1983 Ford Mustang Reviews

1983 Ford Mustang GLX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance133302 miles

Summary:

A very fun car

Faults:

Already had some problems when purchased, including a minor accident resulting in damage to the driver's door.

Exhaust turned very black at 130,000 miles. (I was told a valve job would fix it.)

The exhaust separated somewhere under the middle of the body at 131,500.

The carburetor leaks gas onto the engine.

The engine leaked a lot of oil, but seems to have stopped inexplicably (even though it's still topped off with fresh oil.)

The power steering pump should be replaced soon, is starting to sound very bad, but still works.

The fuel pump is failing, but still able to be worked.

General Comments:

It started to fall apart at 125,000, which is what I had expected. It was a very, very cheap find, and a convertible in Southern California. The most impressive thing is even with all of the problems above, it still runs. I need to put it in neutral at stop lights or it stalls out sometimes, but even if it stalls it always starts right back up again.

There's still a bit of power left in it as well, the fuel problems have made it slow of the line, but once it passes 1500 RPM it still has a lot of pickup.

It handles great for a rear wheel drive, and even though the leather cracked with some cheap seat covers, it's a comfortable car.

I drive a lot of new rental cars at work, including several newer Mustangs, and this is without a doubt the most fun car I've driven. At the moment I can't afford the upkeep to make it worth keeping, but I plan on getting another 1983 Mustang convertible once I'm in a better financial position to restore it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

8th Oct 2004, 22:06

Well written. It sounds like your describing my 83 mustang convertible.

24th Nov 2004, 09:04

Is this GLX convertible located in Hollywood?...I remember this black GLX 5.0L/5speed in our neighborhood that I would always check out... cool car!

25th Jul 2007, 09:22

I know someone with the same problems. It turned out the float valve was stuck. It was hard to start because the gas drained out after sitting.

7th Aug 2008, 09:53

The diaphram in the accelerator pump may be leaking... it is a cheap fix... ~$14.00 and 4 bolts, but with that leaking onto the manifold it is a fire hazard. After changing mine the Mpg improved and the stalling at a light quit and the kick down improved... 83... GLX... 3.8L.

1983 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance108500 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

T-tops, 5 speed, v-8, what more could you ask for

Faults:

Valve covers leak oil and t-tops leak if door isn't shut properly.

General Comments:

The absolute cheapest and easiest car I've ever worked on. I was raised on Chevy, but after owning this Ford I'm sold of the 302. It really has a lot of pick-up at higher rpm's and the 5 speed makes it a blast to drive. The interior of the 83 has way more personality than any of the late 80's and early 90's models. Power locks and windows are great and I love nothing more than to take the t-tops out and go for a drive. Just be sure that when you close the door the top if the window is underneath the window gasket. They like to catch on the outside of the gasket which causes any rainwater to run down the inside of the window and soak the floorboard and door. This is one of the last years a car was made that has the feel of a true muscle car. No short throw shifter, fuel injection, or turbo's. Just a slice of plain old Americana.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2003

1983 Ford Mustang Convertible GLX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Perfect for sunny days and any other day

Faults:

The Car was stored for about five to six years over in Spokane so a few of the cooling hoses needed to be replaced, on of the power lock actuators went out and had to be replaced. Beyond those I have only had to do general maintenance on the car.

General Comments:

This is my first car and a really snappy looking convertible, besides a few rock chips on the paint from the dirt road I live on the paint job is good the Vinyl top is in good shape, the leather seats are in very good shape and the Premium sound system still functioned (I removed it because I wanted a CD player) it's a great car and I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

1983 Ford Mustang GT 302 HO V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302 HO V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Diamond in the rough

Faults:

Well, besides a recent run-in with a 2000 Dodge Durango (I saw the stop light, she obviously didn't) the car has held up well over the years.

The previous owner let her sit, except when it was raced, for over 4 years.

The clutch, timing chain, and carb all needed to be replaced at the time of purchase.

The water pump went around 70,000km and had to be replaced.

The heater core went around 75,000km, after a trip to Vancouver in Feb. 2001.

The rear brake cylinder failed as was leaking; this happened during the previous mentioned trip, on the King George Highway :)

The radiator hoses exploded this past Feb (2002) and needed replacement.

The interior is quite faded, but in general good condition.

The black paint job (she's a two tone car) frequently fades and chips easily. It's quite a hassle to have to repaint the black every summer.

General Comments:

I love this car. Sure our relationship has had it's bumps, but she's damn quick, easy to handle and a sweet ride.

Going from an 89 Festiva to the Mustang was quite a shock, but I wouldn't trade her in for anything.

Although she required a lot of repairs and maintenance over the past three years, much of this was due to the racing habits of the previous owner, and the fact that the car was left sitting for over four years (without so much as being turned over once a week).

Other than that, the car is a dream, with comfortable seating, rear window tinting, and a kick-ass stereo (replaced the stock one).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2002

1983 Ford Mustang GLX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

A real high performance bargain

Faults:

Clutch (38,500 miles).

Radio (no FM Stereo).

General Comments:

It's been a super reliable and fast car. I only wish Ford could build a car this good for $9800 today!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews