under 21,000)... beating the Fit, Yaris, Versa, etc. One test drive and you'll see why this baby's got the title and the honours.

WAY TO GO FORD, THEY ARE STEPPING UP THE GAME.

By the way, take a look at Ford sales/reviews in Europe, and you'll see why they brought this euro model here to North America.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2010

10th Dec 2010, 21:08

One of my best friends is wanting to trade his 2009 Corolla for a more reliable and sporty car in the spring of 2011. I have recommended a Fiesta, based on my great experience with our Ford cars, but I have no experience with the Fiesta. I hope you'll keep us updated. The Fiesta styling is great, and Ford now ranks ahead of Honda and way ahead of Toyota in build quality. I'm sure the Fiesta will be a great car.

6th Jan 2011, 21:51

I read in Consumer Reports that Toyota and Honda are back on top of the reliability competition, including the Fiesta. I'd rather have a Toyota Yaris than a Fiesta. It's a far more proven product in North America, and less expensive if you don't load it up. Also, the Fiesta sedan is really rather awkward looking.

22nd Jan 2011, 19:41

I would wait a few years to see how good the Fiesta holds up in the hands of owners in the U.S. or Canada. Also, the notion that Ford ranks way ahead of Honda and Toyota may depend on where you're getting your info. I read Consumer Reports magazine yesterday, and they gave almost every 2011 Toyota model a recommended rating, except for one or two. The Fiesta wasn't rated because they had no data for this new model. The Fit has been getting strong reviews from consumers for a few years.

2011 Ford Fiesta SE Hatchback 1.6 gas from North America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carFord Courier

Summary:

Cute, economical, but expensive

General Comments:

The automatic transmission is plain awful. The gear ratios are terribly selected, and because of that, the engine is really noisy due to high RPM. If you like this car go, with manual.

The visibility is very limited. That's why they used blind spot mirror inserts, I guess. It is like sitting in a bunker.

The finish is good. Fuel economy is OK for a car of this size. Because it IS a very small car. Very limited interior space. I am 6ft 3inch and getting in/out is somewhat difficult. I always hit the wide plastic on driver's door.

The car looks pretty good. But hatchback only. The sedan should be banned from production. But that's me.

Conclusion. If you really like this car - go for it.

But to me, there are better cars out there for the same money. Because this car is incredibly expensive for what you are getting. I would say Nissan Versa is a much much better option in every aspect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2010

29th Oct 2010, 14:21

Okay, once again we have someone that buys a car without driving it. All of your issues should have easily been identified on a test drive. Then you go on about the Nissan being a better car for less money. Did you just feel like spending too much on a car you didn't really like, while bypassing the cheaper one that is better?

2011 Ford Fiesta SE 1.6 from North America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance5030 miles
Previous carToyota Matrix

Summary:

Exceeded expectations

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive. Very quiet, better than my old Matrix. The ride is firm, but still good. Great steering, but a little lighter than I like.

Lots of standard safety stuff; seven air bags, ABS and stability standard.

Back seat is tight on leg room, but comfortable and had good headroom.

Under ideal conditions, i.e. cool, no A/C, driving the speed limit, easy on the gas, I've been getting low 40's MPG. I expect it to go down in winter and hot summer.

Lots of unexpected little extras, such as lit power window switches, even in the back seat. Even the controls on the steering wheel are lit.

So far, it has exceeded my expectations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2010

6th Jan 2011, 21:57

The Fiesta is too unproven in North America to be lauded so much. I would much rather have a Toyota Yaris. It's also great on fuel, fun to drive, and very reliable. I don't see what's so great about the Fiesta.

12th Jan 2011, 12:19

I just bought my 2011 Ford Fiesta SE. I love the style of it. I've had it for about 4-5 days now and it has been in the shop all except one day. It felt like the transmission was slipping, but the car dealers who fixed it told me it was a grounding problem and something that had to do with a computer program. It didn't show any of these problems in the test drive or when I took it home the first night.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews