1968 Ford Mustang Reviews

1968 Ford Mustang Coupe 200 cu in from North America

Model year1968
Year of manufacture1968
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership1989
Engine and transmission 200 cu in Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

An attractive classic daily driver

Faults:

When I purchased this car, it had been the victim of a shady used car dealer who covered up a lot of abuse.

- The rear brakes metal lines were missing.

- A cheap quarter panel had been attached poorly.

- A gallon of bondo had been used to cover up damage and/or rust around one of the headlight bezels.

- The ignition key differed from the door locks, in fact there was no key for the door locks.

- Paint was peeling off the cowl area.

As I drove the car, I fixed things that began to wear out. At the time I was driving it regularly to college about 150 miles a week. All things considered, it was a very dependable car. It had a tendency to use oil and I never fixed the problem, I just kept buying oil.

General Comments:

At the time I had three other cars, one of the which was another 68 Mustang, so I couldn't spend as much repairing one particular car as I would have liked. I tried to restore and repair as much as I could afford with this particular car.

The interior was in great condition, but a lot of routine service had been ignored, so that is where the bulk of my money had been spent.

Six cylinder mustangs were not as desirable at the time as their V-8 counterparts; many of these were driven daily rather than being restored and garaged.

It took awhile for people to notice the 67-68 Mustangs as far as classics, but I found them to be every bit as classic. I eventually sold it locally and saw it occasionally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2008

31st Mar 2008, 23:39

A great daily driver if you live in a Southern State... Not the best option for winter driving in Canada :)

1st Apr 2008, 16:53

Unless you don't drive it in the winter! My '73 Charger has been my daily driver off and on since 1988, including a few Wisconsin and Colorado winters (which I paid for in rust that had to be repaired in later years). When I could afford it, I parked the Charger in the Fall and drove my beater truck through the winter. Back in the 1960's, there were surely people driving 1968 Mustangs in the winter in Canada because they were "just" cars back then, and people have to drive whatever they have.

17th Jul 2008, 02:31

When I was a junior in high school in 1967, I had a 66 Mustang Sprint 3 speed stick coupe in a color everyone called Sparkling Burgundy. I loved the car but it was absolutely terrifying to drive on slick surfaces.

It got t-boned in June of 1968 and was replaced with a used 67 200 CID 3 speed stick coupe in Frost Aqua. The first thing I noticed was the 67 was much better built than the 66, with heavier components and better brakes--an opinion that was validated by our family mechanic. The other thing was that unlike the 66, it went just fine in snow and ice. I just started it in second gear and the Mustang had no problems. I was told the balance of weight in the 67 was much better than on the earlier models.

I still wish I had that car, but at the time I was very excited to trade it in for a 1969 Plymouth Fury III convertible with a 383, automatic, power everything and air conditioning. I would have never imagined that all three of these cars would wind up being collector's items!

17th Jul 2008, 12:10

With regards to comment 02:31, the '64, '65 and '66 Mustangs were basically Falcons with different sheet metal, and the rear ends were very light. Driving on slick surfaces was a nightmare.

The '67 was heavier, better built and had better front/rear weight distribution, especially in the fast-back configuration. I owned a '66 and it was wrecked due to the rear end breaking loose on a slick road. Even the newer ones are prone to rear end break-away (I own a 2007), and need to be driven carefully on slippery surfaces.

1968 Ford Mustang 302cid V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1968
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302cid V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Classic style and muscle in an inexpensive package

Faults:

I haven't had too much trouble with this car. There was sone rust, but not too much considering it had spent its life in the American Pacific-Northwest, a region notorious for its large amounts of rainfall.

Also, I had a small electrical mystery and the car wouldn't start. I jiggled around some wires and it started right up, and has since never resurfaced.

General Comments:

She has a modified engine, and is very snooty in manner when you hit the gas.

The transmission is Ford's venerable C4 three-speed automatic gearbox, modified with a B+M QuickSilver shifter setup - shifts are quick, firm, and positive.

Interior is somewhat poorly designed ergonomically, and the seats are not the most comfy - but it all looks just plain cool.

The suspension, equipped with new "KYB Gas-A-Just" shocks keeps this car on track.

Looks wise, you just can't go wrong with this car, particularly with a new coat of paint.

Parts are ridiculously easy to find, and the car is easy and cheap to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

9th Aug 2006, 23:15

I'm currently restoring a deluxe 1968 red Mustang convertible. I'm the 3rd owner. My friend owned my car before me. My friend found the 68 Mustang in a barn in 1979, and I bought my Mustang in 1995.

The Mustang has not been driven that much, just sitting in the garage. When I got the car, the paint was faded, and now finally in April 2006 I am totally restoring my dream car.

When I drove my car, it drove nice. I totally rebuilt the front end. Its been the best car, no deq, no computer crap, really easy to work on.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 2 reviews