1983 Ford Laser Reviews

1983 Ford Laser kb 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Liberty

Summary:

It goes great until 290,000 kms

Faults:

The car blew a lot of smoke when I got it. CV joint broken at 285,000 steering boot split. the car leaks oil. recently cracked the head.

General Comments:

When I got the car and when it is running good, I think it is one of the fastest 1.5 litre cars around. the other thing is it drives like a boat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

1983 Ford Laser S standard twin carb from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission standard twin carb Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired239000 kilometres
Most recent distance273000 kilometres

Summary:

All in all a very good, compact, comfortable car to drive

Faults:

My engine blew smoke shortly after I started to drive it and I replaced the engine.

I broke front gearbox mount probably due to old age.

The car loses driving performance with two or more people in the car.

The car has gone through a few air filters too.

General Comments:

It is comfortable with an exelent driving position.

The car handles well within normal driving conditions.

The replacement engine was easy to install.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

1983 Ford Laser KB 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres
Previous carTriumph 2000

Summary:

A beauty!

Faults:

Since I have had the car C. V joints have needed replacing.

Minor oil leaks, from a variety of sources.

Some minor rust on the body, rear & side doors.

Electrical problems with rear brake light.

Leaks around windscreen.

General Comments:

Nice car to drive, seats are very comfy. This is a very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003

1983 Ford Laser kb 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance330000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

A quite achiever

Faults:

Front disk brakes. head gasket.clutch glazed over. clutch cable.left hand C. V joint broke due to hard clutch drops. heater stopped working. radiator rotted.distributor gear worn. rear shocks worn due too many heavy loads.C.V boots replaced. new strut.alternator blown. rusted chambers leaks like a seive. front carpet rotted away. engine bearings worn. cracked head.new head. sent con rod through engine block. very rusted all round.

General Comments:

It has been a long 16 years for that car. being a luxery model it was a quite nice car to drive. but doesn't take well to the kind of person who likes to thrash. it was purchased brand new by me and never left my hands as I had it crushed. so the car dealers couldn't sell it to some poor unexpected person. i recommend this car to any one. it is an all round well built car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

1983 Ford Laser S 1.5 twin carb from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 twin carb Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance260000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Nippy commuter, okay for learners, adequate first car, or two car family runabout

Faults:

Engine blew within first two months of ownership.

Snapped front exhaust/engine mount, only from a 'quick takeoff'.

Very difficult to keep the twin carburettor's properly tuned.

Rear parcel shelf screws detached from hatch.

Starting to fall apart with rust everywhere.

General Comments:

Good chassis which could handle more power. Seems to drive better, and steer better than the next model laser (kc).

Seats were comfortable and all controls in good positions.

The factory radio had the volume on the side closest to the driver, a good feature for a right hand drive vehicle.

Easy to drive, handled well, gearbox needed to be worked to keep decent speed on long climbs, or twisting roads. Fuel economy was nothing special, probably due to need to push the car to get the most out of it. Some drivers could probably get better economy, but would not be driving the car to its performance potential.

Overall, wasn't too bad to live with, apart from the engine dying in the first two months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

1983 Ford Laser Ghia saloon 1.5 petrol from Cyprus

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

A respective Japanese car!

Faults:

Good reliable car. Especially running cost is my favorite advantage:low fuel consumption, easily and cheaply serviced. I have changed the head gasket at 60,000 mile, the radiator at 40,000 miles. The exterior and exterior is kept in good enough condition. It reaches high rpm in very short time. Its accelaration is not my favorite one, but I am very pleased with its torque. A good Japanese car for the eighties... a real respective car plus reliable nows. The only things I have to do are replace the tires and get it in for a service periodically.Finally, I could not say no to an engine replacement with a GT engine (twin curb).I love my old ford even the fact is actually a Mazda!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

1983 Ford Laser 1.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Summary:

Good wee car if ya don't kick it in

Faults:

Nothing. And I gave it absolute everything. Wheel spins, handbrakies, rally driving, you name it.

General Comments:

Me & 4 mates bought the car, & we kicked it so there wasn't a straight panel on it. Only THEN is when things started to go wrong. Doors wouldn't open, windows wouldn't wind down, horn broke, etc. But before all that, it was great. It wasn't very economical though, cause I ran over one of those springy road signs, & I put a hole in the exhaust mainfold or something. (So the cop said anyway). VERY good on oil & water too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

21st Apr 2004, 00:04

WOW...an intelligent review there. Mental note: never buy a cheap 2nd hand car from a brainless yobbo.

Ben.

2nd Nov 2004, 18:55

Got to agree there, what a cretin....., sure hope you don't breed sunshine, no wonder the car screwed you, you deserved it, pleb...

1983 Ford Laser KB 1.5 litre in-line 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.5 litre in-line 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance298652 kilometres
Previous carHolden Torana

Summary:

Powerful, zippy, roomy, economical, and sturdy all in one little package :), love it!!!

Faults:

Due to poor ownership previously, it has quite some problems, but is still a great car.

* At one stage it would not start in heat.

* Blew a bit of smoke, but fixed.

* Air conditioning tank is broken.

* Paint peeled because of where the previous owner kept it.

General Comments:

The Laser I own is a S pack with twin carberettors. It's a 2 door and is the best little car ever.

* Great power out of its motor for a small car.

* Economical.

* Zippy.

* Does great wheel spins, (hehe).

* Strong body in accidents (had one).

* Probably the only small car I would feel safe in.

* Good room for adults in the back and front seats.

* Sits on the road very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

10th Jun 2008, 04:58

Definitely NOT a safe vehicle! Look at crash test results in the dog/lemon guide...

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews