1981 Ford Laser Reviews

1981 Ford Laser KA Ghia 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

It's a great first car for anyone

Faults:

I have had to replace to engine after it was stolen in 2002. That was only as it was driven badly and they killed the engine.

But since then it has run like a dream and I am only now starting to do it up.

General Comments:

I have had my car since I was on my L plates and would recommend Lasers to any person thinking of buying their first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2004

1981 Ford Laser GL 1.5 sport from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 sport Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance222000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Paid $100, I should make $1000 profit

Faults:

When I bought the car for $100 I was told it had a leaking head gasket. After assessing the car I discovered that it was the water pump. For now. Following the water pump I replaced the points, plugs, leads, rear wheel bearings, CV joint boots, radiator flush and a good tune. Six months of driving caused the head gasket to blow and the head to crack. My best option was to replace the engine with a standard KA sport engine, single carburetter.

Now with TLC my car gets me from A to B and then to C and D.

General Comments:

The four speed gear box is the only downside. Fast, zippy and great in the mud.

A bit uncomfortable due to 22 year old seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2003

1981 Ford Laser KA 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired202000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Torana

Summary:

Cheap sporty and reliable

Faults:

Points Needed replacing, rotor button, coil, spark leads and plugs and distributor cap, all part of keeping in line. She now runs so smoothly. Looked like they have never been replaced before I did it.

General Comments:

Great little car, reliable. Excellent performance. cheap to run, and solid little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1981 Ford Laser KA 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

It is a great first time car

Faults:

I have had to replace the engine after the timing chain went because it was stolen in 2001.

My break fluid container split about 950000km.

General Comments:

My car is a great little car and since I have changed the motor (it cost about $600 for a second hand motor and installation), it has been a great car and I would recommend it to any first car buyer.

I have recently resprayed it and know it looks better than new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

1981 Ford Laser GL 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired270000 kilometres
Most recent distance380000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Shopping trolley

Faults:

Cv joints water pump master cylinder brakes shocks suspension oil burning seat belts seats rust tyres wheel alignment.

General Comments:

Too small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

31st Oct 2008, 12:55

Wheel alignments should be done 4 - 6 monthly or when you kiss a gutter or hit a pothole.. I'm a tire fitter.

1981 Ford Laser GL 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

Fun, cheap small car

Faults:

The first thing that went was the clutch, then we found that the gearbox needed replacing as well, so that was done at the same time. After that: steering rack, rear bearings (twice), exhaust, 2 doors and the bonnet due to rust.

General Comments:

Although it sounds like a lot has gone wrong with this car, bear in mind that is IS over 20 years old!

This car is nothing short of amazing. For the 3 years I've had one it's had no end of abuse, but still started the next day. It's reliable, comfortable and surprisingly quick despite the small engine. Parts are also very cheap.

I highly recommend putting some high end tyres on this car, because the handling can be great and a lot of fun.

Overall it's a very good first car, and with a bit of TLC could be made to last a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2002

2nd Sep 2003, 19:35

I agree. If you see a Laser on the road they are always in decent to excellent nick. My Laser was a jinx for me, but I still loved it and I prob could've treated it better.

I had just started getting on top of things and everything was finally working when I had 2 accidents in one wk - written off twice!!! Hated to see it go, but theres no way its coming back :)

1981 Ford Laser KA Ghia 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres

Summary:

Aesthetically pleasing and cheap to run

Faults:

The cable, connecting the heater switch from inside to the heater under the bonnet, broke. Trivial I know.

General Comments:

The Ghia, being top of the range, is highly equipped, especially for a 20 year old car.

Lacks interior space, however. But I can cope, I'm small.

Noisy cabin - due to the age of the seals I think.

Metallic paint is attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

1st Jan 2006, 22:44

I think they are a very nice car, my one has got a hole in the engine pipe which makes it really loud.

They have good motors and look attractive

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews