1975 Ford Granada Reviews

1975 Ford Granada from North America

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Bravada

Summary:

Very posh army green spontaneously combusting Granade

Faults:

Problems? Well, it does have that tendency to catch fire. The carb and fuel intake is all right next to the wiring harness and many electrical parts. Not a stroke of genius on these old Fords, but common problem for many I've heard. Mine caught fire 4 times over my years owning it. I carry a fire extinguisher to drive. If you don't, it always likes to burn parts that are no longer manufactured, and this results in many hours at the junk yard.

It's hard to start. More than the ordinary warm up time for a carbureted vehicle. It likes to stall, especially in the first 10 minutes of driving it. This is probably because I have it timed a little under manufacturer spec, because that's the only way I can get a 1975 boat-car to pass my state's emission requirements that were designed with fuel injectors in mind.

General Comments:

CARRY A FIRE EXTINGUISHER WITH YOU ALL THE TIME.

Other than the carb catching fire and being much too close to electric parts to spark it, it's a very well designed, posh, comfortable, smooth-riding car, after the first 10 minutes of it warming up. If I don't do this on mine, it stalls; like I said above, it may be because I've got it timed a little low to pass emissions.

It was $800 when I bought form original old-man owner. It's army green. I re-did the vinyl top with some green-brown plaid material and some polyurethane that I touch up yearly (like a deck).

The 8-track works!

I've never had to put any major $ in it, the engine & tranny still going strong, actually so are the alternator, battery, coolant system, shocks, struts, and things you expect to go bad.

I did have to do a little exhaust work, change the brakes, spark plugs, and other normal maintenance.

Only problem was that when it started to have undetectable carb issues, this caught it on fire. First time I thought I had found a leak in the fuel line, so just changed that & the filter while I was there. It happened again a month later. I replaced a bunch of hoses that got melted, and replaced some seals in the carb.

A month later, flames again. This time it burnt up a no longer made wiring harness that was a pain to figure out how to reproduce. Rebuilt the whole carb.

It happened again (damage minimised due to fire extinguisher always in floorboard now). Replaced carb with junk yard one that I put a new kit in. Good for a couple months... but my family kept riding me about not driving my Granade (well, what else will everyone call my army green spontaneously combusting Granada) now that I've got kids, so I sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2010

2nd May 2010, 20:11

Why not drop a newer Ford Mustang motor in it?

3rd May 2010, 17:38

Hehe, can't help but notice that FoMoCo is like the pyro-child of the automotive world. Remember the Pinto? And hey, Ford still has an ongoing recall of over 16 million vehicles for a faulty cruise control switch that catches the brake fluid on fire.

5th May 2010, 11:45

If you did not order cruise control, what's the problem? I have a manual trans anyway.

14th Jun 2010, 17:11

We had a 1975 Granada with the I-6 and an automatic. In over 300,000 miles we had put one starter, one muffler, and one carburetor on it. Other than brakes, tires and batteries, that's it.

As for fires, if you make sure the bolts on the carb attachment plate stay tight and the fuel lines stay tight, you won't have a fire problem. If gas isn't leaking out, it can't ignite.

As for the fire issue, Pinto was re-designed in 1974 and was then as safe as any other car. I owned a '79. It was a great car. I sold it at just under 200,000 miles for twice what I paid for it.

14th Oct 2010, 09:56

I had an AMC Wagon with a V8 that used the same carb.

Mine leaked fuel. It was the accelerator pump, right in front.

A snap to change (and fortunately no fires).

1975 Ford Granada Ghia 4 door from North America

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carAMC Hornet

Summary:

"A $500 piece of garbage."

Faults:

A lot of things went wrong with the car. It wasn't taken care of at all.

General Comments:

We paid $500 for it back in 1987. We got off of a friend of ours who had it on his used car lot in Cinnaminson New Jersey. The car was supposed to be silver, but it looked more like a grey primer. The vinyl top was black, and looked fair at the time we got the car. The original hubcaps were still on the car! The interior looked fine.

As for how it ran, that's another story. It religiously stalled out a lot. Then during the 3 years of ownership, it was problem after problem.

Finally, when we took it to our mechanic one day, the mechanic called us to tell us that the fire department had to come to the repair shop. Why?

Because the motor had caught fire. So we sold the car to the mechanic for only $50!

I would never buy one of these because they are not too reliable, and they're ever so hard to get parts for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2006

27th Sep 2007, 00:10

I agree that it is becoming very difficult to find parts for these cars now. But I have a 1975 2 door, Decor edition. With 313k + miles on it there are the rattles and such, but overall this car is great! If it weren't for the "car" ground clearance, I could go where most trucks go as far as rough roads are concerned and never worry about anything coming apart. I have used it as a time trial racer, pull-it-outta-the-ditch tow vehicle, tow it for 63 miles home vehicle, moving trailer tow vehicle and unpaved road rally racer. This car is SOLID! I was ill advised that the engine needed overhaul in order to pass the smog test at 299K. So I did. There was nothing wrong with the engine and even the rod and main bearings still looked new! I also foolishly decided to have the tranny redone. Since the rebuilds, the car is not as good as it was. Not even close. First time I've ever let someone else do what I can do. And now I pay the price. But this is not Ford's fault. I plan on keeping my Granada for life. Sorry you did not have the same great experience.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 2 reviews