2001 Ford Ka Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2001 Ford Ka Collection 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles

Summary:

Cute, cheap, comfy, nice to drive, and reliable!

Faults:

I have had not one problem with my car since having it, I can say it's been 100% reliable.

General Comments:

Although it's only a little 1.3 engine, I can still get power out of it.

People say it's small inside, but it's a small car, what do you expect? I usually only carry myself and one passenger in the car anyway.

I really can't think of a bad thing to say, the car's cheap on insurance and tax, petrol is really good, and it's always been reliable.

I have a Collection, which has more than a normal model, such as electric windows, A/C, CD player etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

2001 Ford Ka from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

OK, but not as good as it could be

Faults:

Steering failed at 50,000 miles nearly causing a serious accident.

After investigation, it has been found that the universal joint, mounted on top of the power steering rack had seized up, causing the steering to 'lock' into place.

The Ford dealership had not experienced this problem before and the Ford Motor Company have yet to reply to my urgent communication.

If your steering becomes heavy, particularly at different angles of wheel movement: please stop driving and have this investigated at the first opportunity. By removing the universal joint, it will move in One direction, but not the other. This is probably a 'one off' manufacturing fault with the component, hope fully!

General Comments:

In general it has been a good car, however, the gearbox mounts have gone several times in 50,000 miles. The front steering bearings on top of the shock absorbers have worn out on 4 occasions. Also the car failed its first MOT after 23,000 miles. I would not buy Ford again because the spares are very expensive and there is little or no backup from Ford in terms of information and product recalls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

14th Jul 2006, 13:45

My steering racks failed after just 20k as one did, owned by a friend of mine! This is not very good. Ford wouldn't cover costs as just out of warranty which is also unsatisfactory. Had a 'pattern part' put on to save money. Was around £500!

9th Mar 2007, 05:58

My steering rack failed at just under 40,000 miles (2001 Ka 1.3). I had been experiencing all the symptoms described above. The steering was extremely stiff when steering to the right but would suddenly loosen when straightening up.

The garage initially diagnosed a fault with the steering knuckle, but it turns out that the whole rack needs replaced. They say the part retails at £158 plus VAT. Part + labour = best part of £300, which by all accounts is a good deal. I'm told some garages have charged £700.

2001 Ford Ka Collection 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance20500 miles

Summary:

Good fun, buy one!!

Faults:

Suspension Bushes needed replacing last year (16k)

Front Suspension now starting to wear (20k)

General Comments:

Absolutely superb car, comfy, it is my first car, but everyone else who drives it agrees it's great. Won't be selling for a long time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

2001 Ford Ka collection 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Good girls around town car, but don't expect too much!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Nice looking little car. Interior little plain and not very exciting. Seats not very comfey on long journeys. very good on petrol around town. lots of road noise when driving, especially on motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2005

2001 Ford Ka 1 1.3L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired162 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres

Summary:

Although finish quality is poor the KA is bright and breezy and fun to drive

Faults:

Hydraulic fluid hose failed - my daughter reported smoke from the engine bay and had the good sense not to drive further. Hose was repaired under warranty - and subsequent recall of all KA in Australia followed.

Front plastic guards came loose and wore away on the front wheel.

Gear lever knob fell off.

Clock failed and was replaced.

Black plastic fenders fade quickly in the Australian sun.

Window clip caps fall off and steel stud corrodes quickly.

Gearbox whines at certain speeds and tends to lunge when changing gears.

Fruitbat droppings (a car hazard in our area) stripped paintwork very quickly.

Cabin is noisy.

Great air conditioning - a must for all cars in Australia.

Tight black shag pile of floor carpet shows dirt and hard to clean.

General Comments:

A nippy little car that holds its own in city traffic. Fuel economy is great and has been a very good learning to drive car for my daughter.

Bright and breezy and fun to drive.

Pricing by Ford was eratic and initially high for the quality. Sales discontinued early - not well supported by Ford. Service costs are high for a cheap car.

Ford tried to market the car against higher quality low priced small cars and came off second best. I now think Ford do not to know about them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

4th Mar 2006, 16:17

I haven't seen any of this present in the uk versions. I agree about the black bumpers (fenders) looking worn, but this problem can be solved with the collection which has colour coded bumpers (fenders). Ford must have messed up with the aussie version.

9th Oct 2006, 04:55

Daewoo are finished mate, and if you think they made good cars, you have no place criticising a Ka.

31st Oct 2007, 19:54

As an Australian 2001 Ford ka owner with 45000kms on the clock I agree more or less with the above comments. Every ka I looked at for purchasing had those plastic window stud covers missing with resultant rust, but this is really an insignificant item as far as rust goes. The plastic top of the gear-change lever had broken off, but the roadworthy mechanic super-glued it back on and is OK.

As an afternote, the spellchecker on this program is a bit finicky with a penchant for dashes.

29th Sep 2009, 07:04

Quite funny really, I own a 2001 Ford Ka (in Australia). The top list really does cover a lot that I have experienced. Love the car, but the cheap fittings do frustrate!

Top of the gear knob fell off.

Some of the seals haven't lasted well and has lead to a lot of leakage.

Awful carpets. Keeps hold of the dirt like its life depends on it.

Over-revving was a problem that comes up. All the expensive mechanics kept referring me on to expensive throttle specialists, however the local boys found the problem and all it needed was some cleaning with an air-pressure pump.

Air-conditioning hose has melted so no more aircon unless I want to pay the $1200 quoted replacement :(

Stereo has always been fantastic, although only 1 speaker works now.

Quite a few of the features have broken off or worn.

Headlights have become quite dull... hopefully just requires replacing the globes.

I still love the car though.

8th Feb 2010, 18:34

Just clicked over 100k & my KA hasn't missed a beat.

A practical vehicle for city driving.

With all the safety extras, this car is a splendid option for a young driver.

Only downside is it's under powered.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 21 reviews